Millions paid for ecitizen services ended in private accounts

And yours are? Mr. Shitface McFucktard?

you dont see any issue with billions being lost everyday because it translates to only 50 bob per person? the issue is not the amount of money lost here…think think man

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:…things went south real fast here!!

True…for us to stop being a shithole country, we need to join hands and fight corruption and mediocrity in our country. This is Uhuru’s last term and I at least expect him to crack the whip on corrupt individuals and this will cement his legacy. He should also give the judiciary and EACC full support and encourage them to prosecute corrupt officials no matter how high ranking they are. This fight is really tough and there is no easy way of doing it.

Probably one of the things that contributed to the fallout between the Governor and his deputy,
A few individuals saw an opportunity and took their time to develop systems to solve problems that affected efficiency in delivery of government services. While it might not have looked very lucrative in the eyes of many eventually these systems have eased service delivery for both the citizens and the gov especially with revenue collection.
However the cake seems to big and sweet and some individuals want to muzzle their way into having it: Jambopay’s e-jiji pay is such an example similarly related to this e-citizen fiasco

Now you’re putting words into my mouth. I never said I don’t have a problem with billions being lost, maybe that’s how you chose to interpret my argument. There are some clear cut cases of corruption and theft of public funds. People walking out of banks with sacks holding millions of taxpayers’ money for example. That’s theft, pure and simple.
The problem with this particular case is it’s not clear cut. It sounds like a misunderstanding between a private company and the government on how to share revenue. A misunderstanding does not automatically translate to corruption. Remember, when paying for services on e-citizen, you’re clearly informed that the service will be X hundred or thousand shillings, plus a 50 bob processing fee. Now that 50 bob, how is it to be shared? When the government contracted this company to run the e-citizen platform, was it agreed that the company would keep this fee or it would also be deposited in government accounts? That seems to be the main issue here. I don’t know if I am making sense to you.

True, these are cartels fighting back because the loopholes they use to steal are being sealed using technology. That 50 bob fee is just an excuse to take us back to the dark days of inefficiency. When Sonko raided the treasury department at city hall, he found piles of cash just lying around. Imagine that, these guys can just take whatever amount they want, then bank the rest. If the money will still be banked anyway, why not implement a system whereby I can pay online or via mpesa and have Visa/Mastercard or mpesa send that money straight to county accounts? This is just corruption fighting back.

Predictably an apologist has to come out guns blazing to try and rationalize the theft…and you wonder why fighting corruption has failed when we cant even grasp the very definition of the vice itself

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Using logic, I’ve deduced that I’m the apologist you’re referring to. If you don’t see any rational argument in the replies I’ve made then I pity you. You’re the kind of people who rush to lynch people without confirming whether they’re guilty of the crime they’re being accused of. If you didn’t do logic in university then don’t blame me.

Strongly write against corruption at Ktalk, the corrupt calls it upussss, it is only a problem if there is a kyk name, which they viciously label mugiki. Shameless deviant corrupt beings an impediment on the fight against corruption.

Tru dat. For example if applying for a DL,you pay 600 TO THE GOVERNMENT and 50 bob to the guy who facilitates that transaction. The’little known company ’ ipewe haki yake.

Mbona watu hawaelewi what @kyuktothecore is trying to say , eish ! Ni kama Mpesa charges , you are charged for the service to be processed through that company’s facilities that they set up with their own money . Ni kama Posho mill , you pay Kshs 20 to have your maize siagwad . Whatever the owner does with the service fee is up to him and his partners based on their agreements … mbona unarudi kuuliza pesa imeenda wapi , kwani company ni yako ?

Yep na kama hutaki kulipa go to the office physically and queue! (Or in the case of M-Pesa, mpelekee huyo mtu unatumia pesa physically).

I think watu huona so long as mtu ananukisha kitunguu and government is involved, it must be corruption. These guys are providing a good service and I’m happy they’re getting something out of it. If the government feels the 50 bob should be shared, ni sawa, let them negotiate. I’m sure they have agreements on these things.

Corruption to me in this case would have been these guys collecting the fees and not remitting them to the government. Like for instance, DL renewal wanakula pia ile 1400 actual fee. As of now wanachukua tu haki yao ya 50 bob for the convenience, then gava inachukua 1400 yake like it used to.

What, pray, is wrong with that?

Wat table?
Ya kula? Au ya kura?