A very simple solutions to reduce the matatu menace would be a dash cam. This gadget should be made mandatory to all psvs.
Should:
-record the drivers conversation at all times.
have an alcoblow gadget.
record the speed of the vehicle.
be tamper proof.
Record the view ahead and within the drivers cabin.
Upload all this footage to the internet (cloud) in real time or at regular intervals.
Have a Mem card of at least 64gb.
Once full, Mem card be surrendered to insurance company and financiers for future or current reference.
Insurance should the use these analysis to grant the owners insurance renewal or otherwise, reduce the premiums, if found to be well operated.
Kwanza apigane na any ramshackle matatu on the road.Niliona ingine inaangusha mlango ya passengers hadi ikanga akakasirika nakuwacha hiyo job before jioni ifike
The only reasonable way is that: psv to operate at 95 or 100 kmph and must meet latest bus building and safety standard including abs, power steering, anti roll bar and 3 point seat belt. personal vehicles to operate at a max of 120kmph and must meet safety standards. hii ingine ya kusema gari inaenda kisumu kutoka nairobi iende 80kph ni upuss na umama mingi haitawahi fuatwa. i can outrun a car at 80kph barefoot. gari ya 80kph max ni gari ya 1970s. if you cannot regulate technical aspects of psv as a country you had better buy donkeys and camels because that’s where you belong.
These are just theatrics.
We just need to get rid of this private transport sector and introduce not more than 4 transport companies, with organized bus systems.
A metro train to connect the sorrounding towns to Nairobi.
Until that’s done, all that happens in between is just small talk.
Public transport should be highly regulated and preferably managed by the national government. I say get rid of ALL matatus and their saccos; let’s have buses instead.