Mercedes Locks Faster Acceleration Behind a $1,200 Annual Paywall

Mercedes locks faster acceleration behind a yearly $1,200 subscription - The Verge

[SIZE=3]The Cyberpunk/Blade Runner future has begun. Do you guys remember that Black Mirror episode that had bathroom mirrors show ads that tracked eyeballs to detect whether the user is watching or not? If you use productivity software you know almost all of them are going the subscription model way. Hardware will only follow.[/SIZE]

Mercedes is the latest manufacturer to lock auto features behind a subscription fee, with an upcoming “Acceleration Increase” add-on that lets drivers pay to access motor performance their vehicle is already capable of.

The $1,200 yearly subscription improves performance by boosting output from the motors by 20–24 percent, increasing torque, and shaving around 0.8 to 0.9 seconds off 0–60 mph acceleration when in Dynamic drive mode. The subscription doesn’t come with any physical hardware upgrades — instead, it simply unlocks the full capabilities of the vehicle, indicating that Mercedes intentionally limited performance to later sell as an optional extra. Acceleration Increase is only available for the Mercedes-EQ EQE and Mercedes-EQ EQS electric car models.

East Europe hackers will be the first to break those paywalls and render that service almost useless.

Enywe gari nikama mwanamke, shifting costs be king

I remember @Sidindi Bey writing a critique of AI powered items on his old handle. So true.

This shit is so annoying you basically bought something but you don’t own it !
Thats why there has been a big push for right to repair in America people are waking up to companies like Apple , Tesla, John Deere, HP etc This companies have made it almost impossible to repair devices bought from them , you have to take it back to their dealers for the simplest of repairs .

What if BMW and there seat heating feature, you have to subscribe to warm your butt. Car manufacturers have come into realisation that realible money is made when people pay small subscriptions fees. They want to have their hand deep inside your pockets as long as you own that car. Upuzi

Micr

Microtransactions

This and software like Adobe being a subscription service is what convinces me we are already in a dystopia ruled by Mega corporations.

Everything is getting ‘smart’ nowadays. If Mercedes can get away with this you can bet your bottom shilling they’ll try to push it further.

Kidogo utasikia TV manufacturers saying you need to pay for Black Frame Insertion and HDR… Next phones zikuwe kwa contracts only… Subscriptions for everything.

There are also plans to use the skies as a billboard via satellite image projection from space. Kila kitu itakuwa commercialized. At the rate we are going, in the future people will have to buy air just like we buy water.

this explains why phones nowadays come with “non-removable batteries”. battery ikichapa lazima urudishe kwa help centre wakubadilishie. si kama kitambo ati unatoa na unaeka ingine. sasa kama walitoa head phone jack na charger, next utaskia simu hazitakuwa zinakam na battery. unanunua simu kwanza alafu tena unabuy battery kando. upuzi wa hali ya juu.

Personally I’m avoiding upgrading to any software that’s transitioned to this subscription service chieth. Backups/Keygens for all the old working versions nilishaanza 2014.

That’s exactly how I ended up ditching iPhones and have no regrets.

Was in Asia one time for a 6 weeks work assignment. iPhone ikaanza kuleta shida. Took it to an Apple Store in that country and they could not assist because it was bought in the US and still under warranty. It was a long 6 weeks. Fuck Apple.

Switched to Samsung - Android, have never looked back.

Noma… Siku hizi pesa Iko Kwa maintenance. Kwanza Kwa medical equipment kuna zile zinakuja zikiwa na license. You pay annual subscription of 4000 USD to use some features. In dental kuna scanners where you can send a digital impression as an STK file. Una tumia MTU ako china ama America wanaprint 3d model.

BTW me too. Nilikuwa na hio tamaa ya iPhone when I landed but when I realized that you can’t install modded app, ilibidi nirudi tu kwa my beloved Samsung.

Fast charging itakua under subscription in the very near future.

Did Merc higher Nabii as an advisor?

I forgot to mention that if you use Pantone Colour Matching system in Adobe products you now have to pay $15/month on top of the Adobe Cloud subscription! This product has been packaged with Adobe since forever.

Pantone colors now require a subscription in Adobe Photoshop - The Verge

Pantone requires a $15 monthly subscription to use its colors in apps like Photoshop and Illustrator. Colors in old PSD files are turning black for some.

It is now 100% Ok to pirate Adobe shit. In fact I encourage it.

Mkuu ile maneno yetu ulisemaje?
Umenieka pending sana

Maneno gani tafasali remind me.