Most Underrated Benefit of Being an Entrepreneur

FLEXIBILITY

Sometimes I hang out with my friends on the weekends. They are highly skilled employees and I can say that we probably earn around the same income. However, I notice that I have a big edge over them because despite having similar incomes, my schedule is extremely flexible unlike theirs. So, its almost impossible for them to have a work-life balance which to me is very important.

Employees work in shifts generally or 9-5. So they must be at a specific place or doing a specific activity at a specific time. As a business owner, I can decide to show up late for work to avoid the morning traffic jam, and to also stay late as I look at the books (as long as you have a right hand man/employee). The employees (9-5 guys) must endure such inconveniences. On average, I probably work more hours than a typical employee. However, the flexibility more than makes up for the difference. Provided I have employees, I can decide to leave and go to the gym when it is least crowded. A 9-5 employee can only dream of such. Sometimes I’m pumped on Sundays and work all day and I can be bummed on a random Tuesday and not show up. That’s a level of flexibility employees can never have because employers own their time. Make no mistake, you still need to keep your eye on the ball and show up on most days, but your schedule as an employer is extremely flexible.

This does not apply for self-employed people. You enjoy the benefit of flexibility only when you have a trustworthy person to run the business (TEMPORARILY) in your absence, and you understand it like the back of your hand.

4 Likes