Origins of "Afande"

Effendi or Effendy (Turkish: Efendi; originally from Greek: αφέντης IPA: [aˈfendis]; in Ottoman Turkish: افندی‎, romanized: efendi) is a title of nobility meaning lord or master. The title itself and its other forms are originally derived from Modern Greek aphentēs which is derived from Ancient Greek authentēs meaning lord.[1]

A Turkish Effendi (1862)

Figurine of an effendi, circa 1770, hard-paste porcelain, height: 10.8 cm, Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York City)
It is a title of respect or courtesy, equivalent to the English Sir. It was used in the Ottoman Empire and Byzantine Empire. It follows the personal name, when it is used, and is generally given to members of the learned professions and to government officials who have high ranks, such as bey or pasha. It may also indicate a definite office, as hekim efendi, chief physician to the sultan. The possessive form efendim (my master) is used by servants, in formal discourse, when answering the telephone, and can substitute for “excuse me” in some situations (e.g. asking someone to repeat something).[2]

In the Ottoman era, the most common title affixed to a personal name after that of agha was efendi. Such a title would have indicated an “educated gentleman”:D:D:D, hence by implication a graduate of a secular state school (rüşdiye), even though at least some if not most of these efendis had once been religious students, or even religious teachers.[not verified in body]

Lucy Mary Jane Garnett wrote in the 1904 work Turkish Life in Town and Country that Ottoman Christians, women, mullahs, sheiks, and princes of the Ottoman royal family could become effendi, a title carrying “the same significance as the French Monsieur” and which was one of two “merely conventional designations as indefinite as our “Esquire” has come to be.[in the United Kingdom]”.[3]

The Republican Turkish authorities abolished the title circa the 1930s.[4]

Nakumbuka Tintin with all the blacks with big lips all the said was “yes effendi, i want to go to mecca” , loved those comics just realized how racist they were when i checked them out recently

Languages borrow words from each other. I was surprised when i was offered chai in Alanya turkey.

yes they were, plus watermelon eating blacks

@mycimas - late 1800s east africa’s the first military/police formation was indian and their european officers were called Sahib/Saab, the senior most indian was Sergeant/WO or Lieutenant which they called Jamadar - is where we get our jemedari/general in swahili. early 1900s the indians were gradually replaced by blacks. colonialists conscripted africans into the first military that also served police duties and called them ‘Askari’ which is persian or arabian in origin. the European officers told the africans to call them Effendi/Afande which as you just mentioned was turkish in origin. the designations were copied in police formatons which came later.

Same to Russia, You get to a hotel and just say shai na uko sawa.

Tin tin and the red sea sharks…big up mzeiya…im with you just google asterix na tin tin…kuna msee ame upload scanned copies.
Although the latest editions of asterix cant match works ya uderzo and goscinny.
Kuna bookshop kenya ikona complete sets i think…planning to cop both.
But naweza penda sana kupata bogi benda kazi bure na madenge.

Asterix and Obekix was not racist as far as my brain memory can remember. Infact it appeared anti-inperialist to me

It was, the Roman’s were invading