Mlengo MATATU'S

If you are traveling long distances please avoid mlengo matatus. Go to the terminus and book or board a matatu or bus that will leave point A to point B without stopping in between to collect or drop passengers.
That way you will have saved valuable time. These mlengo matatus may deceive you with their cheap fares but at the long run it’s your time that will get wasted.
I learned this the hard way when I was enticed by these matatus in 2005 as I was going to Nairobi from Karatina. It was in the morning around 8:00 am and I wanted to get to Nairobi then back to Karatina same day.

That did not happen.

Normally, fare to Nairobi was 200 but I fell into their trap when they announced that they would charge me 150. I bit hook bait and sinker.
Immediately after I boarded they asked for the money and I paid. Then the agony started.
At jambo they took the kiamwangi road up to kiarithaine and picked a passenger.
They diverted towards kerugoya and took panya routes,emerging at kibirigwi.
I love sleeping in matatus but that day I couldn’t sleep even small.
At kibirigwi 4 passengers alighted and we waited for others to board.
“Nairobi na jiani." The makanga shouted himself hoarse, his adams apple going up and down his tired neck.
We moved after twenty minutes only to station again at sagana for 10 minutes. Some people had alighted and we only moved after Kanju became a nuisance.
And its us those until we stationed again at makutano.
While there I regretted my decision as I could see matatus, genuine ones from Karatina terminus speeding to Nairobi as we “stood” there like burukenges.
I could see the conductor eating Maembe 200 meters from the matatu,obviously not in a hurry and not caring about the time wastage.
At 12:00 noon we left makutano with the matatu half full. It was going to pick a passenger who had called them at mananja.
I was now angry and unwilling to engage them.
At mananja we could see the customer who had called still at her home across the ridge in the mango plantations.
Let us wait,and wait,and wait as she came slowly. When she arrived she announced that she had forgotten something and she had to go back for it then she went even slowly, kwa kipooole.
I wept.
30 minutes later we took off and at that juncture I realized that I wasn’t going to make it back from Nairobi that same day.
At makuyu I realized my true value when the matatu announced that it wasn’t going past there and they sold me to another mlengo matatu for 50 shillings. Weeee,reke gwire, I arrived at Nairobi two hours later.

Avoid mlengo my frens. Board matatus/buses from reputable Sacco’s.

“And its us those until we stationed again at makutano”

“Let us wait,and wait,and wait as she came slowly”

:D:D Hekaya timam

Hii hekaya ni ya Wanjohi Kigogoini

That line even if it was written in hebrew or jewish language… Not for kaos

Very common with Ugandan taxis hahaa they wait someone to come from the house…

Natambua hiyo story. Za mlengo ni poa kama hutaki kwenda tao ndio uchukue express one