Mwilu's 320 million in 2 years

https://image.slidesharecdn.com/mwilu-180904053207/95/deputy-chief-justice-philomena-mwilu-1-638.jpg?cb=1536039205

Detectives have flagged Sh320 million in suspicious transactions through various bank accounts operated by Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu.

Just days after the High Court temporarily slammed the brakes on her criminal prosecution, investigators analysing Mwilu’s accounts have flagged what are alleged to be suspicious transactions.

A report by the detectives seen by the Star indicates that Mwilu owns at least seven houses in upmarket Kilimani estate, one along Argwings Kodhek Road, two off Ndemi Road and another property in Athi River.

It is based on the movement of huge sums and transactions that caused investigators to suspect that the top judge could be involved in money laundering.

“The nature of the identified account transactions and properties indicate a high possibility of fraud and money laundering,” the investigation report states.

Mwilu was facing 13 counts of abuse of office, tax evasion and fraudulent recovery of loan securities before her prosecution was temporarily halted last week.

Cash transactions in Mwilu’s account between 2013-2016 amount to about Sh320.6 million.

On March 16, 2016 — a few months before she joined the Supreme Court — Mwilu allegedly bought a parcel of land LR3734/1129 from Mutunga and Company, a firm associated with ex-CJ Willy Mutunga, for Sh2.8 million.

However, hardly two months after the purchase, the judge received Sh75 million from Forest Japan Hospital and 74 million from an unknown entity, allegedly from the sale of the same piece of land.

"Theoretically, this imply that the subject bought the property at the price of Sh2.8 million on 16/3/2016 from Justice Mutunga’s company and sold it at a price of Sh75 million to Forest Japan Hospital and Sh74 million to another unknown entity," documents by DCI detectives read.

According to the analysis of the bank transactions, Mwilu paid Sh15 million to Kibwezi West MP Patrick Musimba in 2013, which she told detectives was a refund for failed purchase.

However, detectives noted that there was no evidence of any payment from the MP to Justice Mwilu.

At around the same time, Musimba’s election had been nullified by Justice Majanja following a petition by former lawmaker Kalembe Ndile.

Also flagged are tranches of six payments totaling Sh86 million to Lucy Muthoni Magelo, wife to ex-Nairobi Speaker Alex Ole Magelo.

This was allegedly paid for purchase of property in Lavington.

However, investigators say the property description, including LR numbers, was not provided.

During the same time, there were other cash and cheque deposits into Mwilu’s accounts totaling Sh95.6 million.

There was also a deposit of Sh40 million from a firm identified as Raei Investments Ltd.

She, however, paid Sh56 million to Waruhiu and Company Advocates and 35 million to Imperial Bank.

The top judge operates six banks accounts, two at Standard Chartered Bank, another two at CFC Stanbic, one at Kenya Commercial Bank and the other at Commercial Bank of Africa.

In a painstaking probe of the country’s second most powerful judge, the detectives combed through details at Kenya Power and Nairobi Water and Sewerage Company to get details of Mwilu’s properties.

The DCJ is said to have failed to file her tax returns in 2016.

“Some of the identified assets were also under-declared in the subsequent tax returns,” the detectives said.

Details from the investigators indicate that Mwilu applied for a Sh80 million loan from Imperial Bank, now under receivership, on August 15, 2013.

The loan was approved within one week, without Mwilu having an account with the bank.

But on September 6, 2013, a savings account in the name of A1 c/o Sweet Soil was created and one month later Sh12 million was internally wired into the account.

On November 11, 2014, another Sh10 million was deposited by bank staff to Mwilu’s account, which detectives described as mysterious and in total disregard of bank procedures.

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2018/09/04/police-track-dcj-mwilus-money-trail-accounts-show-suspicious-deals_c1812792

when it rains, it pours!

Kuna mtu hapa alisema kama state inataka uende, please negotiate your way out pole pole without much fuss. No way you can fight the state and win when they can tap your car, home, phone etc etc and threaten your friends and relatives.

Lakini sijui Wakamba ni nini huwasumbua. Remember the deputy IG who also refused to be sacked eti ako na constitutional protection? Alikuta office yake pale Vigilance House with a new padlock. Entry at the gate barred. Gun withdrawn. Official car withdrawn. Kila kitu gone, and worse, the people doing it are your own friends you’ve worked with for 30 years…Alitii mos mos na kwenda kulima Kangundo akidance waathi wa Mukamba…

Hata huyu atatii…

when will people learn to hide their paper trail

Wueh! I am a pauper. Let me work smarter…

huyo mama anapigania nini? with all those millions she should retire to Bali and find a nice African boy to service her as she waits to die

she does not appear to take her physical appearance seriously

Do we have a data protection laws/ regulations in Kenya?

We give so much information to institutions meant to provide services to us.
Would it be fair to use the same info against me? e.g MPESA, air travel bookings,
hotels where i have slept, Kenya Power, NWSC, etc.

Her position made her feel invincible, such details are shocking to the judiciary. No one feels safe there.
Those charges sound very civil, but once the details start to be heard, ndio atashanga. Sasa MP fulani yuko mpangoni, from nowhere.

Where do we have that in criminal proceedings

if i were to hold a talk with the DCJ....... - News & Politics - Kenya Talk

Let her negotiate for her retirement package, and possibility of holding a public office in furure

They become used to impunity. Also as they get more money, they start feeling invincible, that they can buy their way out. That nobody will see how impossible their transactions are.

The scheme seems to be: buy a cheap plot somewhere, then get someone or a skeletal company to deposit your corruption proceeds into your account and record it as proceeds from sale of the cheap plot that you had bought a few months back

She knows she is guilty. Lakini these 32 odm MP’s are paper lawyer tigers. They wrote an affidavit statement of 120 pages that reads like the infamous opposition conspiracy theories of last elections on why she is being targeted rather than giving counter arguments on her charges. No wonder none of them couldn’t even notice a simple thing like case numbers on the charge sheet.

Shida yake kubwa ni vile hajui kucheza chini ya maji…
Should we blame it on lack of water ukambani?

When will judges stop selling justice?

As a normal struggling Kenyan I ask myself: Would I get justice in Mwilu’s court if I ever had a case…and the answer is ….jijaziee

When the state wants you out… there is nothing you can do. You simply “Thank the president for allowing me this wonderful opportunity to serve under him and I am ready to work in any other capacity he may wish. God bless the president and Kenya”… and you leave.

I mean look at all these things being thrown at her. The figures here are massive but there is even one case where she didnt pay ati kshs 58000 tax for a property somewhere! When the state wants you, they will have you for breakfast, lunch and supper!

Huyu mama ni mkora

The other problem is that she has publicly declared that it’s Uhuru Kenyatta who is behind her removal.
Meaning that, She is aiming at scoring against the President . She wanna go to the history books as the lady who slayed impunity at Statehouse. Atawesa kweli ?

inaitwa Money Power Respect… first you amass and accumulate money… you realize you still aint happy… you therefore seek power… once you get it you realize its not fulfilling enough… you now go to the last phase which is get respect. Without achieving those huwezi tulia utakua unawashwa washwa