I’m okay with money market, meets my needs for now.
But sasa natafuta property.
Off ngong Rd … close to Coptic hospital. I’m yet to get an updated appraisal on the property.
meeen, Ngong road ua inasound tu expensive kwa mse anaishi easlando.
Safathali Nirushie cost estimate inboks just for curiosity’s sake. Maybe ni pesa naeza iba kwa muhindi nilete haraka kabla nishikwe.
If you have the money, you can buy it and sell it later as you build your own home maybe in the metropolis (Thika,Ngong,Kikuyu,Kitengela etc)…That is if you have the money and would like your own compound home. Forexample if you have 20m somewhere, buy an apartment for 10m then buy land for maybe 3m and with the remaining 7m, start building polepole as you continue to earn. Maybe in around 5yrs you will have constructed a home of about 10m which I believe is a very decent home plus you will still be having you 2br apartment which most likely will have appreciated in value and you can hence choose to either rent it out or sell.
7m you can get apartment in a radius of 5kms from the CBD, we’re talking of Pangani and Ngara also Thika Rd environs, Imara too. Rental income in these areas saa hii ni over 40k depending on plinth*.
Buy, hold on it, make sure you insure.10 years down the line you will reap the benefits. I’ve had 4 different apartments (mortgage and otherwise) in all these regions + Yaya sides and the experience was amazing. At first nilikimbishwa na loans, I even borrowed to repay some. But when I dropped the hammer karibu waniite Kabogo/001
The only challenge is land is expensive within Nairobi.Average hard working Kenyan who has diligently saved his 5 or 6M can comfortably buy and build in the outskirts of Nairobi eg Kisaju,Malaya huko Kangundo road.If you work in Nairobi and live in eg Malaa,the amount of fuel or transport costs to go to work everyday will make living there as expensive as buying an apartment in Nairobi.One of my female colleagues used to live na huko Malaa past Kamulu heights.Everyday Monday to Friday she leaves work at 10pm coz of Kangundo road traffic.She has to leave home before 5am to avoid the same traffic.Ilibidi amepata boyfriend anaishi utawala.So she leaves work early anaenda kunyanduliwa almost daily utawala before proceeding home huko ma 11pm.Hubby doesn’t tell her anything coz she is the one who built the house when the hubby was jobless.
I know of yet another doctor at Nairobi Hospital who bought a house at Kamulu heights.Its currently up for sale coz amelemewa na traffic you hio route.