Mother seeks justice for son killed in crash on January 1

Ctrl C + Ctrl V

The mother of one of the victims of Friday’s dawn collision on the Nakuru-Eldoret highway wants police to arrest people who sold alcohol to the teenage boys.

Ms Emily Wanjiru said her son, Bill Kamau, was only 17 and had not attained the legal drinking age.

She said Kamau told her he would be attending night prayers at a church on the eve of the new year with four friends: Brian Kariuki (17), Derick Mbugua (18), Kevin Kamaru (19) and Dominic Mwangi (17).

“I blame the person who sold alcohol to the boys,” Ms Wanjiru said when the Nation visited her home in Kiti Estate. Nakuru Town on Sunday.
She said Kamau declined to be driven to church in the family car, insisting that he was safe with his friends.

“He told me he was going for a ‘Kesha’ in a nearby church with three of his friends and I gave him Sh100,” she said.

The bodies of the five boys were taken to Nakuru County mortuary.

“I had big plans for Bill. My son would be sitting his Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education examination this year. I had taken him to the best schools,” Ms Wanjiru added.

FATAL CRASH

County Police Commander Hassan Barua said investigations to establish the cause and events leading to the fatal crash had started.

Source: Daily Nation, 4th Jan 2016

Wazazi tulee watoto wetu. The world out there is unforgiving. Sasa huyu mama anafikiria kuna MTU anajali kuwa mtoto wake was a dick in life. Always blaming everyone but ourselves.

16 Likes

Huyu mama angetulia na aomboleze pole pole tuu. Waswahili walinena, “asie funzwa na mamae, hufunzwa na ulimwengu.”
She ‘failed’ as a mother na dunia siku zote huwa haina huruma.

there is two over age boys in the group so who ever sold the drinks sold it legally…but the choice of taking alcohol is a moral one. I doubt her story that she gave the kid sh100 kwani alikuwa naenda kinyozi.

13 Likes

Wanjiru yr son was in the company of young adults i.e a 19 and 18y.old . Hao ndio walitoa ID wakauziwa pombe so STFU zika boy wako, panua them toothpick legs and let yr husband DF u pengine utabahatika uzae mboy mwingine. Schoopit

aomboleze polepole …,

huyo mama ni mjinga sana. Bill was in the company of an 18 year old who may have bought the drinks. She should look in the mirror and stare aat the person to blame. a 17 year old overides your decision on going for kesha? bure kabisa.

She is in denial.

apeleke denial-------------77ukooo au------->……………………} ukoooo.
You tell a high school kid get in the family car we arr going for kesha as a family, the brat says no mummy I’m goin to an unnamed church with my buddies; alafu unamchotea doh na kumwambia sawa baba na utuombeee. Gerrarahia! peleka hio machozi mbali. serekali haisaidii

If indeed somebody sold alcohol to him awekwe ndani

Ksh 100 could be used in a number of positive ways incase of an emergency.

okay someone is also in Denial

It’s sad and unfortunate that parents still fall for that ‘I am going to church’ lie

I read that story in the DN and almost punched the wall in frustration. Yaani this woman sees blame everywhere except in herself.

1. She did not keep tabs on a 17-year old AT NIGHT.

2. She allows a minor to override her decisions.

3. She gives him money that is not accounted for.

ETC, ETC. But she says that the cops, somehow, should have stopped her son from drinking alcohol. Somehow.

I first drank alcohol when I was 20 BECAUSE MY POOR ASS WOULD HAVE BEEN SKINNED AND FED TO THE DOGS IF MAMA HAD FOUND OUT. WHY? SHE WAS WORSE THAN ISIS, AND THAT’S WHY I’VE GOT TO BE 65.

Two years ago, I lost a half-bro, an only child, because his matha (my step-mum) thought he was God’s egg-shell gift to the world. Well, he got drunk and rolled in her car and died.

He was 24.

A Kababa.

Please, please young parents, don’t spare the rod and spoil the child. Just beat the crap out of them - that way we may avoid some of this tragedies.

Why are folks here being so judgmental as if you have always followed to the letter all that your parents wished you to do. You have never lied to your parents about where you are going, spent the night, who you were with, what you did or engaged in?
You have all of a sudden become very moralistic, your mothers have all along known when you are Dfing maids, cousins and neighbourhood girls.
And I can safely conclude you started taking alcohol with the full knowledge and blessings from your mothers.
Am deliberately keeping off the fathers, since the father isn’t mentioned in this story.
Is that it?

my sentiments exactly, people here are speaking as though their parents know everything they did since they were born, how do you know that the boy wasn’t a very well behaved boy and one who had more often than not been a responsible decision maker and this eventful night happened to be one of the few times he made a stupid decision? Get off your high horses

@Mathaais, I disagree. Kids will always do kid stuff and try to outsmart their guardians, now and during Aristotle’s time.

Trouble is, nowadays many parents do not acknowledge that their brats can be a danger to themselves and to others.They blame everybody else - the gava, teachers etc etc when their children screw up. Everybody but themselves and their brats.

That was my point.

Then the parent should simply agree that her son did a stupid thing and move on, not blame the police, the bar owners, the road designers, the darkness and everything between here and Jupiter for the accident.

@Mathaais you can’t argue with that man he’s perfect and authoritarian.

There are many instances in my life I have barely escaped with my life after engaging in risky escapades. Many of them when my folks would be imagining that am safely tucked in bed.
If anything had happened, I would hate anyone to blame my grieving mum for my irresponsibility.
And since she wouldn’t know how cunning or how much I went out of the way to outwit her, she would be right to blame others for my demise.
You would be forgiven to think most of you were never teenagers or haven’t brought up one.

@Mathaais, let’s put matters in perspective. When you sneak out the back window to ferk the neibahood gal, that’s ok in my book.

When, at 17, you somehow manage to get a car and drive 100km (or thereabouts) one way from home, there’s something gone badly wrong with parenting.

AND MY KEY POINT HERE IS, THE MATHA IS NOT ADMITTING HER SON FERKED UP.