Our country priorities

Talkers,I salute you.
Today i had a bitter argument in one of my chat groups and would like to pose the same questions i had posed this morning.
We all have heard the Ugandans are doing their solar powered bus (KIIRA) and Tanzania are going to manufacture their own helicopters right?
The question is,does this make our country lag behind if we were to base on these developments by the neighbors or we have priorities to sort out before we head their way
Leteni maoni na mkumbuke siko hapa kuandika kwa kizungu ya Shakespeare.

Personally, am against the government venturing in business, let it build infrastructure and make the environment conducive for investment, and the rest will fall in place.

20 Likes

i agree with this KABISA!!
make it so easy to do business and profit and everything will fall into place.
ask Kibaki

we had this argument jana na nitasema tena … serikali yetu is on an infrastructure improvement spree, barabara zijengewe, stima naona inasambazwa everywhere, SGR inajengwa, watoto wanapata laptops digital literacy will improve, South Korea promised to help build a campo at Konza, Tatu city inajengwa, Lappset inaanziwa mafuta yetu Turkana will find easier efficient transport means, Nairobi more roads are built to ease the traffic problem, akina Nyanza more roads are getting constructed fishermen will be able to easily move their fish, hadi Marsabit kumejengwa Lami, Juzi Garisa got connected to the National grid.

10 years from now tuone akina nani watakuwa mbele.
Priorities muhimu vitu zingine achia private sector, gova should only create policies za kuwasaidia hao watu wa private sector.

Yes yes,You are all right but some people will never see it this way.
Healthcare,infrastructure and improving the wealth fare of common mwananchi still remain our priorities.

I hop This interview of jkl will help…in regard to Ethiopia listen to what he says.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCy_Wbx-u9M

Even if kenya does build a bus or helicopter, their costs will be so high it will be difficult to compete against the other competitors. The only way will be to use very cheap parts therefore make they conducive to breaking down and highly unreliable And even then the cost will be excessive high. The problems with startups is the beginning where your process is not very streamlined. And can you imagine kenya cannot even get the cost of sugar low and has to import it all the way from Brazil. Can you imagine the cost of new engines will be Also the business of building new planes, rockets just to show you have reached technologically is a bigone era. Nobody cares. If the government wants to venture into technology just subcontract process into engine manufactures who are efficient in the process already. It is true what kituyi says, kill corruption, increase education, build infrastructure and the rest falls into place.

Just many years back before your born, 1986 to be precise, the Government started Nyayo Car project. It flopped. I agree with villagers that the Government should facilitate by providing conducive environment, infrastructure etc, private investors can do a better job. By the way our colonizers forced most of the African Governments to privatize all state corporations because of mismanagement and looking at the performance of those state ruined firms, maybe they were right!!!

[SIZE=5]Helicopter ya TZ sipandi !!![/SIZE]

SAP’s, they were one of the conditions for receiving IMF/World Bank funds. Lakini si watu wengi walipewa retrenchments in the 90’s.

I think majority of these reports are flawed! there’s a difference between assembly and manufacturing. does UG for example have the capacity to produce even a single solar cell? I highly doubt, this means that what this countries are doing is basically assembling various components to come up with whatever it is they are saying.
Kenya tried manufacturing vehicles in 1986 and it was a big flop! however the numerical machining complex has been put into good use as it now produces high quality spares for industrial use. I luv that we have decided as a country to pursue infrastructure development because the rewards are enormous. new markets and frontiers.

@madova naomba ni chokoze wana jamii forum na huu uzi wako…

Yeah. I hope we see a new manufacturing wave to help diversify our economy even further.

Hebu tuangushie hapa mix yako moja ya ol skul ragga ama hip-hop.

sawa mzito sunday afternoon rest assured

I beg to differ, in order for a nation to develop it has to either have a lot of revenue or heavily subsidised labour .
Subsidised labor works very well, in the west it was slavery and indentured servants and in china, inmates.
Unfortunately we’re too late in the game to imitate those countries, developing countries should consider business as an alternative source of revenue especially capital intensive businesses with high returns.
Mohan Singh the former Indian PM once said, when he was finance minister, I paraphrase
"a poor country can’t rely on an impoverished populace, to raise adequate revenue from taxes, to finance development. It needs to find other ways to finance development. Loans are expensive and a drain on tax revenue therefore the best option is for the state to go into business as it can marshal the resources for start ups. "
India , China, S. Korea and Dubai are prime examples of countries that have successful state owned companies that raise revenue for the state. Imagine if Safaricom was fully owned by the state or if KBL was state owned , our taxes would go down. The only caveat here is that the companies have to be successful therefore if the company doesn’t show profit the CEO is fired within a year.

Ombi lako limesikika kaka wachokoze lakini kuwa tayari kupashwa.

sawa kaka nashukuru…

Very dumb reasoning.They can make alot of profit by just charging more for the services.

Moving back to state owned corporations is a move back into communism. And even partially owned is a disaster. Look at uchumi, national bank,kcc ,nssf, kenya airways, etc . Financial drain holes to the population. Dubai is rich in oil. You can see the country struggle every time oil prices diminish. Wacha that oil ishas. Wataimba. China and India s populations are too big and not sophisticated enough systems to handle. They have to have state owned corporations so that people can barely survive.
This thinking is highly regressive.