Order Chinese?

To those of you already complaining of a Chinese takeover ,brace yourselves for more.

https://constructionreviewonline.com/2018/10/chinese-firms-bags-us-7bn-low-cost-home-project-in-kenya/

Chinese firms bag US $7bn low-cost home project in Kenya
 
The ministry of Housing and Urban Development in Kenya has awarded Chinese Wu Yi Company Limited, Sinohydro Corporation and China Roads and Bridges Corporation tender to build 1, 500 low-cost homes Nairobi’s Park Road.

Ulitaka wapatie kirinyaga construction company better muchina kutujengea hata kama ni kutukamua

Huyu mtu aliandika hiyo article ata hajui ni nini anaandika.

Afande inaonekana border inakuweka idle sana,ongea poa na DPP akurudishe upperhill bana.
Local contractors watajenga low quality, over budget na behind schedule.Plus mchinku tu ndio ako na capacity saa hii.

Mimi ni mutali huku next week narudi kenya.

Kwani kenyan construction companies hufanya nini hii kenya?? Kila siku china china…

Shoddy work

Lets break it down.

The firm that won the tender are to finance the build with their own resources. Before they prequalified they had to show proof of finances to make sure they can build it.

The firms needed to show proof of similar projects they have done in the last 10 years of not less than 50,000 units.

The firm needed to show that they have mastered the highrise prefab technology to deliver the project on schedule.

The tender was opened to all firms globally. This were the top picks.

GoK isn’t spending anything on this project, its just providing a 99 year lease to the firms.

What’s the true cost, $7bn ama $23bn?

I don’t think either is correct. Certainly not $23 billion. Maybe $7 billion is for these housing units that have been awarded. However let’s talk of cost of each project at a time as they are announced and launched. I’m not surprised by China Wu Yi getting it, its building a Kshs 10 billion prefab factory in Athi River to produce the panels and other finished materials here locally rather than importing them from China.

China Wu Yi Pre cast factory at Athi River.
[ATTACH=full]201201[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201202[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201203[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201204[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201205[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201206[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201208[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201209[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201210[/ATTACH]

470 million per house:confused::confused:?? I think the numbers don’t add up

Local construction companies mostly don’t have resources. Kwanza mambo ya kufanya kazi ya 9 to 5 ni bure Sana especially in the urban areas.
The guys doing Thika road footbridges have nothing to show so far on the sites I have seen.However they have inconvenienced so many people by blocking part of the service road on all sites.
They should emulate Shengli who recarpeted Mombasa road from airport to Museum if am not wrong and they used to work from 10pm with very minimal interruptions.
Imagine if a local or shady company like RCC got such a job tungelilia Choo .

Reality is we haven’t mastered the ethics to make things work.
Makes you wonder what the numerous trips people make abroad are for, if they haven’t observed other peoples work ethics.

Hii Kenya ina shida, how the hell I’m supposed to know we have such buildings if no news station airs such news?? I’m assuming hizi ni picha za yule Lao Tze wa skyscrapercity. When was it completed?

Just like I said earlier, let’s judge this project each at a time. Their is a lot of figures going around and bundled together that makes it confusing.

For example Edermann is to built 8 skyscrapers of 36 storey each in Park Road Ngara using prefab tech that means in 1-2 years its done. I believe all police and security services will have first priority.

President Uhuru viewing a model of some of the housing projects proposed for Eastland’s.
[ATTACH=full]201217[/ATTACH]

More proposed projects.
[ATTACH=full]201223[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]201224[/ATTACH]

More projects.
[ATTACH=full]201225[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]201226[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]201227[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]201228[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]201229[/ATTACH]

Yes the famous Lao Tze, he is all over Africa forum sharing all Chinese projects in the continent. Skyscraper city is on top, mature discussions and zero feelings. However complainers have started to increase but they are largely ignored.

Local media is down, maybe K24 to watch a major event like inauguration or pope visit. I started liking Ebru TV but they become too posh. KBC is still fine because they have unique documentaries of the counties, simple things like farming. However I mostly watch documentaries on Terrerium TV for 3 years before it went under. However Tea TV has replaced them. Even Dstv is ancient for me. Once you go to TV on demand then you can’t go back. githeri media died when they employed comedians as staff and managers. Then they left their editors to be worshippers of politicians and blackmailers. Those are useless.

but you people " don’t watch local news" and when you do watch local tv it is such shows as lit 360 and ten over ten…:smiley:

You only get to hear such news in the business section after being bombarded with political nonsense for 30 minutes. I actually get my news from skyscraper city which does a better job of reporting about Kenyan projects than the Kenyan media.

If involves no exchange of bodily fluids, a plot thicker than a Robert Ludlum novel,murder,theft,conspiracies and a few snitching participants,githeri media won’t touch it with a ten foot pole.
Pole boss… Even our very own @spear failed on this one :smiley:

Prefab houses? You can hear the neighbours taking a dump ,having sex.Best they sell this to deaf people.