I was raised in Mombasa mainland, spent my childhood here, and left after high school. I haven’t been back to my old hood ever since, mostly because I hate the weather. I have been checking around, and to my shock, practically nothing has changed. Almost all business establishments I left are still around, down to the small ones selling mhogo or mshikaki. Apart from the mushrooming car yards, I have seen very little new businesses or innovation. But it is also impressive that most businesses I left are still present for like 10 years now.
I have about 5 colleagues working here who are all desperate to leave and go back to bara(they all started working in Nai). Such a shame, in most countries a city on the ocean huwa hot cake to work in, but Mombasa seems to be stagnant.
Mombasa should be a rich port city like Singapore. It should have eclipsed Nairobi.
A combination of high humidity and high temperatures weaken the body and the mind that is why all tropical islands are full of stupid lethargic people kama muikamba mujinga @chap
Singapore?
There are a few exceptions. Are the han chinese native Singaporeans?
Mombasa sucks… unless you are by the beach sippin cold brew. Ukimaliza kunyadi umesweat nikama umekimbia 7kms, saa hio AC iko full blast.
Most of what you are saying is fairly true. Mombasa has changed little in the last 20 years, and if anything it has become more desolate, trashy and a at best described as sprawling shanty town. Most things have been ran down including the once sparkly and rustic beach hotels. No one maintains anything and the weather eats everything. Buildings that are 5 years old look like they were build in the era as Fort Jesus. Speaking of the weather, Mombasa would not make it to the top 10 most humid cities in the world, heck even Tokyo can be more humid than Mombasa in mid summer. The predicaments of Mombasa and specifically coast region can be traced back to the fact the coast has consistently elected alliterate idiots since independence to lead them to oblivion . What a mess.
I’ve spent a third of my life in Mombasa na sijai jua public toilets huwa wapi
Forrowing.
Mombasa will never move forward due to
- Luck of new ideas. Mainly, Mombasa people never leave the coast, or intermarry that way like bara people.
-
Luck of titles - Most of the coast has a title issue which makes money not change hands as easily hence land locks capital. Huezi chukua loan na zero title land.
3. Culture - Uswahili mingi pia is a drain. Kama hupati vile nasema hapa just live there you will get. - JOHOISM - This means that all major decisions are very centralized (Mostly around some illiterate Joho like leader), Its stems from uswahili wa mzee atakuja kusema. If you want to dig a small place to put even a waste water pipe, or fibre connection, dont bother asking county for barua ya kuchimba. Your kids will grow old waiting for that approval, of course unless yopu know ’ that Joho’ personaly na umchotee. Solution Chimba weekend na usiku kanjo wakienda home.
What is mshikaki? Ukilewa usitaipu kaka. Unaniskia ndogo?
Yaani kutoka chekechea mpaka kidato cha nne hamukufunzwa neno “lack”? Hata msee alikupea the fake degree kule river road hakukwambia you lack the qualifications to hold the paper alikupea?
Hiyo shanty town imejaa tuktuks everywhere banae.
He lacks a degree but he is in luck that River Road exists to cover up his lack of a degree with a fake degree, for in River Road you don’t need luck because there is no lack of degree printers
what are you talking about?
Still dont gerrit, bora point iko home
Mwana wa mbwa koko wewe. Kumanina zako. Which point? Wewe point ikakudunga matako usiku mzima utajua kweli ni point ilikuwa inakufura.
If that was you, ungesema omuafrika is easily distracted by shiny things.
Na nimefukuza 2 employees jana juu ya kuiba iba bila mpango. The were racking trustworthiness… niko na kazi kama uko msa