National Wealth

:money_bag: Imagine your country investing its money— and using the profits to fund healthcare, education, and your retirement.

Norway did just that.

The country turned its money into a $2 trillion national savings account — now every citizen effectively “owns” $340,000.

Here’s how foresight became financial power.

Norway’s sovereign wealth fund, officially known as the Government Pension Fund Global (GPFG), has reached a staggering valuation of nearly $2 trillion USD, cementing its status as the largest sovereign wealth fund in the world.

Established in 1990 to invest surplus revenues from Norway’s oil and gas sector, the fund was designed to ensure long-term economic stability for future generations, well beyond the lifespan of the country’s fossil fuel resources.

Managed by Norges Bank Investment Management (NBIM), the GPFG now holds stakes in over 9,000 companies across more than 70 countries, giving Norway an influential presence in global markets.

The returns from the fund play a vital role in maintaining Norway’s robust social welfare system, including healthcare, education, and pensions. In essence, every Norwegian citizen is a stakeholder in this national asset—current estimates suggest each person effectively “owns” around $340,000 USD worth of the fund. Its transparent management and ethical investment strategies have become a model for other nations, exemplifying how natural resource wealth can be transformed into long-term financial security. As global economic uncertainties persist, Norway’s foresight in creating and growing the GPFG stands as a remarkable achievement in strategic national planning.

Source:
Norges Bank Investment Management. (2025). The fund’s market value.

Compare the size of the motorcade: Prime Minister of Norway vs President of Kenya.

Therein lies the difference: priorities.

They also have more oil.

if such a fund was hapa, ingekuwa inamumunywa tu - lakini in Kenya we dont need such a fund, that belongs to countries that have gone through the stages of evolution.

We need to first get the basics, thing like building roads on our own, we dont need Chinese to come use our soil and rocks to build us roads have always found that embarrassing, we dont need foreigners to build dams and pipe water into our homes, we dont need foreigners to build classrooms for our kids, surely we can build beds for our hospitals, patients sharing beds ni ujinga hata ka ni za mbao, sewage treatment just use gravity to direct sewage to the treatment centers we dont need foreign investments for such.

lakini we are a lazy people, all we want ni handouts tu from mzungu - the biggest national wealth is in the productivity and discipline of its people

11 Likes

Isn’t that my point?

Why should we have a 100-SUV motorcade for a President whose employers have a GDP per capita of $1500 a year?

Kabisa.OP is comparing Kenya to a country that had a constitution by early 1800s(sisi 2010), the early Vikings from mostly Norway region were conquering Scotland and big chunks of Britain(our colonizers) including the City of London at one time before 1000AD.
It takes generations to think how modern Scandinavian people do today.
Saudi has a similar fund though the ruling family sometimes makes dumb decisions kama ile project ya MBS kujenga a building transversing the desert.I think the project was cancelled i forget its name.

The Line - 170km long Smart city suspended in air 500m above the ground , 200m :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Countries with more oil than Kenya are generally wealthier than Kenya. e.g. Saudi Arabia but not Venezuela.

It has nothing to do with a sovereign wealth fund, just good management.

Did you see “Kenya” anywhere in the article or is reading to understand not a common thing nowadays?

Wrong yet again

But we have geothermal power here. So it’s basically the same thing, but too much thug mentality.

We’re the ones who live here, so bring it down to a simple vote.

Naivasha:

Lake Victoria;

Read the results on the news. Stop being so clever.

Very long composition

Regular reading activates large swathes of the brain responsible for language, memory and comprehension. Long-term reading habits help build neural connections and sustain cognitive function. In short: reading isn’t passive — it trains your brain.
Zoea kusoma anything else apart from lanye hekayas

Yes. Read random things, even codebooks. The results can be surprising.

geothermal is not a valuable resource compared to oil, it makes us even more lazier because we depend on the Japanese and Koreans to do research and bring in the machines and the know-how needed to make it work.

National wealth lies in the willingness and ability of a people to get their hands dirty, hapa we are just lazy, we dont take risks and just wait for mzungu to bring his ideas and handouts

We’ve had 60 years of these people making National decisions.

6 decades of kagegeism.

No need to reinvent the wheel. If it’s a system that works, bring it in and implement it but train your people to run and maintain it efficiently.

shida ni hatuna dollars and to get a dollar you either sell a resource or a service, and as such reinventing the wheel ni muhimu for national continuity, saa hizi if the west decide to only look inwards we would be in deep trouble - the wealth of a nation is in its productivity not importing and maintaining