Nairobi Expressway Project Cost

According to the article below KNHA has disclosed the following as part of the Bill of Quantities for Materials required for this project:
280,000 tonnes of Cement
350,000 tonnes of Sand
700,000 tonnes of Ballast
90,000 tonnes of steel
7.3 Million litres of fuel
Leasing equipment at 547M
Transport and Logistics at 657M

In addition there are 3656 employees involved in the project of which 2808 are Kenyans with the rest 848 employees being foreigners.

Now Swali tu Wadau,
Based on the above,I have tried to quantify the above using the existing market rates based on my experience at least.

Although I have read in other papers that the project contractor invested in a cement manufacturing plant for this project.

For Cement at 10,000 per tonnes is 2.8B
Sand at 1800/t is 630M
Ballast at 2000/t is 1.4B
Fuel at 106 is 773
Leasing equipment at 547M
Transport at 657M

For steel…I assumed they exclusively used D25 bars …then used the formula W=(D^2/162) × L which would mean a D25 bar weighs 46.296Kg so from 90,000 tonnes it would mean there are 1.95M bars of D25 and so each going at 4700 per bar would bring the cost of steel to 9.1B

For materials ,the total comes to 15.9B …which is 24.47% of the 65B the project costs.

Now its hard to quantity labour but here is what I have tried going with:

For the 2808 Kenyans ,I assume 70% are casual labourers at 40K per month and so 943M a yr,the rest of the 30% i assume,again,are skilled workers at 120K a month and so 1.2B a yr

For the 808 Chinese…I assume all are skilled at an average of 200K per month and so 2B a yr.

Note that the project begin in October 2019 and they say Uhuru will launch in January next yr so about 2 and a quarter yrs for the project duration

Now wadau mimi sio Engineer and QS just working with the information I have.
I could have missed alot of other things due to this,obviously.

But just curious…if u model all the above exhaustively, including labour …the cost adds up to 36% of the 65B of the entire project cost…yaani 26B of 65B…my thinking is that even if I have missed alot of details ,and I Have,The difference between 65 and 26B is staggering to say the least especially having accounted for the CORE EXPENSES…
Are we being ripped off?
Engineers ,QS and all I invite u kuchangia…asante

Here is the article I am referring to

[SIZE=7]Silent Beneficiaries Already Minting Millions from Nairobi Expressway[/SIZE]
[li]By MICHAEL MUSYOKA on 12 February 2021 - 10:49 am[/li]
[/ul]

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_style_mobile/public/images/media/Nairobi%20Expressway%20under%20construction%20in%20Westlands.jpg?itok=__hJe1oG
[li]Nairobi Expressway under construction in Westlands, Nairobi[/li]FILE
[/ul]
[li]The Ksh65 billion Nairobi Expressway is expected to be a major game-changer opening-up the city with a greater capacity for vehicular traffic.[/li]The 21KM elevated highway which begins at Mlolongo to JKIA, Nairobi’s CBD and ends at Westlands along Waiyaki Way is being undertaken through a public-private partnership (PPP) which China Roads and Bridges Corporation (CRBC) undertaking the construction works.
To carry out the project, the Chinese contractor requires materials which the Kenya National Highways Authority (KeNHA) revealed opened up opportunities for the local suppliers.
Local suppliers have since gotten a chance to cash in on the multi-billion project with the provision of materials ranging from cement, sand, aggregates, fuel, reinforced steel, and timber.
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/A%20section%20of%20the%20Nairobi%20Expressway%20along%20Mombasa%20Road.jpg?itok=uwKIMMHF
A section of the Nairobi Expressway along Mombasa Road
FILE
A construction expert who spoke to Kenyans.co.ke disclosed that the materials used at the construction site are readily available locally.
KeNHA disclosed that the project required 280,000 tonnes of cement which by the current market rate for a 50Kg bag of cement translates to Ksh3.36 billion to supply the material.
“Several companies in Kenya can supply the cement in the bulk quantities required which would be a big payday for them,” the construction expert disclosed.
The roads agency noted that 350,000 tonnes of sand will be used through to the completion of the project. Sand which is sourced from local rivers at a rate of Ksh14,500 per 14 tonnes would translate to Ksh362.5 million to the suppliers.
Aggregates or ballast that are used in the construction and sourced from a local quarry at a rate of 19 tonnes Ksh29,000 would amount to Ksh1.068 billion for the 700,000 tonnes needed.
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/local%20supply.JPG?itok=Rh7qr3zA
The construction of the Nairobi Expressway has opened up a wave of opportunities for the local supply chain
TWITTER
As for fuel, going by the highest price of Ksh106 per litre of petrol, suppliers would make a maximum of Ksh 773.8 Million for supplying 7.3 million litres of fuel.
Local suppliers also engage in equipment leasing Ksh547 million as well as providing transportation logistics Ksh656.7 million.
KeNHA added that the Expressway required reinforcement steel of upto 90,000 tonnes.
There are different steel types in the market which each having its own rate. The cheapest being the D8 going for Ksh 450-500/- per piece of 12 metres and the most expensive being the D25 going for Ksh4,700/- per piece of 12 metres.
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/expressway%20(2).jpg?itok=zINir3CB
Construction of the elevated section of Nairobi Expressway along NextGen Mall, Nairobi
FILE
The project has also seen the creation of employment opportunities. According to a 2020 year-end review by the National Construction Authority (NCA), the elevated road saw the creation of over 3,000 jobs.
NCA director general Maurice Akech noted that the employment opportunities from the 27KM road were helping many households earn income.
The construction of the Nairobi Expressway has also opened up a wave of opportunities for the local labor force and the local supply chain.
A number of Kenyan engineers and technicians have been deployed to the project site of the mega project.
Out of a current labor force of 3,656, there are 2,808 Kenyan management and construction staff.
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/expressway%20workers.JPG?itok=pmajdiJ4
[/ul]

True the difference is huge
Do we have any land compensation?
Are they rerouting sewage and water pipes?..if so then the cost might go up by another 10b

Hii barabara hata ingejengwa na shilingi mia sita hamsini hizo mamilioni hatungegaiwa hata ndururu

The Kenyatta family itarudisha pesa yote ya campaign in this project. Supplies of materials to this project is a big fat cheque however they had to meet CCCC tough quality control and price mechanism. That is why this project is insulated from all hindrance.

That said this project is good, long overdue and it was part of Jubilee manifesto 1. PPP funded, build and operated by CCCC.

The only problem is the shortsightedness of some of the decision. Particularly reducing the free lanes from 3 lanes currently to 2 lanes. One lane is given to BRT. All the studies on this project show that the growth of car traffic on our roads means traffic jams will be back within 7 years of this road completion. BRT as much as it marketed as mass transport network is highly inefficient for our volumes. A separate overhead mass transport commuter train along this road is the only sure means that can handle mass volumes on this corridor for the envisioned 30 years timeline. 2021 to 2051. Lakini the rush to make money from this project meant no bigger demands was requested from CCCC. That actually is the sad part because I’m 100% sure had government asked CCCC for a commuter train component on this project they would have gotten it easily. Its not even a big task for them. They are building several 3 lanes dual expressway globally with parallel commuter and BRT lines incorporated for mass volume transportation in cities above 5 million population.

Mike,

Here is an almost similar project by Athi River Water services that owns all water and sewerage infrastructure in Nairobi that I tried to use as an example to quantify but couldn’t kwa sababu sijui bei ya hizo vitu…if a person can help us price then we can estimate…

They have a Kiambu-Embakasi pipeline project with the following specifications:
24.0 km of Pipeline consisting of 18.4km of DN 1000 Pipes and 5.6km of DN 900 pipes
· 14,000m3 Reinforced Concrete Water Storage Tank at Embakasi

And extension of sewerage infrastructure:
25.5 km of Sewers, uPVC Sizes OD 200 mm – OD 315 mm

Spear,
Vile unaelewa hizi government projects si utupe plans ya hizi vitu tuone…niko interested na hizi za 25 and 60 Billion dams sanasana

There’s many details you left out. Feasibility studies costs. Design costs. For invited foreign workers, you have to pay for their travel here and early accommodation. Insurance for workers - if they get injured. Insurance for the structure while being built. Electrical costs for construction. IT for monitoring. Non site personnel costs.

He has missed a lot. Actually, the quantities on the newspaper could be just mere estimates. I haven’t seen the quantities for Bitumen which is a major item, what about the fill material (quality soil/gravel) which would thousands of cu.m. What about land acquisition and relocation of services? Cost of design and supervision? cost of vehicles?
Where would u get a contractor quoting 10k per tonne of PPC leave alone OPC which is being utilized on the project. What about other things like additives, curing agents for concrete works? Remember the work is being done 24hrs, so workers wananukisha kitunguu sawasawa. There is a lot that has been left out.

Wewe mjuaji, Kenyatta family wanakula ngapi kwa huu mradi? Na Makamu wa Rais zake ni ngapi?

Mahesabu ambayo siwezani huwa nawaachia mangwiji!

My only, ONLY, problem is that projects zooote za Uhuru Kenyatta huwa zinachukua a millennium kumalizika na zingine zinalaunchiwa half done and never to be finished once put in public use. Barabara ya Changamwe to Miritini haijamalizika almost 7 years later, (kweli rongo, Bw @Meria Mata?) SGR was unfinished when it was launched and now, only 2 years after, it is showing the ugly face of dilapidation.

Changamwe - Miritini ama Digo Road - Jomvu? Changamwe - Jomvu is a phase 2 of the Airport Road which was completed in Nov 2017. This phase 2 commenced in January 2019. The major road from Digo Road - Jomvu started in January 2017 na hata Changamwe interchange is far from being complete.

I said Changamwe to Miritini. And I also said that it’s not finished 7 years after they started. And I stand to be corrected. And I have @Meria Mata as my witness!

Excavations for that road was major. The road is also very wide because of the heavy usage of trucks from the port. A lot of sections of that road incorporated cemented roads to improve in its longevity and the interchanges there will be the biggest in Kenya. Lastly government slow payments to contractor. Vumilia tu once that road is completed you will understand the civil works aikuwa mchezo.

He is a major supplier of materials to all this sites so I wonder the delay as well. Steel, cement, usables contracts are decided in state house at a commission.

kweli kabisa

I really don’t understand which section. For clarity, the Changamwe - Jomvu starts at around Airport view Mall, traverses through mainland, goes past the KPC gate at Scope, moves along the Airport fence where we have the run way and terminates at the railway crossing at Jomvu. The contact includes improvement of 500m of the SGR access road which goes those sides of Chai trading. This is the Construction that started in Jan 2019 and its being done by China Wu yi company. The other Contracts includes works starts form Digo - Road moves along the main road past mwembe tayari, sabasaba, makupa up Kibarani. it Includes a major interchange at Changamwe roundabout, another at Mikindani junction and at Jomvu. This Contract is being implemented by China City company and it started in Jan 2017. It terminates at the Jomvu Railway crossing where it meets the China WU Yi contract. I hear that the same Contractor (China City) has been awarded the contract to continue the works from Jomvu to Mariakani.

Hio unayosema wewe inaitwa ya magongo Wayani jomvu Miritini.

yes the first one being done by China Wu yi. So u were talking about the 2nd one. inaniudhi venye this Contractor is slow. Kwanza at the Changamwe roundabout. He should have completed this section ages ago coz there was no land to be acquired only some powerlines to relocate.

But, to give credit where it is due, Uhuru’s administration is the one that has done the most mega roadworks and hence had Mombasa changed completely! Mombasa owes Uhuru much more than any other recent leader, Kibaki and Balala included!