Obado stole Sh2.6bn from county in his first term - a real UDA hustler

“Obado stole Sh2.6bn from county in his first term, court told” https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2021-10-14-obado-stole-sh26bn-from-county-in-his-first-term-court-told/

Migori Governor Okoth Obado embezzled Sh2.6 billion from the county government during his first term in office, the court heard on Thursday.
During his examination, EACC investigating officer Robert Ronoh told chief magistrate Lawrence Mugambi that Obado stole Sh2.6 billion.

Maneno ya Pandora account umefikisha wapi,my fren?

When I was in school many decades ago my African Economics professor told us he can not even imagine what a billion shillings can buy! It was about Patni (Brother Paul) then. Today these clowns are throwing around that term as if they were talking a about a soc. We are truly bewitched. Then we go around borrowing left right and center. If we were to disappear a couple of these clowns the others would get the message. No court drama BS.

Do you really believe if 2blln was being stollen from his family resources daily jibaba can afford to stand in front of his family members and ask " mnataka ni fanye aje?? Nani mjinga hapa jameni???

Pandora billions

evidence in the graft case were frustrated by county secretary [COLOR=rgb(247, 218, 100)]Christopher Rusana, who dilly-dallied in providing documents

Kwani EACC does not have the powers to go into the county offices (with police) and get all the docs they need for their investigations ?

The way this Rono guy puts it is like the went there asking tafadhali tunaomba utusaidie na hizo docs

And forfeit the periodic bribes?

why is a 2.6 billion case b4 a magistrate being paid 50,000 kshs per month ? kesi ikifika 100 million iende high court direct

Good point. Now call your MP and tell him to pass a law that states such. Otherwise kazi ya MP ni kuunda such laws and not attend village weddings and Harambees

Two answers

1. There is a clear procedure of obtaining evidence. Ukienda na kifua all what the lawyer needs to do is say that the evidence was obtained unprocedurally. The case collapses. Ndio unapata even in murder cases where the culprit was caught rd handed, went ahead and confessed, etc the magistrate will still cite ‘lack of evidence’ because most of the evidence was not legally obtained

2. Incompetnce on the side of the investigators.
    In my opinion they lack a clear plan on what exactly they want to obtain. Ideally the investigators need a checklist of all ‘legal documents’ that are generated in county transactions, next they need intelligence to know how the corrupt officials manipulate the systems, procedures, etc. Next they need to identify all the institutions that are used to embezzle the money or facilitate the corruption. After getting all the info they need next to plan how they can get the targeted evidence before it is destroyed, etc. This means they need to form a team for purposes of evidence collection.

Eventually they need to obtain a court order or relevant authorisation to collect the evidence.
After getting the court order hapo unamwaga your team to all the offices and instititions you had fingered.

While at it you must do thorough documentation of all the evidence obtained