Since Kenya power have decided to do what they do best and leave me in total darkness,I have also decided to grab my iPhone 7 and do what I do best. So how about you put your Seatbelts on,as your hekayarist takes you on a journey back to when I was at Namang’ofulo primary school,at std 8 term 1 to be specific.
In the name of preparing us for the final exam, Mr Wepukhulu used to give as an insha every evening. Being 112 pupils in the entire class (all streams combined) I wondered how he read all those inshas within 8 hrs and still have time to teach other classes. I decided to clear my doubt by starting my insha in Swahili,then from paragraph three I wrote in English until the second last then switched back to chambilecho wahenga,mavi ya kale hayawachi kunuka (mhenga gani huyu alikuwa ananusa mavi). Guess what,he didn’t even notice,in fact I scoped a 35/40.
This went on for a while until I bacame too lazy. He said…“andika insha yenye mada MAJUTO NI MJUKUU” ,I went home and quickly wrote, "Mzee Abdala alifanikiwa kupata mtoto moja katika ndoa yake na mkewe Amina ambaye alikuwa mrembo miithili ya mamangu,naye wakamwita Wakila. Pindi tu alipotimia umri wa miaka 18 ,wakila alipatiana ball na mkewe akamzaa Majuto,ama kweli Wahenga hawakukosea walipolonga Majuto ni mjukuu kwani Majuto ni mjukuu wa Abdala. It was too short,he read it in front of class,then that evening I was the only one with an insha to write, NDOTO YA AJABU of which I wrote.
I wrote in fluent Swahili how my uncle had traveled to the city,as he was beating roundi mwenda za jioni he saw a cloud of smoke a few blocks ahead. He kemboid there and saw this lone fire fighter struggling alone to put out the fast and furious fire, he, out of his humanity offered to help. He grabbed the pipe and made sure he had sprinkled the entire building out of fire, this is when my uncle Ajabu woke up sweating,smiling holdings his D***k (the water pipe)on a soaking wet bed.
Since my uncle was at my aunts place,he couldn’t bare the thought of the embarrassment,he hoped the bed will dry by morning (it’s like hoping for a blood donation from a mosquito). He watched the roof until morning, baking ideas on how to cover the evidence of urine in his bed. He got off bed with a idea ,he started a small fire at the dry part of the bedsheets,then ran for water and splashed it on the entire bed. He took the bedding out to dry of " water" as he left the city that morning,na hiyo ndio Ndoto ya Ajabu ambaye ni mjomba wangu.
Ever since that day, Mr Wepukhulu read all my inshas word by word,he seemed to love them as I did my best to impress him,guess that’s how hekayarist was born.