Nabii Lies Exposed In One On One With Varsity Students

Youth Field Tough Questions to Ruto During Meeting on New University Funding Model

• by Hebrews Rono on Monday, 26 August 2024
    In a heated session marked by frank exchanges and pressing concerns, President William Ruto faced a barrage of tough questions from university student leaders about the new university funding model, which has stirred unrest.

Gichangi Gitonga, the Secretary-General of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT), set the tone with a candid disclosure of the pressures he faced from his constituents.

“The entire time I was sitting on this seat, it was getting hotter and hotter,” said Gitonga.

He questioned the haste in implementing a model riddled with complexities and accused the administration of using student leaders as “rubber stamps” in policy decisions.

Highlighting concerns about transparency and corruption, Gitonga challenged President Ruto to address the discrepancies in financial figures related to higher education debts, which have varied in public statements.

“We were told of a debt of Ksh70 billion at HELB, then Ksh51 billion for private universities, and today you mention Ksh180 billion. As a financial engineer, I find it hard to reconcile these figures,” he stated.

Kennedy Otieno, Secretary-General of Kenya Methodist University, echoed the sentiment criticising the model for not reducing the financial burden on families.

“The fee has not fallen, that is why we are here,” Otieno argued, questioning the need to overhaul the previous model instead of improving it.

Students proposed eliminating problematic financial bands and consolidating funds to reduce tuition costs effectively.

In his defence, President Ruto provided a historical perspective on the funding structure, asserting that the concept of banding was not novel but rather an extension of a policy initiated in 1996.

“The new model has 5 bands, and all we did was expand from 4 bands to 5,” Ruto explained, stressing continuity in policy evolution.

Ruto also drew on his personal experiences to underscore the long-standing nature of the student loan system.

“I went to university in 1987 with a loan of 55,000 at an interest of 2%, which I repaid when I started working. The loan component has always been there; it is what makes the model sustainable,” he explained.

Addressing the broader implications of education on national integrity, Ruto warned, “To destroy a nation, you don’t need an atomic bomb or long-range missiles. Lowering the quality of education and allowing exam cheating can destroy a nation.”

He explained his commitment to reform by referencing the appointment of a 42-person task force tasked with resolving issues in the education sector.

Concluding, President Ruto acknowledged the imperfections in the current model but expressed confidence in its direction.

“We are not saying the model is perfect, but I believe it is 95% in the right direction, and we will continue to improve on it,” he reassured.

The new funding model has left parents and their children in uncertain situations even as students prepare to join institutions of higher education at different levels.

On Sunday, Wiper Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka vowed to spearhead a national campaign against the recently implemented university funding model, denouncing it as overly complex and exclusionary towards lower-income families.

Addressing a crowd in Githurai, Kalonzo criticised the government’s lack of engagement with the public and educational stakeholders before rolling out the new system.

“The current administration has plunged education into crisis,” Musyoka declared.

“We give notice to the government, which appears clueless about managing this essential sector, that we will mobilize the country to oppose this unjust model. If the plan is to make university education a privilege only for the affluent, then the marginalized will rise to reclaim their rightful access.”

Musyoka explained the widespread disapproval of the funding scheme among Kenyans, emphasising that the lack of prior consultation or pilot testing has left many unprepared and disadvantaged.

“Education is in a crisis, and it is both impracticable and unfair. Even university administrations admit they were left out of the conversation,” he added.

The Wiper party leader’s strong opposition to the new university funding model resonates with concerns raised across various sectors regarding the transparency and inclusivity of the new system.

“How many are ready to stand against this? The poor will rise and claim their position,” Musyoka rallied the crowd.

Notably, President Ruto hosted students for a town hall meeting to explain the new funding model but was met with glaring resistance.

A section of the students could not understand the formula behind the banding of students according to the income of their parents.

“The new student-centred funding model has 5 bands. The banding did not start with this model. We started the banding in 1996. There has always been banding. I know there is a push that maybe this banding started with this model, it did not, it has always been there. All we did, instead of having 4 bands we made it 5,” Ruto explained.

Student and their leaders fielded uncomfortable questions, seeking to understand the formula moving forward.

Marakwet West Member of Parliament Timothy Kipchumba on Thursday hit out at President William Ruto accusing him of failing to fulfil the promises he made during the campaigns.

Kipchumba while addressing his constituents, expressed his frustrations over several uncompleted projects launched by the president in his Sub-County.

The legislator called on the Head of State to stop his consistent narrative of making many promises to Kenyans without fulfilling them.

He went ahead to urge President Ruto to consider allocating adequate funds for the completion of several learning institutions which the MP noted had stalled for long periods.

Marakwet West Member of Parliament Timothy Kipchumba

“I want to sincerely urge the president that when he makes promises to Kenyans let us ensure there is money to complete the projects,” Kipchumba commented.

“Every time I meet the president, I remind him of this uncompleted school and so I urge the president that the 3-month promise he made, let him fulfil it.”

According to the vocal legislator, the recent security breach witnessed at the parliament building by the anti-government protesters was enough evidence of dissatisfaction by many Kenyans.

“These Gen Zs attacked us in parliament because of the lies, and I don’t want to be attacked by the residents of Marakwet West, I want to work for them,” the MP stated.

Kipchumba’s sentiments come days after the government spokesperson Isaac Mwaura revealed that the Head of State would continue relaunching stalled projects to ensure they are completed.

Mwaura while addressing journalists in Nairobi, termed Ruto’s decision to relaunch some of the projects started by his predecessor as a noble act of accountability.

“If a project is stalled and it is relaunched, there is nothing as noble as that. It is the greatest extent of accountability,” the government spokesperson claimed.

“When you see his excellency the President making sure that which had been started is moving on, it clearly means there is every intention that project is completed and serves its intention," Mwaura added.

Siez waste my time without significant personal interests na MA-LIAR!

In the wake of a public uproar over the new university funding model, the University of Nairobi (UoN) student leaders on Saturday announced national demonstrations to protest its implementation.

Speaking to the press on Saturday noon, the UoN student leaders called on fellow students from other universities across the country to join them in their planned protest which is set to kick off on Monday, September 2.

While expressing their frustrations over the new funding model, the students termed the new model as discriminatory claiming it limited Kenyans’ access to university education.

According to the UoN student leaders, their efforts to engage the government on the matter have bore no fruit leaving them with no option other than to call for the nationwide demonstrations.

https://x.com/Bk25525875/status/1829587556482072598?t=Ojy-Za8fnTNurId7xLZaHQ&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFAQDNleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHcihfFE6VirmTmh-CXPD9IubSgjla1jLe1E7JP2T4Iv8RWV2cy9fqiWV2A_aem_tTjoLtX909hy4ckwIS7xzg

“The public at large is crying because they have been placed in the wrong bands and subjected to pay excessive amounts of fees,” narrated one of the student leaders.

"It is high time that the government listened to urge all students from all universities and mainly from UoN to come out on August 2.”

The latest development follows the Education Cabinet Secretary Julius Migos’ directive to students assuring them of the government’s efforts to address their concerns.

On August 23, the Ministry of Education disclosed that nearly 10,000 aggrieved students have so far registered appeals through the Higher Education Financing (HEF) portal contesting the new university funding model.

Universities Fund Chief Executive Officer Godfrey Monari revealed that the review process has already begun, with students set to receive the status of their appeals within three weeks of application.

“We have received over 10,000 appeals, and this is an ongoing process. We want to identify where these needy students are so that we can place them in the correct funding band,” Monari stated.

“Once we process the appeals, we will update the universities to review the household fees for the students. We will also provide this information on the HEF portal, accompanied by an SMS alert to inform the students,” he added.

Monari noted that the Ministry was considering utilising the National Government Administration Officers (NGAO) to verify appeal cases to ensure the authenticity and accuracy of the data provided.

Now Nabii Says He Stands on Top of Cars Because He is an Evangelist

An Evangelist: a person who seeks to convert others to the Christian faith, especially by public preaching.

Ruto has revealed the reason why he usually stands on car roofs while addressing citizens during his tours across the country. According to him, that is part of a deep divine call that he has his eyes set on despite becoming a politician.

Speaking during a church service in Bungoma on Sunday, the Head of State gave the sharp contrast revelation likening his call to be an evangelist to his tours on top of cars while crisscrossing the country as well as addressing crowds on an elevated platform.

‘’I am an evangelist. Many people sometimes wonder why I stand on raised places and sometimes on top of the car," he stated.

Ruto also revealed that it was as a result of the calling to be an evangelist that he tries to behave like one, even in his capacity as president.

‘’When your orientation is as an evangelist, you always behave like an evangelist even when you are doing other things,’’ he added.

During his campaigns in 2021, Ruto while speaking during a church service in Nyeri revealed that his call to an evangelist was based on the need to see many people going to heaven and that was what his bottom up agenda was based on.

In 2018, Ezekiel Mutua the CEO of Music Copyright Society of Kenya revealed that Ruto was a staunch christian union member.

“Evangelist WSR (William Samoei Ruto) back in the day… Now, (the then) Deputy President of the Republic of Kenya. Truly inspiring. This is what happens when you serve God diligently in your youth,” wrote Mutua on his Facebook.

Ruto participated in evangelical work especially when he was a student at Kapsabet Boys High School and the University of Nairobi, where he graduated in 1990.

President Ruto term has been more of an evangelical one with him and his wife the first lady hosting many religious leaders at the State house and various state functions, a move that some Kenyans have criticized both negatively and positively.

In the wake of the deployment of Kenyan security forces to the troubled Caribbean nation of Haiti, a report emerged of how Kenya’s administration had enlisted pastors to be part of the support group alongside Kenyan forces.

“We believe that we are a tool that God will use to help,” commented one of the pastors while referencing the imminent mission.

In February this year, First Daughter Charlene Ruto fell under the power of the Holy Spirit while being prayed for by televangelist Pastor Benny Hinn at his Nyayo Stadium crusade upon the invitation of the first family.

The televangelist caught Charlene as she stumbled to the ground, proclaiming later that her fall was due to the spirit of the Lord.

“I felt like I was being anointed for the call,” she told the thousands of congregants who included President William Ruto and First Lady Rachel Ruto.

This comes at a time when Ruto has been facing sharp criticism over his double speak whenever he speaks to issue promises to the people especially on development issues.

Yesterday President William Ruto inspected the Masinde Muliro International Stadium in Bungoma County, during his tour in the Western region.

Ruto expressed his vision for the stadium to meet the standards of hosting a Manchester United vs. Arsenal football match. :grin:

“Our country’s transformation requires our commitment, focus and unity. I am glad we are on track towards this vision,” he said.

Kondele residents out in numbers to meet Evangelist Ruto

Nabii achomwe

Luogeges

Wacha Tu Starve as long as Baba ako sawa… :star_struck:

https://x.com/Chelaa_03/status/1832710274035429457?t=7HGAqarOhlTgcs1x2Hdj_g&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFLFARleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHT9QtkCs7jTcMtMllyRletq1IB5J-gAriABYnj7dHDH8NdSqzxpb3sVtkg_aem_h8PK8VDa3HnEWyy0wykrrQ

https://x.com/Wycliffe_Otie/status/1834287835240943754?t=TzxnlqTDgIFDT5s9rmi-zQ&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQQAFleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHeKnV3DkH8-__NhcnrKVugmhTcBmriBSAOOlkNbsBonE2jQ90kZM-5aBEw_aem_P7nGfwlP4VJKseKPRoD0yw

https://x.com/brendaingridk/status/1834181964938555686?t=rQHr0FmKQJM8Y1SG7H81jQ&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQQHFleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHWgjMCtMphYUNwGPGHEkKTMrS1rFS0_jREa4Wbm5aEhO9BLM-oakw8NEUg_aem_MUf7bZZGkmox_IKjhWSFHA

https://x.com/chiedosit/status/1834304970600186137?t=DmiwGYVVkPm2R7XgIhGYFg&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQQJ5leHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHcrbRAtfXIGuh9tKCXHiKXIo7Rj963I9NCH_it6s3y13W-k0ADuSlDnpEg_aem_gziOJQLyHlNq1FWyZb45RQ

https://x.com/nnyak000/status/1834173602242924598?t=2CSBw9aEcmzwFZH3ayykDw&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQQM1leHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHfCI2-PcY2kA3iwXTQB_MqnNMCdP-Nd9PrrWsSxLg-3PeFMZKCorCHCTjw_aem_--TT5BmYzdJFslb19mFnjg

The German Government on Saturday openly refuted claims that Kenya had secured a deal with over 250, 000 jobs for its citizens in the European country following a bilateral agreement with President William Ruto during his tour.

Germany’s Interior Ministry released a statement dismissing the deal after BBC World reported about the deal including the exact number of vacancies.

The country’s Interior Ministry rubbished the report stating that the information, specifically on the availability of the 250,000 jobs was false, stating that the agreement did not have any deal on specific numbers.

The Ministry further explained that in the event of an agreement, all applicants have to undergo a specific shortlisting process that fulfills the requirements as listed in Germany’s Immigration Act.

President William Ruto (left) and German Chancellor Olaf Scholz (right) during his State’s visit to Europe on March 29, 2023.

‘’This information is clearly false. The agreement between Germany and Kenya does not include any numbers or quotas of skilled workers who will have the opportunity to work in Germany,’’ the statement read in part.

‘’All applicants must fulfill the strict requirements of the German Skilled Immigration Act,’’ the statement added.

Interestingly, President William Ruto confirmed the signing of the deal, including the figures that the German government denied noting that the deal was to solve the labour problems faced by the two countries.

‘’One of them is the agreement we signed, this agreement will unlock 250,000 job opportunities for young people from Kenya. That is a bilateral agreement between Germany and Kenya,’’ Ruto told DW, Germany’s State broadcaster.

Subsequently, the BBC reported that Germany had agreed to open the doors to 250,000 skilled and semi-skilled Kenyan workers in a controlled and targeted labor migration deal.

The report added that the deal would help both countries address their labor problems where Kenya was set to benefit by getting job markets for its population faced with limited job opportunities as Germany was to benefit by getting access to the labour force.

Information from State House Kenya also confirmed the signing of the deal indicating that Kenya had secured the deal during a meeting involving the Kenyan delegation and their German counterparts held at the Chancellery in Berlin.

‘’Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi of Kenya and German Minister for Interior and Homeland Nancy Faeler signed the historic deal.’’ State House stated in a statement.

However, the statement by State House did not state the numbers that have turned to be the centre of controversy, despite the expectation that would the numbers be part of the deal, then it could have featured on the statement.

University of Nairobi (UoN) students on Wednesday issued a fresh 14-day notice informing the institution, the government, the public and relevant stakeholders of their intention to stage a nationwide strike where they intend to sustain their push to have the new higher education funding model scrapped altogether.

In their fresh notice, the students want the new funding model immediately suspended and traditional model restored. The students have termed the new funding model as discriminatory and blind to the dynamics of Kenyan learners who come from different backgrounds and with different interests.

“As a union of the University of Nairobi (UoN), we want to issue a 14-day strike notice upon agreeing on the date,” one of the student leaders at the institution stated on Wednesday while calling on students from other institutions to join in as they all seek to make their voices heard.

The students further intimated that they plan on escalating the matter to court, after feeling that the government is not keen on addressing the concerns they have raised.

University of Nairobi Main Campus.

“We shall also submit a petition to the court and to the parliament to challenge the implementation of the new university funding model,” the vowed.

While making their case, the students further took issue with the committee formed by the government to look into the higher education funding model insisting that the Higher Education Loans Board (HELB) has adequate capacity to facilitate the disbursement of funds to learners.

“From where we are, we are seeing these committees as a delaying tactic. We don’t want reforms all that we want is the new model disbanded,” the students demanded.

The students also called on parliament to summon officers tasked with the implementation of the new funding model which they termed as punitive and discriminative.

Students lamented the new funding model has locked out many students from accessing university education because of being placed in bands that don’t suit their situation.

“Our concern to the committee that is reviewing the university funding model is, how are students supposed to start their learning, join school, because after two months we are going to start our exams,” they reasoned.

This comes barely a month after the university student leaders called off a strike on September 8 which was to take effect on Tuesday, September 10, after holding a consultative meeting with officials from the Ministry of Education.

A number of universities including Moi University and Machakos University proceeded with the planned demonstrations on the said Tuesday, September 10 despite initially agreeing to call off the strike.

Meanwhile…

Just a day after frantic talks by university dons and relevant stakeholders to avert a looming strike collapsed, lecturers from various universities have downed their tools.

Lecturers made good their threat after their respective unions — the Universities Academic Staff Union (UASU) and the Kenya Universities Staff Union (KUSU) called for a strike over unmet demands by the national government.

Dons from various universities took to the streets as the strike officially kicked off. This is barely a week after students protesting against the new higher education funding model called off their strike after intervention from the government.

Lecturers participating in the strike include those from; The Technical University of Kenya (TUK), Karatina University, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture & Technology (JKUAT), South Eastern Kenya University (SEKU), Multimedia University, Maasai Mara University, Chuka University, and Cooperative University.

UASU Secretary General Constantine Wesonga

The net effect of the strike by the lecturers was students writing their exams at some universities being forced to stop as lecturers invigilating the exams joined their striking colleagues.

At Karatina University, lectures on strike stormed different faculties at the university demanding that their colleagues proceeding with teaching stop and participate in the strike.

University dons led by UASU Secretary General Constantine Wasonga issued a strike notice on September 11.

Two days after the notice was issued, the lecturers attended a meeting with Education Cabinet Secretary Julius Ogamba which flopped after the talks failed to lead to something substantial.

The lecturers could not agree with the Education Ministry which wants them to continue working under the same terms.

“ It’s not feasible to continue earning the same in an environment where everything has gone up and our purchasing power eroded,” Charles Mukhwaya KUSU Secretary-General stated after attending a meeting on the strike with PS for Higher Education on Wednesday.

On his part, UASU Secretary General Constantine Wasonga stated that his union’s members could no longer operate on promises and will only accept a tangible solution before calling off their strike.

“We don’t eat promises and promissory notes. We don’t care if it takes years. If they come with promises, we’ll reject them. We want something tangible,” he said after the meeting on Wednesday.

UASU & KUSU are agitating for the government to address several issues including; discriminative medical cover, the conclusion of a local Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA), annual salary increments, staff promotions, proper staff placement to appropriate notches and the improvement of poor working conditions.

The strike by the university dons will paralyze learning in 35 public universities.

https://x.com/BernardKavuli/status/1836296991564845259?t=CDJ2aOmTPcZhtu7yaM31Og&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFX2UJleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHW5UC6fjFVPdnqothhVGUPbav-iJQTpWMGgmQUXH7xg_-_arcR7kt0nRAg_aem_6IkWSwoCYNz2t36HpPeZGQ

https://x.com/TylincS45931/status/1838285017308393497?t=wEKYLGozDTe8xZ0REGIJnQ&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFgEU9leHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHTYVvYOs-T6ZsmfKngugS9_IFzCbMyNVGWpwkIyAbCFzhrYESA5CpPgRDw_aem_MCbYHGlxEri8PwmAsMsUEg

https://x.com/itskipronoh/status/1840763956266217883?t=CGJyeJCe7-cR67zxsy9VwQ&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFnmUZleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHenUi8qUkWixx43ijnoXFTDr2Pvuyv3HO-Mln4dgTIpgsBk92H8QW0ahKA_aem_IYwidKfQZAexUl3rchaC_Q

More Nabii Lies…Kujitenga… :star_struck: :star_struck: :star_struck:

"Tokeni hapa sasa nimeskia!!

Nitatenga pesa mnyoroshwe mrudi wasichana tena"