My Life in Sodom.

I grew up in Kawangware deep in the slums. Our hood was known as Sodom probably because all known social and moral decay were very comfortable bedmates. The dwellings at that time consisted of mud houses, wooden ones and the more common corrugated iron sheet.Our neighbours were a mixture of most of the tribes found in kenya and even beyond. Almost all the houses had the same basic design- long lines of single room houses facing each other and an open area in the middle which was basically a multifunctional place which acted as the kids playing ground, wash area especially on saturdays, a hotbed of mushene during the day etc.
Although sodom was a melting pot of all the ethnic communities, most tribes preferred to live with their own. You would find most plots dominated by one tribe or the other but largely the Kikuyu and the luhyas were the predominant tribes here. Most of the liqour dens sold either muratina or busaa. I remember one that was very popular with the Luhyas Called Khalahi Khelfwe where bands from western would regularly come to perform.There was also the most popular mutura joint called Kwa wagachukia where you could buy soup, urimi etc.
The plot where I lived was behind the only primary school in the immediate neighbourhood. ( Kawangware DEB primary school). I had the most interesting neighbours. One was a middle aged man called Wakinyonga. This was probably a nickname because of his secret occupation. He was a tall slender man who had only a few teeth remaining, some on the lower jaw and others on the upper one spread in no particular order. He spent most of his days sleeping in his room and in the evening he would leave to sell mitumba. The story behind his missing teeth was quite interesting.
Although his official story was that he was a hawker, people would whisper that he was a burglar. He was very careful not to sell his loot in the same neighbourhood where he had stolen, so he would label the loot according to its origin. In his room you would find bags written Woodley, Dago, Uthiru, Land Mawe etc. One day Wakinyonga went as usual to hawk the stolen clothes in kinoo area. Unknown to him, one of the victims he had stolen from in Riruta had moved to Kinoo and he was consoling himself in a bar when Wakinyonga walked in and attempted to sell to him his own pair of Jeans. Wakinyonga was lucky to come out of there alive but not before losing most of his teeth.
My other neighbour, Mnavi, was a staunch Mary Akatsa adherent who would wake up every morning and before closing his door to leave, would jump severally in the air, clapping his hands and hissing repeatedly “hiriswa! hiriswa!”…

16 Likes

hmmmm…not bad

@wakinyonga is currently a mirrionea and living lavishly in woodeley…Ktalk version

We get the picture, wapi hekaya?

Wakinyonga is currently married to uwesmakende.

12 Likes

Tell us about the sex. Enough with the teeth…

BOSS TUPEE HEKAYA FULL KWANI HUKUWAI AMBIA COMPOSITION IKUWE NA HOW MANY WORDS

halafu useme…TOO LONG…SUMMARISE…

Anko utaninyonya mboro lini tena kama umejaza Gilbeys kwa mdomo? That effect was heavenly…kuwashwawashwa na kautamu kwa mbaaaaaaaaaaaali!

@junkie UKO NA CUSTOMER HAPA WA GUARANA NA CHIPS

Uemona gazeti ya our honest neighbor?

@Jirani weka hii orungutan kwa next issue ya keeping up with the chokoshians

I DONT RESPOND TO FAGGOTS------ OCTOGENARIAN -2016

Sasa nani unaita orangutan? Shenji!

You forgot to mention kongoini, the story of kawangware cannot be complete if kongo is missing.
Huku ndio nilijua kuna maragori na bukusu, kama AFC inacheza kila mtu alikua na karetio kusiza Leonard mambo mbotela na jack oyoo silvester wakitangaza. After a win the leopards bus would always wind up here

Mbisha for clarity
[ATTACH=full]34034[/ATTACH]

Good narrative

@Mjasusi kama wewe ni mujamaa wa ungwaro lazima ukue unajua msalaba. That was my hood at one time.

endelea