Have always wanted to learn to play an instrument, ideally a piano, or violin…has anyone been to these music schools and how much is the average cost?
enda Wynton House of Music Yaya center lakini costs sijui used to vibe a music teacher hapo
also have some vested interests so following keenly
Wynton have other branches as well. There’s one in village market and mountain mall.
There is also Sonata School of Music and Kamata Music School in westlands.
But as an adult I would recommend you either get a private tutor or go to the Kenya Conservatoire of Music hapo national theatre.
average costs come up to about 700/- per 30mins in most of the schools
Wynton have exams ama nimeona zangu? Nitapitia Yaya baadaye
I am not well versed with the nitty grittys iza
It depends on what you want to learn exactly. If you want to just learn to play and instrument for your own enjoyment, you can go for lesson after lesson with no exam. Otherwise you will do the ABRSM exams…those ones of level 1 - 8
Do conservatoire teach, looks like they are more of professional orchaestra? Where do I get a private tutor?
Yes they teach. Although their teaching is more in line toward the professional line, meaning to do the exams. You can however find private tutors there.
What instrument do you want to learn?
Will enquire about those exams, though want it for personal enjoyment
Piano, then violin or drums
You are ambitious. For piano and violin you will need to practice constantly so you need to own the instruments at home.
Check at sarit centre advert boards. Tutors usually put up their contacts there.
If its for personal enjoyment nunua instruments na ung’ang’ane na youtube na google. It also depends on what you want to play. Conservatoire will teach you classical alafu ile siku unaneda kujam na watu hauna idea how to play anything else
hii ni fisi… it is looking to “hire” a female tutor as well… ingekua kush youtube would have been fine
if you learn to play classical you will play anything. They teach you how to play the instrument, read and write sheet music.
Biggest lie ever. I learnt how to play classical first and I had to relearn everything so I can play jazz. Read and writing sheet music doesn’t mean one can play by ear or improvise, infact, it’s sort of limiting.
Doesnt it just mean you are poor at improvising? coz that’s really what jazz is all about (as far as i can tell). If you know how to play in different scales, understand pitch and even if an instrument is in tune, you should be better off at playing things both “rigidly” like classical and “loosely” like jazz.
I know guys who play conservertoire orchestra and they have seen them jam loosely when together.
Following…
That assumption you’ve made is quite common. Jamming with say rock is easy considering I can play root position triads on guitar, keyboard will do the same and bassist the same then someone else improvising over the chords. With jazz, a guitarist or pianist will have to play chords with the root and 5th of a chord ommitted and emphasis placed on the 3rd, 7th, 9th, 11th and 13th (classical doesn’t go above the octave) or play altered chords. For one to improvise over altered chords, one has to learn the scale behind the chord and it’s modes (7 of them) so that one can change the mood and feel of the song with every bar if they choose to and also some scales complement each other one can improvise over one scale using notes of another scale. Knowing your scales does not translate into I can improvise especially where modal jazz is involved, one has to know all the chords in the song, whether there are modulations, know it’s strong notes and how/where the chords intersect to allow a cross over between chords without pausing when changing over.