@Nyamgondho @Okwonkwo kujeni kidogo wanafunzi.

@Nyamgondho @Okwonkwo hio mambo ya white shambas hatujamalizana. I read somewhere that white fellows still own more land in Kenya than Africans but sikumbuki ni wapi but fuck it I did read that shit! Nimeweka hii thread hapa ndio msiseme hamkusoma comment kwa thread ya South Africa.

As you all recall in the S.A. thread, data ilikuwa shida kupata. Nilienda hadi gazeti za 1953 na zingine za 1958 kutafuta info na bado nikaitwa fala na nyamgondho. Fake news he said. Nyamgondho naye alileta hadi PDF za world bank na zote haziku make sense. Ni mambo tu na hectares na arable farm land na agricultural land…

Agricultural land @Nyamgondho also includes planted govt. forests for instance and pasture or grazing lands for cattle.

And @Nyamgondho about the 27 million hectares of Agricultural land (not arable land) before independence, Africans DID NOT have title deeds and did not own land. They were not allowed to own land by the beberu. We were under colonization, so Africans were herded into reserves. Umeshikanisha?

There was controlled movements within a few select zones reserved for Africans. And to move around you needed a kipande. And to these day a vast majority of Kenyans still reside in those puny reserves.

Many of the reserves were also mainly constructed around and within the 10 million acre white highlands.

So to make some sense away from the 1950s articles, I backtracked and used simple logic. Tuko wangapi Kenya leo hii?

50 million, give or take. Tuondoe 40,000 wazungu Kenyans waketi kando.

My argument was that Kenyan Wazungu settlers, ranchers, busybodies, hustlers, devils own about 3 to 4 million acres. Could be more…or less.That is a fucking huge piece of land. My argument was that they own more land than Kenyans kwa hivyo tuwache kujipiga kifua ati we are better freedom fighters than S.A. Africans juu ati kule hawana much land. And we are talking about privately owned land here.

So zero hour here for the beginning of land ownership for the African is pegged at the year 1963 or independence.

In the 1950s at full capacity just before independence in the white highlands alone the whites were seating on 10 million acres. And that’s white highlands alone.

In some articles they say that by 1977, 95% of all that 10 million acres had been redistributed and I say that that is bullshit because Mrs. Makena’s article (which she stole elsewhere) clearly indicates that in Laikipia alone white ranchers are seating on over two million acres today!

Here’s Makena’s thread but you’ve already read it anyway:

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/the-real-land-owners-of-laikipia.63750/

In Makena’s article there is a very small list of 13 large white ranches whose total area is 699,000 ACRES! 300,000 acres short of a million acres. I think the likes of Lempurkel unleashed this list on social media to bring disharmony. Wazungu ranchers huwa wamelala chini kabisa wasijulikane ukora yao.

@Nyamgondho @Okwonkwo sijui kama mnaona logic yangu kule inaenda?!

13 white people own 699,000 acres saa hizo hujaongezea what the remaining 39,987whites in Kenya own! From Mombasa to Basil Criticos in Kwale to Kisumu to Kakamega to Uasin Gishu to Malindi to Nakuru to Nandi county to Kitale to Delamere in Naivasha etcetera. Na wale vijana wa safari rally akina Ian Duncan na yule rafiki wa Cholmondely hao wote pia ni ranch owners na watoto wa settlers. African Safari Rallies are held on their ranches anyway… wanakimbishana kwa esto zao. What to do with so much land and so little time.

13 white people own 3 and a half Nairobi counties. Nairobi is 696 Square Kilometers or roughly 172,000 acres. Na mnajua population ya Nairobi vile inatoshana.

So Makena’s article is not far fetched nor a lie nor a myth or a legend when she says white ranchers own over 2 million acres therein. Ukiongeza those not listed with 1000 acres… 200… 50 acres… etc utapata over 2 million acres.

So lets even start by assuming 50 million Kenyans own 50 million acres. Tuondoe akina Gathecha na Ruto na Moi na Ndegwas na hao wenye nchi wengine.

Even without govt. data, I can whittle down that 50 million acres to below the mzungus current 3 to 4 million acres. Very easily.

Out of the 50 million African Kenyans we don’t all own an acre, obviously.

In fact many Kenyan land owners own halfs, quarters , eighths or none at all etc.

Then you have to factor in that majority ya Kenyans ni wanawake, youths, watoto, poor folks, slum dwellers, kungurus etc. With many of them packed into highly congested hovels in slums like kibera, mathare, githurai, zimmerman… yes Zima ni slum. Mnaringa nini? Sue me. Ni kunyambiana tu usiku. Mtu akawasha kiberiti usiku the whole slum burns down. Noxious gases even from sewer streams. Mnadhani moto zingine slum zinaletwa na nini… Aki Mwafrika… I digress!

Kenyan women form half of the Kenyan population but only 7% of them own land! And according to this link below, Kenyan women ni 25,031,678.

Kenyan men ni 24,979,111.

http://countrymeters.info/en/Kenya

Then according to business daily:

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/economy/Women-legally-own-less-than-7pc-/3946234-4559658-108y81mz/index.html

@Nyamgondho umesema my links are rubbish… business daily is a renowned paper. If you don’t trust my links then tafuta link zako basi. funda.

Business daily wanasema only 7% of women own land.

Whereas 30% of male population own land.

So 7% X 25,031,678 = 1,752,217.46 women

30% X 24,979,111 =7,493,733.3 men

TOTAL = 9,245,950.76 African humans own land in Kenya.

So 9,245,951 Kenyans own an acre VS mzungu 3 to 4 million…

BUT WAIT!! Business daily wamesema men and women not boys and girls!

The above 9 million took into account ALL males and Females including children!

So let me narrow down this layman calculations a little further. I went to Index Mundi.

https://www.indexmundi.com/kenya/demographics_profile.html

At index mundi, I was still very generous and said anyone above 25 years of age in Kenya owns an acre. Remember wenye nchi na wazungu bado wako minus from this hesabu!

There are 9,641,107 males and 9,799,146 females above 25 years in Kenya.

So again, 9,641,107 X 30% = 2,892,432.1 men

9,799,147 X 7% = 685, 940.22 women

TOTAL = 3, 578,272.32

So 3,578,272 Kenyans own an acre as we whittle them down VS 3 to 4 million acres for the mzungu.

I will be very generous and even say, Jomo Gathecha and his friends and anyone who owns above 1 acre in Kenya totals up to 2 million acres.

So 2 million acres for all wenye nchi. (na mkitaka hata ongeza another million acres for Raila and his new friends. New money.)

So that rounds off to 5.3 million acres in the Africans corner VS 3 to 4 million in the mzungu corner.

But we all know the truth. I can go on and on and whittle down that 5.3 down to probably 4 million or much less. For instance very few 25 year olds own land… in fact very few 30 or 40 year olds in Kenya own any land at all.

And according to that same business daily article, 28% of women landowners actually own land jointly with their husbands! So that cuts down the African acreage even much further.

Then you have the squatters, the landless… the landgrabbers who are essentially landless once the govt. cracks down like in Westlands, the chokoraas, the beggers, the widows etcetera.

White ranchers do indeed own more land than Kenyan Africans. And Laikipia is a very small portion, these motherfuckers own almost all the national parks!

Meru national park is a mzungu ranch same for Lewa. I have seen a documentary where some wazungus in Meru and Lewa national parks wanted to ban irrigation of miraa in the areas close to their parks/ranches juu inamalizia wild animals maji! They also wanted to control the number of animals kept in each African household. So we are not yet UHURU!! Na sijaongeza flower farms like Makena pointed out, or white owned mining licenses or mining concession lands kama Tullow saa hii ni yao. And most marginalized communities in Kenya don’t have titles anyway! They are on somebody’s land.

It’s called community land but ni kifumba macho tu. Ordinary Kenyans probably own a million point five acres or much less.

Then of course there is the fact that a huge chunk of Kenyans will inherit land anyway, they wont buy it straight out. Ni kuvunja vunja peremende between watoto!

The other logic I used to explain why wazungu ranchers still own more land than Africans is posted as a comment on the S.A. thread.

We all know that most counties any way are not fully inhabited. Hata hio 172,000 acres that is Nairobi county (697 square km) bado iko na space mingi sana. Haijajaa. And alot of the land is public land or natural edifices.

And a vast majority of Kenyans like I said earlier reside in densely packed villages, slums, towns and cities.

For example Nairobi is said to have a population of about 6 million people. Lets even make it 5 million people. 5 million people packed into an area of about 172,000 acres.

Basically speaking all Nairobians would fit very comfortably into Kuki Gallmann’s ranch as well as the Ol pejeta ranch with space to spare. Following that logic you could in fact fit the whole Kenyan population as it stands with all its land owning capability into a few large white owned ranches.

Mombasa’s 1 million plus strong population as it stands will comfortably fit into the 67,000 acre Ol Jogi ranch with lots of space to spare! Mombasa is only 62,000 acres na already imebeba 1 million people.

If one then proceeds with that methodology of simple deductions throughout all the counties… Unaenda kama Iten and then take all the estates, the villages, the slum areas where people reside and sum them up! Then proceed do the same for every other African locality you will find that we as Africans WITH THE LAND WE CURRENTLY OWN would fit very comfortably in a few white owned ranches with lots of remaining spare space!

So msijipige vifua sana, Kenya bado ina wenyewe.

@Meria Mata tengeneza bullets points summary ama slides priss.

I really doubt @Okwonkwo would read all these.

hii sijasoma, lakini kweli kenya sio yetu

Hesabu Saturday apana

Good analysis but as always, one-celled brains will shout “let’s summary”.

I have read this and will give a befitting reply. But first, I observed that you are using two S.I units when describing land area. I know both hectares and acres are both universally accepted but when you want to discuss land area on one post please go the extra mile and convert your acres to hectares or vice-versa. For example 4 million acres = 1.6M hectares. Using acres when advancing your agenda but hectares while referring to a contradicting opinions only amounts to sensationalism. Something you’ve tried to distance yourself from in previous posts like the one on “pounds of meat”.

Second the worldbank link gives the definition of agricultural land and that of arable land as well as forested area. I’ll post that definition in my post. I am a bit engaged right now but I will get back to you with a befitting reply that dissects your original post.

HAHAHA, ndio jamaa wanijifinyilia in specific zones hadi plots zinapanda bei kila kukicha.

@patco let me make it easier for you. Funish me with this data:

1. How many white citizens are there in Kenya, and how many white non-citizens are there in Kenya?
  2. How many white citizens own land?
  3. How many white non-citizens own land
  4. How many acres/hectares do the white citizens own cumulatively?
  5. How many acres/hectares do the white non-citizens own cumulatively?

Soma thread kwanza wacha maswali mingi. From your questions I can already tell you haven’t read the post. @Liberty hakuwa amekosea sana.

I perused, didn’t get those figures… just pure guesswork and assumptions.

Jomo Kenyatta sold you an illusion. It was a pre requisite to his leaving prison. Either akubali kuishi na mkoloni ama akufie jela. And he was old. He chose to survive. Only 1.5 million of the ten million acre white highlands was released to the African. The 1.5 was released to illeterate Africans as a big sensational figure known as the Million Acre Scheme! Willing buyer willing seller. No other land was ever redistributed again.

And Jomo and his friends then grabbed a good chunk of that 1.5 million acres. That’s why land records in Kenya are so difficult to keep or even track ndio ukweli isijulikane! It’s as simple as that.

You’ll even hear a whole Attorney General telling the wazungus at the Hague that Uhuru is not known to own any land in Kenya… hadi hao judges wakacheka. What a country.

Jomo further propagated an illusion that tea and coffee are good. That is, the African purchases the tea farm but the tea crop or coffee crop has its owner, dont uproot it… ergo the land also has its owner.

Baba ya Rao alisema Not yet uhuru and its true. Juzi Raila alisema these settlers own all these lands yet they live in Britain, and its true. Uncomfortable truths. Uncomfortable truths that then entrenched the present status quo.

To get a picture of how fucked up the records are, there’s a pdf report on this link. Even the likes of Murkomen was a contributor. It was compiled by a Prof. Paul Maurice Syagga of UoN.

http://www.sidint.net/docs/WP9.pdf

In that report they say Delamere was known to have purchased an insane 1 million acres in Kenya! But in some newspapers today you will here the standard saying its only 300,000 acres, others will say 250, 000 acres… wikipedia even says a mere 100,000 acres. Inaitwa cooking the figures ; leave them guessing.

After Raila mentioned the huge ranches on a British media interview the mzungus shouted , “but its mainly arid land! Plus we contribute billions to the economy!”

So, you make billions from arid lands?!

Cholmondeley is actually on record saying his land is very harsh and very arid land…ukipita hapo kwake Naivasha unaona nini?!

@Okwokwo hio shamba ya Delamere sio arable land???

@patco so many lies on this thread, I am even wondering where to start and too many assumptions I feel If I address them in one post, you will simply ignore those that you know you’re completely wrong. So I will do a couple of posts so that you don’t escape the noose.

Sawa basi nifunze mwalimu.

All that math you have done there is bullshit, let me explain

First in most societies especially those that employ a capitalistic economic model, 20% (or less) of the population own 80% (or more) of the resources; And 80% (or more) of the population own 20% or less of the resources/wealth. With land this is even more skewed. In the Uk, less than 1% of the population own 50% of land in the UK. In the US 1% of the population owns 40% of land in America. In south Africa and Kenya similar patterns are expected.

These societies are much equal than Kenya. Hio hesabu hapo umefanya only represents less than 20% of land that is available for individual ownership in Kenya. In other words umehesabu mali ya Fukara. In the US, a group of people who can’t even jaza KBS moja ikienda kawangware own land the size of a typical US state. Hao watu umeweka kando akina Jomo and others own 99% of Kenya but our records are not reliable and available to everyone. Unahesabu mali ya fukara halafu unasema that’s real land ownership. It is not! Ukitaka links za the UK, US and any other capitalistic country I can provide more than 100 reliable ones if you’re lazy in googling.

Lets take a few examples

1. UK
    http://inequalitybriefing.org/graphics/17_IB_700.png

[ATTACH=full]189922[/ATTACH]

1. The US

[ATTACH=full]189923[/ATTACH]

http://inequalitybriefing.org/graphics/17_IB_700.png

You’ve also got wrong definitions of Arable, Agricultural and forested land. Here are the definitions by FAO

Arable land ([SIZE=6]5800000 hectares[/SIZE]) includes land defined by the FAO as land under temporary crops (double-cropped areas are counted once), temporary meadows for mowing or for pasture, land under market or kitchen gardens, and land temporarily fallow. Land abandoned as a result of shifting cultivation is excluded.

Agricultural land ([SIZE=6]27450000 hectares[/SIZE]) refers to the share of land area that is arable, under permanent crops, and under permanent pastures. Land under permanent crops is land cultivated with crops that occupy the land for long periods and need not be replanted after each harvest, such as cocoa, coffee, and rubber. This category includes land under flowering shrubs, fruit trees, nut trees, and vines, but excludes land under trees grown for wood or timber. Permanent pasture is land used for five or more years for forage, including natural and cultivated crops.

Forest area ([SIZE=6]44130 sq = 4, 413, 000 hectares[/SIZE]) is land under natural or planted stands of trees of at least 5 meters in situ, whether productive or not, and excludes tree stands in agricultural production systems (for example, in fruit plantations and agroforestry systems) and trees in urban parks and gardens.

Umekuwa ukitumia hizi definitions vibaya… ati some agricultural land is under forests. Sijui Ranches are arable land. Wacha uongo gunia hii. Soma definitions vizuri uelewe

Sasa unaona ubaya wa kukataa kusoma thread ndio unielewe. It’s quite apparent hata wewe hukusoma. Ni ku peruse tu kama Okwonkwo.

When I finished at 3 million acres. I clearly stated that for WENYE NCHI I genorously estimate they are seating on 2 million acres. I even said you can add an extra million acres for Raila and any newly monied folk. Its right there on my thread above.

And even if you add the 2 million acres owned by the African wenye nchi you’ll find that the 40,000 wazungu ranchers still own more land. Okwonkwo ananiuliza how many white ranchers are in Kenya, si ndio hao 40,000 Google if you want. Hata links hamkusoma.

By African wenye nchi I’m reffering to the
biggest African landowners: the Kenyattas with their 500,000 acres, the Moi’s, the Kibakis, the Njonjos etc. I highly doubt the top 5000 richest black Kenyans have more than 2 million acres. Only the top ten few have 100,000 acres plus.

But alas hukusoma. Juu ni patco ameandika why bother reading. It’s bullshit. Soma thread ujionee.

Wooooi surely. Your own definition describes agricultural land to include trees grown for timber kwani forest ni nini? It even says agricultural lands includes pasture lands … just like I said!

Anyway ni bullshit.

Please some vizuri tafathali. I am going to disect this properly using your statements

Wrong! it doesn’t include planted govt. Forests. Those are under forested area and not classified as agricultural. Here is the definition again.

Agricultural land (27450000 hectares) refers to the share of land area that is arable, under permanent crops, and under permanent pastures. Land under permanent crops is land cultivated with crops that occupy the land for long periods and need not be replanted after each harvest, such as cocoa, coffee, and rubber. This category includes land under flowering shrubs, fruit trees, nut trees, and vines, [SIZE=7]but excludes [/SIZE]land under trees grown for wood or timber. Permanent pasture is land used for five or more years for forage, including natural and cultivated crops

Umeshikanisha? serikali ikipanda miti, that is forested area but ukipanda mti ya maembe that is agricultural area.

Pili hizo ranch za thread ya Makena all of them are under agricultural land (27M hectares) not under arable land like you are trying to demonstrate.