@Nyamgondho, assist!

Oh, @Nyamgondho who answers questions about technology, come hear this question and give thy answer to this vexing matter.

Thy reader has an old yet trusty and dependable flagship android phone. It an xperia z3 device. When this said reader puts in a Telkom sim inside the bowels of the said phone and toggles on the data, he notices that the battery drains faster than with a Safaricom sim under the same usage conditions.

Oh, @Nyamgondho, why is this so? Give thy answer to thy reader soonest, for that experience ruineth his internet experience.

Has got something to do with Telkom having a weak signal as compared to safcon so your battery overworks trying to keep you connected hence the quick battery drain.

So only @Nyamgondho can answer this? Si basi uingie inbox yake:meffi::meffi::meffi:

Because he had dissed my fellow inquirer about asking questions kwa inbox.

[ATTACH=full]395558[/ATTACH]

Only that the phone is being used within nairobi cbd. Surely signal ya telkom is strong within.

This is by far, the best way of summoning the @Nyamgondho to a discussion. The Nyamgondho is much obliged and will respond to this query comprehensively.

First, this observation is a result of a combination of factors - The first your cell phone antennae and the second, the strength of your network.

1. Let me first start with network strength.

The strength of the network signal is perhaps the biggest culprit for draining a battery quickly. Although your network may show full bars, it may actually be weak. To check the strength of the network on android go to settings…then about phone…and click on status information/sim settings/sim card status. Then check the signal strength.

If this is above 100dBm then your phone is expending a lot of battery power trying to connect to the internet. If it is between 50-70 dBm. Then this is a great signal and will have minimal battery drain. My guess is that the strength of the telkom signal is weaker than safaricom’s, even in the CBD and that is why you are experiencing battery drain.

Remember when checking network strength you go to the “about phone section” at the bottom of the settings page. - Depends on your android version.

1. Cell phone antennae

The antennae of your cellphone could struggle alot under poor network strength and will require more resources to actually get a good connection. There are very few OEMs that manufacture phone antennae and most phone manufacturers source these antennaes from a few sources. Your phone doesn’t benefit from technological innovations in this field because it is an older phone.

Verdict.

If you have the funds and your phone battery drains faster than desired, you should purchase a newer flagship phone or get a new upper midrange phone like a pixel 5. and you will be happy.

The Nyamgondho has spoken.

@Nyamgondho, much thanks for your reply. The observation is thus:

[ATTACH=full]395559[/ATTACH]

Barring any other 2nd opinion, i think I’m well answered.

@Kdawg254 it seems you were onto it. Thanks for your time.

It may be time to retire the said device. Just looks like a waste of a still functioning machine. Aaaaarrrgh!

:D:D:D:D:D nyamung’otho is truly a proud jaruo tech wiz

Telkom hukuwa na bad signal that’s why

On second thoughts, I think I’ll ditch Telkom for now.

Weh si mnatumia simu zingine muzee buana! Hii ata ilipita Android 6.0 kweli na sahii tuko 12

Now you can imagine how long I’ve had it. Fantastic phone! Halafu app ni app tu. Like, ile mpesa app inafanya kwa 12 ndio the same one in 6. Anyway, sadly, all good things come to an end. What a waste!