Maraga was a bad idea for a CJ. Mutunga tried to do reforms and could not agree to be sucked into such crap.
Now this guy is calling for arrest of those criticizing the judiciary. WTF.
hii mambo ya regional balancing is what is doing us in, after such rigorous vetting process , you emerge at the top, then you are told Judiciary and Executive cant be headed by people from the same region/tribe. hii ni upussy. thats how we ended up with the current CJ.
very true,the nigger was a compromise candindate. lakini this guy is so rigid, Uhuru messed up. he could not reject all the nominees if he felt no one was qualified???
come the referendum, this thing of regional balancing ought to be kicked out, especially in positions that require vetting. i don’t see why i should emerge the best in an interview , only to be denied the opportunity to serve my country because of my tribe and where i come from.
hii ni upussy.
Not only that, this idea of CJ interviews is a bit exaggerated.Even in The US, the model of democracy, The chief justice is appointed by the president but with the advice and consent of the Senate . Here we tie the pres hands with 3 interview candidates for such a serious position.
You are reminded time and again most of the useless clauses in the constitution are as a result of leaving the work of drafting the current one to activists. Most of them had an axe to grind with the government and the presidency.
They never paused to think the effect on the nation some 10-20 years down the line.
Those activists were our un-doing, the other part i find mediocre is the appointment of the Inspector General… the president cannot direct or fire him or even appoint directly.
WTF, the police force is one of the instruments of power that the president should be in command of. Kimayio had to be sweet talked to resign during the terrorism crisis.
The result was a plan known as the Judiciary Transformation Framework, issued in May 2012, which identified four pillars of reform: “people-centered” delivery of justice; improving organizational culture and professionalism; ensuring adequate infrastructure and resources; and making better use of information technology.
Was Mutunga succesful? Is Maraga rolling back the so called reforms?
To a certain extent yes. Alijaribu jaribu kusema ukweli. He even gave the SCORK a new outfit that broke away from the old colonial ones. Sasa SDA elder akakuja na kurudisha kofia za wabeberu. The man cannot even inspire confidence. Ana ambiwo “We shall revisit” and instead of standing firm nikutupea a long rambling statement how the judiciary deserves it independence.
I think there are a few things which you are not aware of or you might be aware of but you are being dishonest.
On what judges wear to court. It does not matter. Kitu ya maana ni, kazi imefanyika?
On the “we shall revisit” statement by UK. My GHCRE teacher taught me that there are 3 branches of Government, executive, judiciary and parliament. Parliament creates law, executive implements it and judiciary intereprets it when there is a dispute. By making a statement, Maraga was assuring the public that Judiciary will interepret law regardless of what U.K says.
Sijakataa it doesn’t matter. What I was passing across is that the green attire that Mutunga and company were wearing was symbolic in the sense that it was unique and a departure from colonial norms and standards. After all tumekuwa na independence for 50+ years, why are we still aping the white man? Guka Sabato hakuona hivyo na kuturudisha nyuma. The second point was regarding how feebly and meekly he made that point and not the point itself. The man simply doesn’t inspire confidence. He gives off an aura of naivety instead of the calm composure that comes with wisdom of his age and position.
Why are you surprised do you really believe that he was the best and the brightest ?
The guy was an alcoholic for 20 years, neglected his family and career and somehow managed to find himself holding the highest office in the judiciary.
Do you really expect him to understand that judges should be like caeser’s wife, beyond suspicion or to understand the virtues of temperance? Maraga on how alcoholism almost ruined his career - The Standard "I drank hard and except for providing for the bare necessities, I ignored my family and literally mark timed for about 20 years. I did not bother to further my professional career,”