It is on the DCI and DPP to act and put the corrupt suspects on a highway to prison now that the primary suspects have confessed. For the doubters, you can guess the most likely real reason why Ombeta claims he cannot travel to the USA. In a world without lies, he would probably have said bought instead of won.
[INDENT]Geoffrey S. Berman, the United States Attorney for the Southern District of New York announced that BAKTASH AKASHA ABDALLA, a/k/a “Baktash Akasha,” and IBRAHIM AKASHA ABDALLA, a/k/a “Ibrahim Akasha,” pled guilty yesterday in Manhattan federal court to conspiring to import and importing heroin and methamphetamine, conspiring to use and carry machineguns and destructive devices in connection with their drug-trafficking crimes, and obstructing justice by paying bribes to Kenyan officials in an effort to avoid being extradited to the United States. [/INDENT]
[INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][MEDIA=twitter]1055478256600780803[/MEDIA][/INDENT]
[INDENT]Which has been the highest amount you’ve ever been paid in your criminal law career?[/INDENT]
[INDENT]There are so many. Criminal law is lucrative. The highest amount is…no, it runs into millions for one case. I won’t say how much. But it was by the Akashas.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]Yes, at one point, I realized the DEA were trailing me and when I was in a Mombasa hotel, I found one taking pictures of me using their laptops.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]I took the laptop and threw it in the ocean. They told me if I set foot in America they will arrest me for destroying government property.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]But America is not heaven. I am very comfortable in Kenya. I have no reason to visit America. No way. It was a set-up. They were set-up by the American government. The case was heard in Kenyan courts and we won the extradition case. https://www.sde.co.ke/thenairobian/article/2001283452/cliff-ombeta-speaks-on-pastor-ng-ang-a-fallout-being-unmarried [/INDENT]
[INDENT][/INDENT]
I’m watching Narcos on Netflix, seeing how extradition to America was the thing Pablo Escobar and other drug cartels feared most. He often said, “a grave in Colombia was better than a jail in the US.” As the richest man in his country, he caused politicians to amend the Constitution in order to get rid of extradition.
Escobar was ready to do anything, even unleash terror on Colombia, which he did, because being extradited meant life in a federal US prison. He could kiss his cocaine business goodbye forever. Likewise, the Akasha brothers are done for -thanks to Lady Justice.
we are good. americans acting holy here and they manufacture and buy deadly weapons for worst murderers. And they have a biiiig drug problem that they want to claim emanates from elsewhere.
True.
Once the Akasha’s were extradited I knew that was it.
I’m sure they did too. By now the remaining family members are making moves to retain their wealth and all.
I remember some article talking of them having the largest meth lab in Africa (most of the product meant for export)… Interesting… Didn’t know they ventured into that as well.
They did plead guilty to bribing Kenya officials including judges to win the extradition case. That means there is evidence to that abode. Otherwise the case will not withstand an appeal.
Looks to me like a lawyer who requires wind assistance to suceed.
I tend to think that’s the modus operandi of most Kenyan lawyers… when we talk about good lawyers in .ke, most of the times we talk of learned friends who know their way around judiciary, and not necessarily people who are proficient in law.
i think you are wrong on that, for them to have pleaded guilty, they must have cut an agreement with the prosecution. As stipulated int hose federal laws, i think they might get 25-30 years in prison.
Ombeta has little to no chance outside Kenya but he may have a slim chance at greasing palms in Ghana.
No parole in the USA federal system but they could get early release. Wavinya got 14 years in 2008 but it looks she will be released earlier because she was originally arrested in 2007 with some early release added
[ATTACH=full]203888[/ATTACH]
@patco si uwasadie jameni, waandikie Trump wapate pardon au commutation, the Akasha’s are going to face at least 10 years minimum. They probably gave up some serious information and if they did, they will not get the maximum sentence.
I was not PRAISING Ombeta like you put it in your head silly boy. Soma thread na unielewe.
In that particular thread, the part where I say I personally know the guy, that is sarcasm, and you can see that the phrase is in quotes. It was directed at the mtu wetu crowd.
In your head I imagine you understood it to mean that I know the guy and that I actually support him… if I am reading you right. Yaani ulisoma vitu zako.
And in this next thread I referred to Ombeta as Lucifer’s lawyer. I have no idea how you interpreted that as praise. And if you understood it as praise then get it in your head today that I am not a fan of Ombeta’s antics. Not at all.
Their days are numbered. I’m sure the feds are carefully watching these operations. It’s very sad that Kenyan authorities turned a blind eye to the drug menace. I know that someone will be quick to point out that the US is grappling with an opioid crisis. The leaders are aware of this and have passed several bills to contain the problem. But, to win the war on drugs you have to fight on both ends: help the addicts and crush the supply.
You are mentioned as a fan of Trump who can help them get pardons. Mafans wa Ombeta wanajijua, you are a better hope to them now than Ombeta will ever be.