This plan can cost sth like $200M to a max of $300M. New York metro costed a mere $350M and that’s small small money. If we do away with women rep seats, senators and MCAs, we could have saved enough to built this. Shida ni low IQ bandits are the one in charge of running the country, y’all be easy though
This is the only solution to Nairobi, but it seems you came too early. if some monkey still thinks BRT bus is a viable solution it tells you the mindset the leaders have. maybe someone will be born later and do this.
There are people in this country who own thousands and thousands of matatus. Tycoons who drink and eat mbuzi choma with top politicians and civil servants. So long as these people have the ear of policymakers nothing will change in the public transport sector. Wananchi will come up with all these good ideas and wenyeinchi will put those plans on a shelf to collect dust.
Hapa US, things are very peculiar. Tbh, those metro are sustained by tourists, broke students and a few low income earners who can’t afford a parking space in their cubicles hence prefer using the metro. So they do regularly run into deficits and both state and federal governments bail them out. Juu hapa even an homeless person who works at McDonald has his/her car. When I came around fuel was $1.98/gallon (roughly 4 liters) and getting a second hand car which is decent can set you back as little as $800.
A solution that should be considered is a rail service that runs along the main arteries of the city. These would then be served by bus services that would run in the suburbs to ferry to the train line and terminated at the various stations