Mombasa International Mall

Those who said their too many mall in Nairobi and it should now move to the counties, have their wishes come true.
http://i.imgur.com/Q9GULop.jpg

http://www.dlrgroup.com/work/international-mall-ltd-mombasa/

The external appearance is clean and modern, with Swahili The International Mall in Mombasa honors the Swahili architectural heritage of the East African coast, and local artisan skills. To this end, DLR Group has asked Urko Sanchez, a Swahili design expert, to assist in the composition of the spaces and facades. The layout of the retail center is fashioned after the Islamic tradition of souks rather than western malls,influences and cladding of a locally-quarried coral. The courtyards feature more ornate Swahili designs. To bolster local engagement and employment, the office building features a Swahili-influenced, timber, solar-shading envelope that is built in small sections by the neighbors themselves and merely assembled by the general contractor. The design and layout further embraces diversity of clientele - including a local community of Christian and Muslim neighbors as well as visiting business people from other parts of Kenya and the world - all of whom the mall will cater to without impeding the enjoyment of each other.

The development is directly adjacent to the Mombasa International Airport and will serve as a gateway for business travelers; supporting and enhancing the retail offer for the adjacent community. The overall development is about 350,000 square feet. The retail offer is 200,000 square feet with a food anchor and three distinct shopping zones for women and children, men, and finally families and business tourists. In addition to shops there are a series of food and beverage offers as well as healthcare and banking opportunities. The business visitors are provided with a 130 key, 3-star business hotel that has conference facilities. It also shares a swimming pool with a commercial fitness center. The last component is a naturally-ventilated 55,000 square foot office building over seven stories with one level dedicated to a local higher education satellite “campus”. DLR Group is providing planning, architecture, and engineering services in conjunction with our local partner firm for our client International Malls Ltd.
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4211/35089432420_9c98e71b0f_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4239/35089432500_09a787dd19_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4259/35089432590_881ab6abbf_b.jpg

Site Plan
image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4236/35089432650_526309492a_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4232/35089432680_3ab7b0f83b_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4261/35475997175_f94a2cd4f7_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4238/35089432870_7a19b9853f_b.jpg

Architecture
image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4281/35089432930_8062de73fb_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4211/35089433030_ef4c2517c0_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4278/35089433050_858c0c8940_b.jpg

Proposed Hotel Design
image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4288/35436041996_d733924875_b.jpg

Office Design Sources
image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4237/35089433690_3dc702ec68_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4206/35475997805_5a06e168c9_b.jpg

Retail Design Options
image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4230/35089434050_48dc7107b3_b.jpg

image hosted on flickr
http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4290/35089434140_17ac98f97b_b.jpg
Pretty decent design plan. Whether or not this is built, I wish large projects in this country would in this effort.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=2008861

Wakina nakumat na tuskys malls uko nyali bado wana struggle kupata customers…sasa nashaga hi mall ita wesa kweli???

Is this a Chupilee project?

xxn9.com

DL = David Langat
R = Ruto
Group

Ni hayo tu kwa sasa :rolleyes::eek:

Money laundering manenos ,hio inaitwa layering process .

Are they sure about the site?

Langat again. waah

I didn’t know they are friends again since the fallout in 2014 as he failed to get SGR project and blamed DP Uncle Ruto for not pushing it to him.

I can’t tell, this info is straight from their site I posted there. What’s your take on it?

Tru…Money Laundering

Magongo/Bokole is a very rough neighbourhood. Not sure anyone would want to chuck out lots of money for any residential property hapo. Again, unless something drastic is done about kibarani, the epic traffic jams are also a put off. @Meria Mata toa maoni

Thank you, I didn’t know that first hand local perception. Sasa kazi kwao, I wish them all the best. I remember before Nakumatt Junction was built in Dagoretti Corner, the place was full of street kids at that roundabout. It was a no go area by 7pm.

I hate being a pessimist but this mall seems to be a flop even before its construction. Unless your clients will be primarily from the airport and sgr, the local population hapo ni wa kibandasku

Very true.

OK, let’s hope then that the hotel and office park do well.

mombasa is opening up guys…roads are being expanded, there is an economic free zone and free port planned on the dongo kundu area. i believe it is a viable project considering all developments happening now in that area.

I hold a divergent opinion.
This kind of a project will not be completed in a year or two. Definitely it will take a longer time to complete and with the current infrastructure developments in Mombasa West (SGR, KPA berth 19, Super highway, etc), the region is slowly changing to commercial. A current look at Kibarani area there is a lot of reclamation going on with office buildings coming up. Therefore, this mall will benefit from businesses seeking to move closer to the new facilities i.e. KPA berth 19, SGR et al. Is the move strategic? Only time will tell.

Only time will really tell, you can imagine guys book hotels in Mombasa due to the beach factor. But tuko tu hii town, Mwenyezi Mungu akitupa miaka tutaona mambo yatakayo kua

Inshalaah