Naweza pewa 200M nijenge a 5* hotel pale Nanyuki so I can compete with mzito Humphrey Kariuki?
Wazito mnaonaje hii idea? Boutique hotel. Sio zile motels za town. Lush greenery, impeccable architecture (old English ama French design) Nianze na 20 rooms with very bespoke finishing alafu niende bank. Goal would be to get to 100 rooms. Bar and restaurant I can outsource to an independent restauranteer to provide food services. Management I can hire ama ikinishinda I get the many hotel managers trying to break into the Kenyan market (Marriott, Hilton….?). Dream kubwa sio mbaya. I think I can do this.
There’s only one very nice hotel in Nanyuki (iyo Fairmont Mt. Kenya Club). That area has a lot of tourists streaming in year over year. Inspiration nilipata from this hotel in Meru: https://www.albahotels.co.ke/
After hesabu zangu nikaona more millions can be minted in hospitality than apartment rentals. Thoughts?
Do you know Nanyuki well? Do you know the many small boutique establishments there, some accessible by plane only? And only jungus and local oligarchs have access?
Clearly I know it better than you. I didn’t say a SMALL boutique hotel accessible to only jungus. I meant a 100+ units boutique hotel accessible to anyone who can pay $150 a night minimum.
You probably thought boutique means small. No. It just means independently run. I have no interest in setting up a villa to house 8 people . I’m talking about a luxury boutique hotel.
A good idea but you are targeting the wrong market. First the market is saturated already by such vibandas chasing the ever shrinking Kenyan middle class. Kisha That idea imepitwa na wakati. No one is going to shell out 20k for a night in some hotel when kuna Airbnb going for a fraction in the vicinity
The vibandas you speak of (holiday villas and Airbnbs) are the ones that are saturated. 5* type of hotels like the Fairmont Mt. Kenya Club, Fairmont Norfolk, Hemingways etc are not saturated especially in Nanyuki.
What I’ve been seeing are villas (very nicely built houses with nice sunsets) on Airbnb housing 4-8 people, small resorts that could pass as just ordinary places. It looks like you don’t understand my question. I’m talking about a high end luxury hotel.
Which other high-end luxury hotel that has more than 50 rooms is based in Nanyuki? It’s only one (the Fairmont Mt. Kenya club). I don’t know anyone else offering a similar product. They’re all doing airbnbs in nice villas (I admit) and small resorts.
The selling-point of a high-end hotel is impeccable accommodation with room service, top-tier food and drinks offerings, a concierge, safety and security etc etc.
High end offerings continue to make insane profits given that these people would rather spend 20k a night for a few days and call it a staycation. Asking them for that every month (like rent) is when it becomes unaffordable.
Once in a while, even a broke kikuyu uncle will save enough and take the family to a nice luxury hotel.
I actually just want to gather different opinions so yours counts as well.
The other alternative is rental apartments but those are in plenty. Nobody seems to want to run a real business like a high end hotel so I’m just trying to see why.
Am seeing many of those old money hotels shutting down ni kama hakuna biz sijui mbona ama ni tastes changing Intercontinental, Kericho golf hotel, Hilton, Sirikwa etc
At the same time kuna new ones coming up like Hyatt, Hemingways, Isaac Walton so it’s a mixed bag. But I imagine before building such lazima ufanye your market research yaani engage experts
Gui. Every few days uko na new idea unataka advice. Its time to stop dreaming and start working. This is your 20th thread asking for investment advice na ulijoin platform juzi.
It has to be something spectacular that can bamboozle wazungus like those Dubai hotels unapata spacious rooms ziko na jacuzzi, 2 bathrooms, high end designer shampoos etc. Watch a few vids of Walk with me Tim on you tube upate ideas of rooms but first I would talk to akina Marriot etc before building if you are not interested in running it.
Bankruptcy 101. I would encourage you to sell ice to an Eskimo. Fairmont is a shitty hotel compared to some unseen places . @Dudu1 knows what they are talking about ; I have been to hotels in the bush that are only accessible by plane even locals don’t know they exist unless they work there . Places near Mukima Ridge thousands of acres with airstrips , conservancies with game safaris , hunting etc . Humphrey is not running Fairmont to make money, it’s a front for many things I won’t mention.
Listen LGBTQ homochieth: we’re not all boomers like you. We’re young and we will ask questions about every little investment idea in our head whether you like it or not. I’ll even ask about what it takes to build a rocket and send it to space. Makende wewe.