middle class problems.......copied

Honestly, its torture to wake up kids at 4 for school. Get a school near you or move close to a school. Times i see those seven year olds in mats or in town kabla 6am nashindwa kama wazazi wana vichwa vizuri. Even in boarding school only candidates wake up that early

I once transferred my child from a school coz they were being given too much homework. Everybody thought am stupid.

Sometimes it is. And you @aviator know this. The schools close to where you live may not provide the sort of challenge or level of education your kid needs. So what do you do? You send him where it does. The sacrifice is either financial or sleeptime, sometimes both.

Yes! :slight_smile:

Remember that our transport system is garbage. The only reason kids and many grownups wake up at 4:30am is to beat traffic. If we had a reliable transportation system to get people from one place to another in relative comfort and safety we would wake up later, get to work/school on time, get back safely.
Ask @Jirani about the train system in germany. If we had that here, running that well, the biggest issue would be fees. You would live in rongai and let your kids commute to Braeburn without a worry of them being late to school.
But as it is you living in rongai and even getting to langata primary school on time is a miracle

This sadly is the truthā€¦I am a grown ass man and any time I wake up that early, I usually have very unproductive days so I can imagine the agony that the poor kids have to go through every freaking day just to get an education.

One of the most important factors that parents should consider when choosing where to live should be proximity to educational facilities for their kids.

Growing up as a kid sijawai amka earlier than 6am. The only time nakumba nilirauka mapema was 5am and this was bcoz we had a school trip and our transport was leaving at 7amā€¦

Masomo ya kushindilia mtoto hakuna mahali inaweza peleka mtoto. He will become an average joe.

Kenya has the capability of making itā€™s transport system to match that of European countries ubaya ni greedy individuals in Govā€™t. Imagine if all the money looted since moi days upto date zingerudishwa. Si that money can be enough to build an underground rail system. It hurts me when i see Germans creating new underground rail routes to ease traffic na Kenya tuu ni kuibia serikali pesa @nairobilay

In Kenya nobody cares. A case in point is Landies road where instead of putting up a footbridge for pedestrians, whoever is in charge saw it fit to put up bumps which made an already bad traffic situation worse

Siku hizi , yes a good public school is hard to come by

Why not move closer to the school then?

Consider the other things in the area you currently liveā€¦clean and constant water, steady electricity, play area for kidsā€¦these are things you may not find easily closer to the school.
Maybe you built the house where you stay and farm there and live off thatā€¦you move to a concrete jungle like kilelelshwa or langata so the kid doesnt have to wake up an hour earlier?

Hio ni torture

Yea that would make sense but could still be difficult , eg nearest decent public school to me is Agha khan primary to be able to rent a house there I would have to pay twice what I pay now but I do agree kuamsha mtoto 4.30 is real torture

And a decent neighbourhood to raise kids in

Every neighborhood has a good school within a 2-3kms radius. Even in Mathare/Kibra/korogosho.

Good is a relative term madam

Really? I doubt from Ruaka to Agha khan primary must be 15kms hivi kuna private schools yes but they are bigg on performance mpaka unapata watoi wakienda while Sunday.

ION anyone here who lives in ngong matasia ? Good schools around there?

Same scenario with my son. Let him enjoy his sleep for now. When he is in the upper classes he can wake at 2 or 3 or whatever time.

Na ukihamia Sodom ama Ungem? Thatā€™s less than 3kms.

aki honestly sincerelyā€¦ akuna kitu ilinisinya kama this decisionā€¦!!! It was/is a foolish decisionā€¦