The failure to meet the debt payments will not be due to the port project, but due to the economy as a whole. The port project may be a decent idea, the economics are difficult.
And actually amazingly, it may be a good idea to let the Chinese take over the port. We may see some other development projects that way.
Here is an excerpt of a study what happened in Sri-Lanka:
"[I][B]Steep payments[/B][/I] on international sovereign bonds, which comprised nearly 40 percent of the country’s external debt, put Sirisena’s government in dire fiscal straits almost immediately. When Sirisena took office, Sri Lanka owed more to Japan, the World Bank, and the Asian Development Bank than to China. Of the $4.5 billion in debt service Sri Lanka would pay in 2017, only 5 percent was because of Hambantota. The Central Bank governors under both Rajapaksa and Sirisena do not agree on much, but they both told us that Hambantota, and Chinese finance in general, was not the source of the country’s financial distress.
There was also never a default. Colombo arranged a bailout from the International Monetary Fund, and decided to raise much-needed dollars by leasing out the underperforming Hambantota Port to an experienced company—just as the Canadians had recommended".
that will be their decision .Hata Qing Dynasty walinyanganywa Hong Kong na hakuna kitu walifanya and the British returned it ikiwa a modern thriving city .
Wachukue Mombasa yote waifanye kama Shenzen
Hata Boko Haram walianza hivi unasema. The locals felt there is an invader on their land and their govt doesn’t care about them.
Wataanza na ku kidnap Chinese mmoja mmoja wanamchapa mapanga as a message to tell them to leave. Wakiona that doesn’t work they move to more advanced methods. Before you know it there will be militias all over the place trying to remove the invader.
And Hong Kong is different. It was largely controlled by locals. And as you can see the Hong Kongers don’t like how mainland China conducts business. It says a lot.
More Lmao …Si usome tu historia kidogo .Hong Kong was firmly under British control and all the people in charge were whites .Hong Kong people unaona wakijifanya how they love the UK didnt even have the right to vote .
The Hong Kong situation like I said was different. On one hand wangeleta kichwa the British would’ve left in the 1960s, given them independence and the locals would’ve been left at the mercy of Chairman Mao who was butchering mainland Chinese proper. So…
Kwani huelewi the U.K was playing the role of a bodyguard against a very determined and vehemant CCP?
How do you hold elections in a state where China is trying to sabotage and field CCP candidates and bring in communist influence? This was the cold war era. There was no backing down to China or negotiating with China.
Hong Kongers were caught between a rock and a hard place. They still are.