Over the next couple of days, I am gonna let you in on my experiences growing up …on sex, wrongs done on me in school, adolescence… and anything in between.
I undertake to say the absolute truth, though some details shall be veiled for obvious reasons.
They may seem outrageous, but to what end shall a lie serve me? …I shall say the truth.
Today’s:
Most of y’all had your first sexual experiences, especially as a guy, voluntarily. Well, mine didnt go down that way. I didnt grow up with my mother close. I came to the city with dad, while she stayed in shagz. Typical of most families during my time. I only saw her during school holidays, for a month but mostly less. I didnt know her that much, and its only recently did we truly know each other.
This meant, growing up, that the only female influence i had were the countless househelps from our shagz. (Aki si my dad was lucky?
Ahem!)
Now, my dad was authoritarian, but truly dictatorial. In lower primary, coming from school at lunch time I had to sleep after lunch. House helps had this rule passed on to them. It was therefore followed.
In standard three, we had this househelp. I came home, had my lunch and went to bed.
She joined me in bed, yet she had hers. She slept side ya wall. she tapped me and told me niweke kitu yangu kwa yake. I hesitated for a while. Then I started directing mine to hers…
Our bedroom window had a staircase outside it. A caretaker cum neighbour coming down the stair called her in an unusually loud voice to which she jumped up.
“Unafanya?”
“Nalala mama Mwangi”
“Hebu kuja”
She went out.
The curtain had been up.