Mitsubishi GDi Are The Worst Engines

Mitsubishi Pajero was a status symbol in the early 1990s. This together with the Isuzu Trooper were the vehicles of choice for wealthy niggers since Land-rover Defender 110 was mostly used by the GoK.
[ATTACH=full]284974[/ATTACH]

Later on Mitsubishi installed EFi engines on Pajeros and life has never been the same again. That engine is a nightmare once it undergoes an overhaul. You will have to get used to smoke and leaks. Also in Kenya we don’t have the Petrol/Gasoline with the correct Octane rating as recommended by Mitsubishi. Unleaded gasoline typically has octane ratings of 87 (regular), 88–90 (midgrade), and 91–94 (premium). Hapa Kenya everything is fake.
[ATTACH=full]284965[/ATTACH].
Mitsubishi Galant was another sexy car but it is pure pain after engine overhaul.

Wrong category…

That engine is just fine nyinyi ndio mnaeka mafuta mbaya. That engine was not meant to be sold here in Africa where petrol standards are not meeting international standards.

Ile mafuta mnanunua shell na total hapa kenya ni adulterated fuel huko majuu. Ile mafuta mnasema ni adulterated fuel hapa kenya ndio best quality huko Congo

Wewe na Ndindu mtasema nini Dangote akifungua refinery yake yenye inatengeneza international standard fuel? Mafuta ya dangote itakuwa safi even up to European standards na refinery yenyewe itaproduce 650,000 bpd. So endeleeni kuimba ile wimbo yenu ati Waafrika ni bonobo.

Yaani mafuta ya shell ni mbaya?

@GERALD9949 the pump attendant alisema ati Kenya’s oil is the top of the line. Finest refined crude. Na ati huwa inaongezwa detergent… yes detergent… ndio itoe foam na ioshe engine.

the only reason inbreds like you claim that the GDI is the worst engine is because you are a toyota diehard… and your mechanics are the spanner and apron full of oil types

Shell V power has a higher octane rating -95 or more as compared to the other premium -93. In the UK BP have Ultimate @98 Octane minimum and V-Power is 99 0ctane …Regular 95.

in the uk, what you call v power in kenya can be called adulterated fuel here
what you call regular in kenya is v power in congo

what am saying is, shell and total give the highest octane levels in kenya
which are very low levels of octane in europe

reason why direct injection german and korean vehicles do well for the first 8 years then get imported to kenya and the german machines start having unending problems

If you lived from way back in the 80s and 90s you could recal kulikua na ingine ilikua inaitwa regular. I remember my dad used super in a toyota KE70 and regular in a landrover 110. That regular had an octane rating of around 87.

If you peruse in your vehicle detailed manual, you can get your recommended fuel rating. It could just be written as Gasoline 95 or gasoline A 93 etc.

So whats Octane rating? This is a measure of how stable a fuel can withstand compression before it self ignites (without a flame being thrown at it eg by a spark plug)

Also note that if we say octane rating of 93 we dont mean that the fuel has any octane in it. Its a RATING

So why are fuels of certain ratings recommended?
First, you recal how a gasoline engine works…
Air and gasoline mixture is taken into a cylinder, the valves shut tight, the piston starts compressing the mix, all the way to TDC (last point before it reverses its motion). Now at TDC or just shortly before that, the spark plug is synchronized to spark - throw a flame to the mixture and ignite it. But we all know petrol. What if it ignites before the plug fires. We dont call that Premature blah blah. We call it PRE IGNITION. Now you see this condition is bad because the expansion of gases will start while the piston is still compressing. No one wants that.
So if its bound to happen, the makers of the engine will ask you to step up and use fuel of higher octane rating, in order to resist that.
Reasons for that include

1. Running high compression ratios like more than 10:1. If you compress the mix so much the chances of self ignition are higher
  2. Forced induction (turbo or blower). You notice that even if your engine has a slightly lower compression say 9:1 but you have a turbo that has already compressed the air coming in, the final compression will be higher.
  3. Turbos also run quite hot. They heat the air. Air also rises in temp if compressed. Thats why intercoolers sit just after them. To try cool the air before the engine swallows it. If the coolers are heat soaked and dont do the job properly, then the engine gets hot air. Chances for pre ignition soar.

Now what we conclude is that high compression engines and forced induction engines will ask for higher octane rated fuels. (V power). Others will be fine with lower.

If you engine doesn’t ask for V power, there is little harm if you use it apart from you paying so much. Also remember that higher octane rated fuels need hotter sparks to ignite while at the same time need “earlier sparks” to allow time for ignition. The engines that ask for them are already tuned for that. We also tell you to stick to recommended spark plugs.

Lastly, mmeskia ma jamaa kwa mogoka base wakisema gari za safari rally hutumia jet fuel .
Ok its not jet fuel (kerosene) its Avgas. - aviation gasoline. Hii yetu ni mogas - motor vehicle gasoline. Avgas equals and exceeds octane ratings of 100. They dont take chances and so their rigs are tuned to run that. You can find it at shell ya wilson airport. Is it still 40K per 210litres au ilipanda? Go find out.

Dont just buy petrol from anywhere, especially these funny named petrol stations in the middle of nowhere. Ukitaka quality fuel, tumia Shell ama Total. OilLibya pia ni sawa. If you want highest octane stuff, tumia v-power.

Sold mine after engine iliknock bitch ilinicost more than buying a toyota kluger

Si ile beast ya Obama ilikunywa V Power ya Kenya? Haikuharibika

I posted a loong article about this a while ago. Octane rating is all about avoiding knock. Not about power. Even the avgas 100 LL has same power as the regular super. In fact avgas will ruin your modern non-carburetted engine because of tetraethyl lead.

True. But when a car is designed for higher octane fuel than what you put in, it will tend to retard the timing to prevent knock and this in turn leads to reduced power.

So they are actually related in a way.

But if you put in higher octane than what a car is designed for, it wont increase power

Engineer explain hizi vitu bana

So hii v-power ati inaongezea engine nguvu ni kelele tu

Unless your car is designed to use 95 Octane fuel, you wont get any benefits if you use it. Yani ukiwa na NZE na unaweka v-power, hio ni kutupa pesa tu

I never fuel at those unknown /Somali/muarabu petrol stations
Hiyo mafuta huwa fake

Shell au TOTAL only

Man i havent disputed that. The fact is you should not use fuel with lesser octane rating that recommended. Which common car in kenya cannot use regular superpetrol 93 octane? Octane rating has really nothing to do with power content, but preignition. These common Subaru, mitsubishi, mercedes, bmw etc. Mafuta unatumia ileile tu ya toyota vitz. Cars for special fuel are very few and usually not production cars or are very limited

Shell walalo wamezichukua bana