Never Fight with Karen Residents Association, or any associations in Runda, Muthaiga etc

Woman Painfully Narrates How She Lost KSh 6 Million Hotel in Karen Home People People Beldina Kirito: Woman Painfully Narrates How She Lost KSh 6 Million Hotel in Karen Tuesday, February 08, 2022 at 10:02 PM by Susan Mwenesi

Kenyan baker and businesswoman Beldina Kirito suffered a KSh 6 million loss recently after the Karen Residents Association stopped her from running a hotel in the area
Beldina had initially failed to let them know they were setting up shop in the area and despite getting the chairman and having a meeting, they were still unwanted In the end, they closed up the business, counted their losses which included refunding four wedding clients and started the journey towards healing

Beldina Kirito knows only too well what it means to watch your whole investment disappear into thin air as you are left counting the losses.

In a YouTube video, Beldina says it all started in 2020 when she got wind of prime property that could be ideal for setting up a KSh 6 million hotel investment in Karen. “On September 1st 2020, is when we opened the hotel, and it was a dream come true because I’m usually passionate about cooking and baking. Its a venture we had started with my husband. The dream started in April, when there was lockdown and we were really cooking,” she says.

The property which sits on a two-acre piece of land was perfectly set for the ‘Elegant Garden Hotel’. “We saw a different business opportunity that was not in our plan because now we could do weddings, photo sessions, outside catering, accommodation. So we deciced to give it a try,” she narrated. Hit the ground running The two would hit the ground running and set up the hotel in two weeks with a launch to come in the following weeks.

It later emerged that they had not sought the approval of the Karen Residence Association and a day before the launch the area Officer Commanding Station (OCS) notified them that the association had reached out to her to stop the launch. “In Karen, you have to inform the community before you do such things and that’s where our problem started," said the YouTuber. They contacted the chairman and after lengthy talks, they agreed to a quiet launch and have a subsequent meeting to agree on the hotel operations. The two groups were sup[posed to hold the meeting before setting up the hotel and Beldina skipped the step. Brought up another hurdle The launch of the hotel went ahead anyway but the community brought up another hurdle to jump, citing the property was being used for commercial purposes in a residential area. “All this time it’s a war between us and the community. Resident saying, they can’t allow our hotel to be in their midst," said Beldina. “They reached appoint where we had a disagreement and they closed the barrier…that day they decided they are not opening the barrier for people going to the hotel and anybody coming there was being told the Hotel is illegal and we lost big time,” said Beldina.

Not ready for that war The day they made losses was a wake-up call that and they realised they were not ready to continue with that kind of war. The OCS said that they would need to notify the community each time they had an event. A subsequent meeting did not help the situation any better. “We could not stay in that place… the landlady was trying to get the certificate of change of user but she could not find it. So we were given three months to clear from the area," said Beldina. "We had invested so much; by this time the place had picked. When we were leaving we had to do refunds for four weddings,” she added.

The couple left in mid -January of last year and hooked up with new partners for a new hotel in Adams Arcade and in November 2021 they closed shop. “The hotel is not there and guys we have not died, we are still alive. This was a big loss that had faced us," she said. Beldina is currently seeing a therapist to help her cope with the huge loss and she has since urged people to talk whenever things come to a head. “Despite, the business going down, I have learned a lot from it and the kind of network I have right now is just incredible,” she said.

Steadmark gardens used to be a client a long time ago, are they still in business? Najua Karen ni kunoma sana

Yep

Hata hao tycoons watakufa tu

na tutafika huko tubadilishe hio area we will be running the show that time

I read this story a couple of days ago & maybe am skipping or not getting the full idea of the issue, but I never saw anywhere why they, that KRA, refused her to established the biz. Like a definite reason. Leaves many to wonder & fill their thoughts about the whole incident.

lazima muheshimu controlled development , mambo ya kuleta loud music clubs and brothels residential areas birioneas have refused . space ilisumbua sana Ngong road birioneas.

pelekeni hizo hoteli paipu na umoja

Hoteli ya 6m kwa wazito wa Karen ni kaa kibandaski unataka kuwaletea banae. Besides her target market base were outsiders (non residents). That’s an unforgiving error of judgement on her part as far as the residents association is concerned.They abhor outsiders with a passion. One thing about the rich is they think everyone else wants to steal from them. Not to mention every other ma’fuckin’ brother from the lakeside would bring their ridiculously lousy n exceedingly obnoxiously loud wedding parties there, just for bragging rights man. Ati : " Ehh …Omera … I tell you bwana. I did my wedding at upper market Karen. Mimi si mtu hivi hivi … Jatelo. I tell you Yawa …". Kinda bull crap. Had she done due diligence, she would’ve known that shit won’t cut it, not in that neck o’ the hood. People should learn to stick to their lane.

Bonobo zimezoea ku-cut corners hazielewi mbona zinapangiwa vile zita-run investment yao. Ali-skip meetings na residents association akijiambia ni time wanampotezea. I bet her guests also used to cause a ruckus even after pledging to operate “quietly.” Nchi zingine hata huwezi kata mti kwa compound yako ile umenunua na pesa zako bila kuomba neighbours ruhusa, coz that tree contributes to the overall beauty and value of the neighbourhood.

Disorderly is not tolerated everywhere.

It has reminded me of a stranger who built a kibanda at a road reserve bordering my farm. Alihama in 30 mins bila kuangalia nyuma.

Does she really expect birrionea awekelee 30M on half an acre, and another 30M on a mansion, halafu yeye alete kibanda ya 6M targeting nobodies in their estate??

Wealthy people don’t like peasants where they live for a good fuakin reason…THEY HAVE SOMETHING TO LOSE. Ni vile tuu lazima wakuwe na mboch na watchman but if those could be replaced with robots, they would gladly do so.

That residents association did the right thing. Hapana kubali bonobolization of their estate. They “worked” too damn hard to escape such environments.

Congratulations. You seem to make sense for once. Keep engaging you brain like that sir

Beldina is playing victim na yeye ndio hakufuata by-laws.
Sio.kila mahali utaingia na kifua kawaida ya Wakenya…mimi sio wa leafy surburb kama Karen,lakini tunabomoa vibanda za mama mboga na tunawaambia wapeleke hizo structure huko mbali.
Mmetengeneza place poa the watu wanaanza kuleta ma eyesore…noooway

I don’t have property in Karen but I’ve been forced to build my own ‘kibanda’ to prevent mama mbogas from selling on my pavement

How is your kibanda different from mama mbogas.
Am sure you built it to avoid something unseen

Well built and painted, it’s also detachable and easily moveable so I can sweep, cut grass and keep the drainage flowing. Very similar to what gas sellers use

Mama mboga wouldn’t care about all that,just make their money and go.The same thing Beldina did,made noise,brought stranger to the neighbourhood.
Same reasons, different locations.
I look at Ngara and fear what bonobos are capable of doing,vibandas everywhere hadi their target customers hawana kwa kupitia

Syokimau pia hatutaki jokes.

They dont want riff raffs,fighting MWKs,drunk loudmouths,skimpy dressed females,sumbalu mboyz and any other form of vulgarity. Lanes my fren,lanes

Hehe kuna fala ingine ilijaribu kuongeza extension juu keja ni yake side ya main road,fundi walitolewa mbio kwa site.Mbirrionnaires hatupendi upuus.