Anyone have a calender of orchestra performances in Nairobi and can share, nimemiss kuona vilewao hucheza piana, cello na hizo zingine @Jazzman uko na calender
Does this link help you?
Hey baby gal, welcome back. Had missed you and thanks for the link. How you been?
She been ignoring ya ugly ass
https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSjqtQr4GSZISL6Gy-He8aehvxgGMkE5xkHPuMyWCSsINGuQggXMw
P.S. A simple google search for ‘Nairobi Orchestra Calendar’ yields the same link as the first result.
Safaricom Jazz festival on November 5th.
Kwani wewe ni birrionea bonoko hujui haya? Cc @nairobilay @Web Dev
Nairobi Orchestra usually hold performances every 2 months or so at Braeburn, gitanga road. Kenya conservertoire events are fewer. Check their FB pages for events.
Jazz and orchestra are different genres
ndio naangalia
Jazzman na Orchestraman no different Talkers
Ndio naona they have ghetto classics and youth orchestra
You captured the spirit of this thread. First chef Raphael loves everything bourgeois albeit the obvious. I don’t like classical classical music but for some one to talk about seeing instruments played?Really? Niliachia hapo.
Actually, an orchestra is a collection of musicians, traditionally with classical instruments to play classical music. However in the modern sense, they do incorporate modern genres and modern equipment. Look for Metropole Orkest on youtube. They have several jazz concerts with the likes of Pat Metheny and Richard Bona, have experimentation hip hop/jazz with Robert Glasper, and in the BBC Proms of the early 90’s, there was a concerto for turntables.
When I’m musically mature, I want to use an orchestra to highlight the different genres of African. Something similar to what Richard Bona and Metropole did with his song Mulema
Think there’s something cool about seeing someone pour their passion into the instrument they are playing rather than a bland performance
What instrument do you play?
Sasa hapa iko tofauti. Someone dedicated to playing jazz and someone dedicated to classical are different. Jazz encompasses a variety of different subgenres. The player has to know all of them by memory, know his scales, modes, chords, chord voicings, inversions e.t.c (a classical player also has to) The difference with jazz is that it emphasises on freedom and improvisation whereas classical everything is written down as a guideline in sheet music.
Jazz also has a variety of chord extensions, inversions, and scales not common or used at all in classical. It’s also difficult to get two jazz performamces that are similar. It may be the same song but how one improvises today will vary wildly with how one improvises tomorrow. Classical is static
I used to play a variety of brass and woodwind but I settled on bass guitar. I’ll pick the others up later
Na hayo, ni maendereo. o_O:D
[ATTACH=full]64545[/ATTACH]
but you waste your effort sir…
Try jazz. It’s not all saxophone as most think. Try Richard Bona (bass), or Jimmy Dludlu (guitar) or Incognito (acid jazz)