Christmass was an awesome time back when I was a kid. Mum made sure that the house had decorations from wall to wall, baloons, those graduation things(don’t know what they are called), christmass cards, the works. What took the cake though was the christmass tree. Every household had to have one but this was easier said than done. You see the only place that had those trees was a police station near our home.
To say that cutting the trees was frowned upon by the cops would be an under statement. Getting the tree required speed, tact and most of all, dumb luck. On christmass eve we would rendevous at a designated point at 0600 and head to the station armed to the teeth. To cut the short story shorter, we lost a few good boys, those of us that survived had a few cuts and bruises, others lost shoes, torn trousers but it was worth it. Arriving home with that branch, sorre tree gave me a feeling that truth be told I haven’t felt since.
I had a fantastic childhood, christmass especially, pity I had to grow up. Now I make it a point to give my kid fun times filled with awesome memories, a better childhood than I had(don’t think it’s possible but i’ll give it a shot).
Anyhu, merry christmass people
They were ‘chot’ by police?http://sgtalk.org/mybb/images/smileys_yahoo/surprised.gif
No they actually got lost:D:D:D:D:D:D:D[SIZE=2]but were found later in the day. [/SIZE]
We luckily had a eucaliptus tree (or whatever they are called) in our compound so kazi ni kukata branch ile kubwest and placing it in a mkebe or ndoo with some soil in it and then going overboard with decorations starting with balloons etc…all the way to cotton wool!..
Ati its a white christmas!.. kikikikikkkk…
Looking back now; kumbe hiyo cooton wool was the “tampon” of the day !.. Yaani we used tampon to deecorate our Christmas tree… eeeeiiiiwwww!!!
Sema innocence?!
Those days many boys survived by the grace of God.