NTV wild

ntv to launch thier own version of natgeo wild, wondering if it will be a free to view

yaaaaas! what channel number? link? anything?

@Wakanyama finally gets the chance to be a tv star

just seen a coming soon advert on ntv, thats all…

Let’s wait.

That’s some serious investment of resources, but what do I know

Guess am so much behind news.
Let it come. Hope it won’t be translating documentaries like our brothers in TZ

Upus ntv haiwesmake

I’d actually have expected KBC to beat them to it. Oh well…

Did you just say KBC, does it still exist? Wangapi wanaona KBC? That outfit should be folded up na hio pesa ipelekwe mahali pengine, they are so outdated as they are still in the 20th century, only Time I tune to KBC is during parliamentary live broadcasts na pia hii hua wanakata ikifika 5:30pm.

KBC tries alil…though most of their programming is shit, some little good progs still remain on their list

Yeap, Russians are doing the same, translating.

you mean like girls go wild???

Such kinds of documentaries and similar programming are expensive to shoot, etc by their nature. As such, my best bet would be perhaps a gov’t entity not motivated by profit which is where KBC comes in.

yeah, but doesnt the govt and involved ministries have any lawyers who actually went to school? How do they allow foreigners to come here, shoot for months, even years, then walk away with all that footage and have exclusive rights to it? Its our fvcking country! If you want to come and shoot “Big Cat Diaries” here, I will make sure I include a clause in our contract which allows me to broadcast it if I want to. If you don’t like it, pack your bags and go back to New York to shoot the cheetahs they have on their vast plains there!

So many of those documentaries are shot here and yet we ourselves have to pay through the nose to watch them!

It’s a catch-22. Who needs the other more? They need the scenery, etc and we need the tourists. It’s a sort of inexpensive marketing for us because we incur no costs besides availing what nature has blessed us with. On the other hand, if we told them to go elsewhere trust me they will. And between me and you, we know who the net losers will be.

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

:slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

My feeling is we need to drop the pretense and actually find KBC fully, 100%, from the exchequer a lá BBC.

Freed of the profit motive, KBC can then traverse the country and make for us all those wonderful documentaries that we all crave for, not just about wildlife but about our geographical features (how many of us for instance know or have seen the chalbi desert, Turkwell gorge or Kerio valley for instance?:)), culture and everything else that makes us Kenya.

We could even require them to produce so many documentaries in every genre as a condition to sustain funding.

This will help promote domestic tourism, create employment, foster national unity & patriotism, etc etc. But, for as long as we maintain this modicum of a ‘semi-commercial’ public broadcaster sidhani tutaenda mbali.

Can’t we ourselves find a way to shoot these things? Like, in-house?

What do we need? Shooting equipment, drones and helicopters for aerial shots, … I don’t see why someone has to come in and do it then charge us. I know we make good money from charging them for the time they spend here plus the actual footage, but still. It feels like we could do everything ourselves and in the process, create jobs for ourselves.

meh

Then everyone with a TV will have to pay an annual licence like they do in England. Do you think that will work here, we are already so squeezed and no one will pay. Yaani can’t pay won’t pay