Nairobi slumification continues

One depressing thing I’ve noticed about this Kenya of ours is the haphazard expansion. We are developing, but developing into one big slum. Poorly constructed apartments everywhere, muddy roads in between and water problems emerge after a few years. Even areas that were formerly high class, such as Donholm and South C have deteriorated into disorganized slums. Now I see a post on Twitter showing how Kileleshwa is going down the same path

[MEDIA=twitter]1454530455278063624[/MEDIA]

Mungu tu saidia sisi

A while ago, i had a chat with a jungu neighbor who had moved in the block that i resided in. She told me she was from Illinois, na mimi na kiherere yangu, i asked her if she was from Chicago, and she was offended.
Later on, i came to realize, most of the major urban cities in Murica are surrounded by slumish neighborhoods, which were once middle income neighborhoods.
Most of the middle income people reside in suburban, and that’s where most of the establishment with decent wages are located.
I guess Nairobi is slowly getting there.

Huku katia? Ama iyo ni hekaya ya Sex na Relationships? :D:D:D

Lack of planning is Nairobi’s, na Kenya’s, undoing. Public transport, amenities, housing, physical planning all these things should go together in urban development.

hapo haitakuwa kama pipeline
high networth individuals ndio watakuwa wakiishi

hakuna story za kuanika nguo inje kwa mbalcon, ni washing machine na dryer

parking ndio sijui itakuwaje

Karen is already gone.

Sad though i am not a Nairobian.
Restrictions should be followed by any developer/ settler in your neighbourhood. You can privately/ anonymously bring it down prematurely if it will compromise your status and security in 100 years time. Don’t involve the corrupt government bodies.

Blame will be directed to the incompetent contractors. Contractors, don’t be involved in estate degradation.

Bonobos are incapable of maintaining sane urban planning codes. Ni kama we are naturally disorganized and are constantly seeking chaos.

Huko kwetu kuna some senior cop amejenga flat na hakuna kitu residents watafanya. All complaints from residents - mind you some are PSs and deputy governors - have fallen on deaf years.

SMH

The problem with Nairobi and other major cities in .ke is one. Civil servants , who are supposed to be over seeing and enforcing regulations, are among the heavy investors in the real estate industry, courtesy of corruption.
These are the guys who make sure that, the infrastructure in the west of Nairobi is firing in all cylinders, while seriously neglecting the infrastructure in the south.
These has in turn made the west of the city to become prime area for real estate, and these fcukers are have been taking care of their investments.
A former permanent secretary left this behind.

Don’t involve dumb mind/ ears.
If you are united with average resources, you can make a permanent change & a clear message to future rogue developers

Someone has to sell to the junkies what they want. They all want a luxury apartment in Kileleshwa/Kilimani/Lavington. That’s why wanakamuliwa 20+ million for those shoebox apartments. What they don’t know is that that zone will not be exclusive in 10-15 years…just like South B is not as great as it was 20 years ago. Middle class are always late for the party by default because they keep wanting to live where the elite live. The elite have a field day selling off to the middle class and migrating elsewhere. In 20 years maybe sides za Limuru/Tigoni etc ndizo zitakuwa exclusive with modern houses.

Do I find luxury apartments nice? Yes, especially in Kileleshwa.

Would I buy one if I was looking for a house? Fuak no.

Would I rent one? Absolutely.

[/QUOTE]

Because it’s temporarily.

[/QUOTE]

Also because my dream house will be on half an acre minimum where I can do my DIY projects bila kusumbuliwa.

This is just my preference and other people have different preferences. I personally don’t see myself using hard-earned money to buy a shoebox in the sky. I have no problem renting that luxury apartment though.

There are some obvious advantages of a mansion on your own land that an apartment can’t offer.

Also because my dream house will be on half an acre minimum where I can do my DIY projects bila kusumbuliwa.

This is just my preference and other people have different preferences. I personally don’t see myself using hard-earned money to buy a shoebox in the sky. I have no problem renting that luxury apartment though.

There are some obvious advantages of a mansion on your own land that an apartment can’t offer.
[/QUOTE]

Exactly.
A place you can grow personal, organic fruits and vegetables without the worry of any CANCER causing chemicals/ wora applied.

Kwa Ghorofa, lazima ununue sukuma na nyanya irrigated by industrial/ street/ estate waste water, then sprayed with unrestricted, lethal, cancer causing pesticides. Halafu mtu anajisifu vile sukuma yake haina doa kabisa.

Tujipende tukiwa hai.

I have been a resident in Nairobi for a while since my student years in 2009.
I saw the class that South B wielded back then.
I’ve stayed in South B, Donholm and moved to Utawala before it was crowded and after my first kid was born. I needed the child to grow up in a place of no chaos reason why I rented an own compound bungalow in Utawala.
The place was cool for a few years, population was low, traffic was not this we are seeing and generally you would have loved to stay there.
I got fed up with how it turned out to be lately- taking shape of Donholm I had run away from back then.

My biggest nightmare was, where do I move to? I don’t have the bandwidth to have my own house and as some elders have mentioned, it’s nonsensical to buy a house that will be in a slum in a few years.
Your home needs be in a serene environment, at least, away from the chaos and dramas of a population under scramble for amenities.
I pulled the plug and searched for a nice rental house around Tala area. Kwa village.
My biggest problem right now ni internet tu, but am working on wireless transmission from Nairobi.

I don’t regret anything; Job is remote so I don’t think about fuel to Nairobi or stuff. Kids got a good school and I personally drop them in the morning and pick them in the evening. They have friends around, I can take them out every weekend but overall you have the chance of living a decent healthy life out of the chaos in Nairobi.
Interestingly, the rent is less than half of what I was paying in Nairobi. From 45K to 20K

Tala is good.
Pollution ya Nbi, kamulu, Koma, umeihepa.
You can comfortably do a roof water harvesting.

I do pass by during my exploration na pako sawa.

The Kenya population is growing, rural urban migration has not been fully solved by devolution. bora sewage system, clean water ikuwe sawa na other infrastructure then buildings must come up.

Nairobi si retirement home pahali unataka ati ukuwe unaenda kukaa chini ya mti. piga job retire go back to the village or wherever umejenga kwa farm ukunywe fresh air

Ango si ut*mbe nyoka ingine kwa ile keja yako na utuwekee mbisha tuoshe mesho.

It depends. Nairobi is a perfect retirement home lakini only to birrioneas. Hizi vitu za pollution etc huwa shida za dusty suburbs.

Kibaki akiwa Muthaiga can’t relate. He gets that fresh air at home ama hapo kwa golf club sipping his tuskers.

Lakini you have a valid point. The average mwananchi will never be that wealthy to retire to an exclusive lifestyle huko leafy suburbs. So, for the average person, the ideal retirement is out of Nairobi preferably kwa ranch ocha.

Assuming that 90%+ of ktalk birrioneas will never be rich enough to retire comfortably in Nairobi, your advice fits most people.

Boss, get some history lessons. Areas like Donholm and Jericho used to be the Kileleshwas of our parents generation before they became slumified

Sisi watu wa reserve hatunanga hizi mashida. Niku maintain tu … ka apt hapo Kilimani for when we come around to see ya’ll city folks… n partie out with our kunguru’s then off we go back to our laid back living by the ranch. Whenever ya’ll fuck up our space we simply move to the next one.