Officer Pamba busts cartel linked to sale of SGR train tickets in black market...

[SIZE=6]Police bust cartel linked to sale of SGR train tickets in black market[/SIZE]
2-3 minutes
http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/70a9900e-18e2-4bef-81c5-bf8f4b601481-525x350.jpgThe for suspects, Hilder Wanjala, Maureen Gatwiri, Richard Githinji and Jimmi Muriungi, were arraigned at a Mombasa court on July 17, 2017. PHOTO | GALGALLO BOCHA By GALGALLO BOCHA
Police in Mombasa have arrested and charged in court four people suspected to be masterminds of a cartel that hoards SGR train tickets for profit.

The cartel is accused of colluding with Madaraka Express staff to create an artificial shortage of the tickets. They then offer them to stranded and desperate travelers for double the prices.

The four are said to have bought all train tickets for Tuesday and Wednesday.

The train tickets are officially supposed to be available to the general public three days before travel.

The four suspects were on Monday arraigned in a Mombasa court. They are Hilder Wanjala, Maureen Gatwiri, Richard Githinji and Jimmi Muriungi.

DENIED OFFENSE

They were arraigned before Senior Resident Magistrate Edigah Kagoni where they denied selling new train tickets without the authority of Kenya Railways Corporation.

The offence was allegedly committed on diverse dates between June 1 and July 14 at Mahogany Company Limited in Mtwapa town within Kilifi county.

Mr Jabes Ochieng was separately charged with similar offence.

He allegedly committed the offence with others not before court at Mombasa Railways Terminus in Miritini area within Mombasa County.

He also denied the offence he allegedly committed on July 13,2017.

Lawyers Samuel Odhiambo and Enock Ratemo made a separate applications seeking their clients be released on reasonable bond term.

FOUND WITH SH50K

Mr Ratemo told the court the accused persons were arrested on Friday and one of them found with Sh 50,000.

Prosecuting counsel Lydia Kagori told the court that the money recovered could be used as exhibit in the case.

The magistrate released each of the accused person on Sh 10,000 cash bail and directed both cases be mentioned on July 31.

@Meria Mata how in heavens can you buy all tickets for Tuesday and Wednesday??

I really don’t see how they have broken the law and which section. @Nananimpa wapi hio section of the penal code.

hawa nawajua hata niko na namba ya mmoja. They have a matatu at the Miritini Terminus where they bait you after boarding and give you an offer. Sijuwacha kama wameendelea kiasi ya kununua all the tickets. During the annual Teachers Seminar they raked a killing from the teachers

enterprising Kenyans, create an artificial shortage , add a markup , and go the jugular. after all, Kenyans will buy at the inflated costs without causing a fracas, then go and ringia anyone who cares to listen how much they paid and how difficult it was to get the coveted ticket as if being robbed blind is some form of achievement.

just sad

18 Likes

They must be shiny lot.

See eyes

basi walienda hasara kubwa sana kama KR cancelled those tickets they had bought

at the time they were charging keshs 900 per ticket

they even had an office in Mtwapa.

offence ndio hii hapa lakii sina fahamu kama iko kwa penal code labda ndo maana bond ilikuwa elfu kumi tu
They were arraigned before Senior Resident Magistrate Edigah Kagoni where they denied selling new train tickets without the authority of Kenya Railways Corporation.

Hii train itakuwa na mambo mingi ,Kenyans are special breeds. Very opportunists at the slightest opportunity. Kitunguu lazima inuke

following

Bond ya ngiri kumi is a joke

Its like connecting pipes to yours selling Maji ya kanjo to your neighbors…you have no authority to do so

I thought I heard talk that sabotaging that train will be considered as treason.
KWA NINI WAMEPEWA BOND NA TREASONABLE OFFENCES ARE NOT BAILABLE?

Explains why we had to bring in 400 chinkus.

If I get billed by Kanjo for the correct amount of water used, and I pay promptly, i don’t see any reason for them to come at me.

I Guarantee you will be violating some county by-law

The reason why the DPP keeps returning files to the investigators.