Wadau , for someone earning a gross salo of 100k a month it will take them at least 10 years to buy and build in the outskirts of nairobi . A good neighbourhood and a nice bungalow. Work hard and at least be huko upper class ama uingie informal, money moves there.
Very true. For instance someone like @Mzee_Mashavu lives with his mama. He gets an allowance of 250/ a day, which he squanders in sabina joy.
@Yuletapeli on the other hand makes about 60k/ a month from his matatu ventures alone. This he squanders with his fat wife and two kids, drinking juice and wearing matching clothes to church.
@Gaines on the other hand makes about 150k a month. All this he saves. He leeches off patrons in Sabina Joy. He shakes his brown booty and asks patrons, “twende choti?”
Hehe, moxmox mbona unanitajirisha burebure.. unataka Ruto ani notice…
Niko category ya @Ndovu ya 25k every month.

What is Kenyan’s obsession with building houses as a sign of prosperity?Wealthy people are concerned about their money moving fast through investments,nyumba ni last priority. wanachukua mortgage na business zao zinaown nyumba na zinasaidia kulilipia
My parents built a bungalow in Ruai. We are all grown ups and moved out. Mimi hushindwa hio nyumba ni ya nini. All empty rooms. Mimi hushidwa hio nyumba ni ya nini
Am not addressing specifically you as a person but some things make sense as you age. In Kikuyu we say “Wanaruona anarumenya” justs means you learn through experience,especially your own.Bottom line a home is key to any family tree where they feel it’s their pilgramage after hustles of life at the end of the day or after retirement not too mention kids/grand kids need that setup to show them what it means to have a home-these lessons may seem negligible to those who have a parents home whether near Nairrobi or upcountry -just ask those who parents/grandparents rent?You will understand what i mean.
Where i differ ,have seen lots of folks including young couples with 2-3 kids doing big houses +4 bedrooms which don’t make sense in the long run after children have left the nest leaving a shell of structure with no warmth of humans just memories.Hence a home is key for a family but do it in moderation -a 2-3 bedroom all ensuite hse is okay with an ensuite guest wing room at most. My two cents.
Na mbona uko Roysambu?
Those of us from non tugege zones know that with that salary, a house is completed in 3 years. Past gilgil very few people overpay for plots.
It’s stupid to talk about gross salary. Just quote the net cause that’s all that matters
Niaje Patco? You never cease to amuse
Two very good cents , ni ukweli kabisaa , my point is it is not worth to mortgage your salary for 20 years for a house or home.

My parents have left two houses wakaenda ranch kitale…one in nakuru and another one in kitengela. The nakuru one fetches 30k a month…am talking about a 5 bedroom house on half an acre with proper water storages facilities and solar. Kitengela one commands less than 35k. Kujaribu kuuza unaambiwa 6m. Very poor investments.
The same parents cannot advance you 100k usnze biz after school. Boomer nut cases guess they grew up p in lack so a house is like proof and a middle finger to haters that they’ve finally made it
Unataka niishi na wazazi ghasia hii
Sio wote. mimi my folks have been supportive. Can’t complain