Mechanic Sentenced to Death for Stealing Uhuru's Car...An Overkill?

[SIZE=7]Mechanic Sentenced to Death for Stealing Uhuru’s Car[/SIZE]
[li]By GEOFFREY LUTTA on 15 April, 2022 - 8:33 am[/li]
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_style_mobile/public/images/media/Uhuru%20motorcade.jpg?itok=cXIICw1J
President Uhuru Kenyatta’s motorcade
[/ul]

A mechanic accused of stealing a vehicle belonging to President Uhuru Kenyatta’s motorcade has been sentenced to death.

In a ruling delivered by Milimani Chief Magistrate, Francis Andayi, the mechanic was handed a harsh sentence as his actions were considered a matter of national security.

The suspect was charged alongside four others with robbing a Chief Inspector of Police, David Machui, a BMW 735 car model that was valued at Ksh1.2 million at the time.

The incident happened in Utawala, Nairobi area on August 26, 2014, where the senior police officer was robbed at gunpoint in what was described as a case of carjacking.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/motorcade.jpeg?itok=wQ399T86
President Uhuru Kenyatta motorcade

The charge sheet presented in court indicated that the mechanic was armed with an AK-47 rifle and another pistol at the time of committing the crime.

The second count indicated that the suspect was planning to dispose of the car knowing that it was unlawfully obtained from the government.

The mechanic was charged alone after it emerged that two of the other accused persons had since died and the Judge had to acquit them.

One of the accomplices reportedly died under unclear circumstances after he was released on bond in 2017.

The second co-accused was found dead in Uganda with police reports indicating that he died of natural illness.

Two other car dealers were acquitted due to a lack of evidence linking them to the theft of the motor vehicle.

The case attracted global attention raising questions about the state of national security. It took the intervention of Ugandan law enforcement authorities to recover the car.

Reports at that time indicated that the mechanic was lured into a trap at Wandegeya, a low-income Kampala suburb near Makerere University. He was then waylaid by a specialized police unit and the vehicle was recovered.

The recovery was made public by Asan Kasingye, the director of Interpol in Uganda.
“Our counterparts informed us that their President’s car that was stolen at gunpoint was heading to Uganda. So we started to monitor and we recovered it and we have sent it back to Kenya,” Kasingye stated.

The mechanic allegedly managed to drive one of the most tracked vehicles from Nairobi to Kampala after removing the tracking system in a garage in Nairobi.

[B][I]Victor Owera[/I][/B]
Huyu alikuwa amevuta Ile ya Maragoli.Unaibiaje polisi gari alafu unatarajia utasurvive.

John Silasa
Jail the guy for life. Doesn’t deserve a death sentence. He isn’t worse than the Politicians including a certain Weston owner and 40 others who steal Billions
from the coffers. They need to be hanged or undergo the firing squad for engaging in activities that risk National Security. Kenya is a joke. FOH

A man who resolved what to do and does what he resolves

accomplice wake aliangushwa na inspector .

Life is cheap here cos you take minimum cost to raise a child.

A death sentence in Kenya means life in prison. No one has been executed for the last 35 years.

Ruto alisema akiingia prezo ana assent executions . i support him on this.

@sani

Sijasoma article lakini huyu hakuwa na lawyer mboa. Hapa unajitetea ati uliamua ku make use of a public utility vehicle. Mali ya umma. Unless there’s more to the story.

735 valued at 1.2mill?

Those of us born 80s from nakuru tunajua huyu jamaa from London nakuru…yeye na cousin yake Willis walikua majamaa wapoa sana and they were very good mechanics based pale jokam lando. I remember Willis was making some good money from insurance firms when he was barely in his 20s…sijui ni mikora gani hii iliwadanganya cos this dude was too nice a person to get involved in this kind of stuff

Fvcker was armed with 2 Guns during the incident. He brandished a gun = Robbery With Violence = Death sentence

When they were first arrested, and needed money for cash bail …they had this crazy offer, …they sell to you these matatu seven seater, new, 300k when delivered to Garissa but one catch: bila proper registration (number plate).

I told the one who let me in on the info, niwache

When they were first arrested, and needed money for cash bail …they had this crazy offer, …they sell to you these matatu seven seater, new, 300k when delivered to Garissa but one catch: bila proper registration (number plate).

I told the one who let me in on the info, niwache

Soma tu article mboa, utaelewa your argument wouldn’t fly in any court. A group of armed robbers with an A-K 47 and a pistol, a better case for robbery with violence has never been made.

He’s an armed thug

I wouldn’t be surprised that the police inspector is in on it. The thieves who actually “stole” the car are dead. The mechanic in Uganda is merely a scapegoat, he was probably given some good money to repaint the car and he was nabbed while he was at it. There’s always more than meets the eye.
Reminds me of a Nakuru mason in early 2000 who bought his wife a second hand phone not knowing that the owner was an ex-Alliance bright girl who had been waylaid on her way home, robbed and murdered. Mason was sentenced to death for a crime he had no idea about l.

Labda ni hii :smiley:
[ATTACH=full]433153[/ATTACH]

Huyo ni enemy of state. Dealt with accordingly.

D- Minus are too lazy to investigate crimes. They arrest anyone closely linked to the crime/ scene, charge and implicate them in court. Maumbwa sana…

That police inspector was carjacked in Ruai akiendea slices kwa singo matha usiku. Probably the thugs had marked him or he was set up by singo matha.