Music: Swing and Elecro Swing

If you have read Malcolm X’s biography “M” then you have probably come across the phrase “Lindy Hop”. Lindy Hop is a form of dance that developed in the 1920’s around Harlem that involves rigorous animated movements sometimes done solo or with a partner.( If you haven’t read the book, you should read it… or watch the movie.) The dance has Africa emended deep in it’s DNA and was accompanied by a variation of upbeat Jazz known as the SWING with guys dressed Zoot Suits and the women in short skirts and low-white sneakers. Kuna hii ngoma ya Collo na Alfayo Miguel “Msichana High class” samples Swing music and uses clips from some movie I don’t know which… Pia kama ulikua unaangalia Tom and Jerry na @TopCat umeshasikia swing mara nyingi sana.

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2013/12/4/1386183506965/Jitterbug-or-Lindy-Hop-001.jpg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OapkoQEzQS0

Scene from the movie Malcolm X demonstrating The Lindy Hop and swing music. Notice the funny the Joker suits… those are Zoot Suits that were in fashion back then. The ones in old time gangster movies.

Msichana High-class ya Collo na Alfayo Miguel

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaMrYqUvqjE

Anyway, I got introduced into this music a couple of weeks na nimependa sana. Here are some of my favorites…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYhIgT8YIrk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I36lo4zQZHU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FALYmqt-7TQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Yu8j8pPArA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTIP_FOdq24

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djZCe7ou3kY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIMg8an9Erg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-r6OK701UQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpmOTGungnA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osTu38yuuHo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lN9DcEEBc6Y

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1Nl5IwY4Yg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UaxDNIS5Ys

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YA_8ynN7W0E

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5OIChhLEQU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKcN0wrCRiE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGbW44AEHeM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHCgp-jA8SY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjZuMLXytOQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TEWuZ0QBvlo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8Wx80TZ8OQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3XEd0IY4dzg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFWa50ee264

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5iabyEebfCc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGEHfoVBp_U

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1_BPn7TN1Q

MIXES
http://freebreaksblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/electro-swing-roundup.jpg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwWT43Eb3IM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nhp6ULk7mE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CS9GBCMLFEg

Not bad but I won’t listen to them twice apart from collo’s.

This series of threads are about music discovery… not liking… if you listen to even one of them… that closes the day.

I’m sure I’d say the same about looking at your face if we met.

I know

You said you liked then and have favourites right?

Shouldn’t I also offer my opinion?

Let’s not get personal it’s about the music.

To me yeah… there are favourites… but I don’t expect anything from others… just discover, comment and go.

Opinion yako binafsi ndio sitaki peleka sokoni ukapimie watu kwa kilo uone utauza ngapi.

Utaniban ama uchange password yangu?

Sawa madam siko hapa kujibizana nawe.

Madam ni wewe na tumbili za kwenyu.

Na uwache kunichafulia thread, bana.

He he!

Hii wacha ni bet over 2.5…

Thanks man for the mixes… good for weekend background music

Those days people really knew how to shake a leg and have a good time… No wonder less cases of obesity, dance like this for three nights a week…

Try that in the typical nairobi pub and see how fast you’ll be bundled out by the bouncers :expressionless:

Lindy hop beginner lessons:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=um0VleA8jRE