When I was a kid in the 1990s, I remember the bus fare on this route was Kshs 850 fixed price on Eldoret express, Nya Ugenya, Shaggy Homeboys and even Coast Bus. Now it’s almost Kshs 2,000 buana.
Naomba serikali irudishe bei to less than Kshs 1,000 bei ya common mwananchi. This will also promote urban to rural migration, since a growing city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
Jack_Black:
…eboys and even Coast Bus. Now it’s almost Kshs 2,000 buana.
Naomba serikali irudishe bei to less than Kshs 1,000 bei ya common mwananchi. This will also promote urban to rural migration, since a growing city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
Eldoret-Express-Bus-II1160×652 133 KB
bcec63e3-7cd5-4eda-ac98-c8a315caec331920×1411 236 KB
Eti 850?
Wewe Wacha jokes…90’s 850? Wacha uongo
Wachaikae:
…00 buana.
Eti 850?
Yes, from 1997 to around mid 2000s that was the price from Nairobi plus or minus 100.
Wachaikae:
…00 buana.
Eti 850?
Anatuona matako yake i think he was typing he was born in 1990s. Recently he used to pay 800 but now its 1500
Jack_Black:
Kitambo travelling meant a lot.. siku hizi haina ile ladha
Gaza
July 3, 2025, 11:27am
Yuletapeli:
…aomba serikali irudishe bei to less than Kshs 1,000 bei ya common mwananchi. This will also promote urban to rural migration, since a growing city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
Jaduong, travel international buana. What’s wrong with you omera ..
Jack_Black:
We ni mtoto wa juzi.
Even as late as in 2009, Nairobi to Kitale was 500. To eldoret must have been cheaper
Gaza:
…ananchi. This will also promote urban to rural migration, since a growing city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
Natafuta pesa kaka… nikitulia itabidi niishi kwa ndege tu.
I love how 3/4 of the comments are from people wenye ushago ni Dagoretti corner unaeza enda na bicycle.
Man_From_Kitale:
…000 bei ya common mwananchi. This will also promote urban to rural migration, since a growing city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
We ni mtoto wa juzi.
Even as late as in 2009, Nairobi to Kitale was 500. To eldoret must have been cheaper
2006 I was working in lodwar…na kutoka Nairobi hadi lodwar total fare was less than 1000.
Wachaikae:
…ng city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
We ni mtoto wa juzi.
2006 I was working in lodwar…na kutoka Nairobi hadi lodwar total fare was less than 1000.
Tawfiq Nairobi - Mombasa was 1,250 fixed price.. so I can believe that.
Gaza
July 3, 2025, 1:54pm
Gaza:
…ananchi. This will also promote urban to rural migration, since a growing city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
We are all in the game for the money. Doesn’t mean you can’t indulge in the finer things in life once in a while. Hii maisha haina rematch ..
Jack_Black:
… This will also promote urban to rural migration, since a growing city needs plenty of skilled (preferably female) labour from other, declining cities like Nairobi and Ruiru.
Eti 850?
Yes, from 1997 to around mid 2000s that was the price from Nairobi plus or minus 100.
Hiyo bei iko sawa. Toa umaskini hapa ghasia
Jack_Black:
Wacha uongo!
I used these buses mid 2000s when studying hapo Kesses and the fare was 450/-. I remember even paying 350/- off peak days.
When it was 450/-, Rift valley shuttle was charging 600/-, and Easy Coach (then very new) 700 to 800/-.
We preferred Akamba that was charging 500/- and had comfortable reclining seats, despite the old and slow buses.
fishmonger:
…3e3-7cd5-4eda-ac98-c8a315caec331920×1411 236 KB
Wacha uongo!
I used these buses mid 2000s when studying hapo Kesses and the fare was 450/-. I remember even paying 350/- off peak days.
When it was 450/-, Rift valley shuttle was charging 600/-, and Easy Coach (then very new) 700 to 800/-.
We preferred Akamba that was charging 500/- and had comfortable reclining seats, despite the old and slow buses.
There’s 20 years between 1980s and 2000s. We had double decker stagecoach in 1995 but we can’t in 2025. Tafakari ya Babu.
fishmonger:
…3e3-7cd5-4eda-ac98-c8a315caec331920×1411 236 KB
Wacha uongo!
I used akamba a lot while studying in the city. Hiyo journey was horrendous banae Kwanza btn total and nax ilikua na potholes all through na you can imagine the traffic ya lorries, buses , personals . Kitambo ufike jiji late evening you are really worn out and dusty mbaya
I remember seeing them prying through Eastleigh. If they were to return, they’d be best for those areas close to Town. Westie, Ngong Road, LA, etc.
SparkMyke:
…
Jack_Black:
We had double decker stagecoach in 1995 but we can’t in 2025..
I remember seeing them prying through Eastleigh. If they were to return, they’d be best for those areas close to Town. Westie, Ngong Road, LA, etc.
Nah, they’d be best at doing their original job which is express service from Eldoret CBD to Nairobi CBD. No stops.
Jack_Black:
Nairobi to Nakuru ilikuwa 150.
Saa hii ni 500.
Guru2.0:
… 700 to 800/-.
I used akamba a lot while studying in the city. Hiyo journey was horrendous banae Kwanza btn total and nax ilikua na potholes all through na you can imagine the traffic ya lorries, buses , personals . Kitambo ufike jiji late evening you are really worn out and dusty mbaya
not to mention the cold if you were unlucky to sit next to a window that didn’t shut properly at night! During the dying years of Akamba, one could even be rained on inside the bus!