Mbele iko sawa in Turkana county

20% is good. Hopefully haitaibiwa
[ATTACH=full]171485[/ATTACH]

Dont worry about the 20%. Turkanas watasoma mshangae. Hiyo 75% ndiyo itaibiwa.

Haina was. hakuna equalization fund kwao basi

I just deleted a thread about the same. This is what I stated in that thread.

Uhuru has announced that the oil revenues will be shared in this formula.
National government 75%
County government 20%
Local community 5%
Local community revenue share is where the devil is waiting.
BTW I totally support my Turkana brodas finally getting Kenyan yams to feast on. It’s long overdue. Good job Nanok and others!
Now. How will they determine who is local and deserves a plate? What criteria will they use? If you can speak the local language? If you are married into the local community? If you relocated and have been living among the locals for years? Will the natives who have relocated to Nairobi and other towns get counted as locals?
Gov Nanok and other leaders will need Solomonic wisdom if they are to use this rare opportunity to uplift the lives of our Kenyan brothers who have been left behind since Kenya came into existence.
They need to study what happened to the reparations that Native Americans were to get but never did. How white people (nicknamed “5 dollar Indians”) swooped in and pretended to be native American so that they can get platefuls of benefits. Today if you look at the native Americans they look nothing like the real native Americans. Inaitwa kata
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/art…agreement-on-sharing-revenue-from-turkana-oil

@Yunomi wacha kudelete threads ovyo ovyo:p Lakini ni sawa. Wacha tucomment tu hapa.

Sifikiri local community ni ethnic. I think it is about just funding for a facelift to local public/social programs and amenities: research, schools, infrastructure, local enterprise, local agricultural projects eg irrigation to improve productivity and self reliance etc

I didn’t want to dublicate a thread that exists

I thought that the 20% oil revenue share that goes to the county government was the one to go to roads, schools and hospitals and things like that while the 5% would be like cash injections directly into the hands of locals. Maybe someone will offer clarification on this

will depend on what CRA decides. All the same, it’s good the county benefits most, we don’t an oil curse in this country.

local community is not about ethnicity. Where you stay, your estate, with people from all tribes and races, that’s your local community… the society where you live… the social setting… get it?

Cash injections ndio wanataka

Ya it’s ok. For all that its worth I liked your title better.

How much money are we talking about here? I wonder what you guys are trying to reason about if you have not provided estimated figures that will be shared. Labda hata ni peanuts in the grand scale of things oil companies wakitoa pesa yao.

I think even if the figures are small its good for the local community at least they get to keep some, how they use the same is up to them but at least its good, we have a habit where the local communities never benefit from the resources extracted, or those within their localities, small examples of the likes of ndakaini, masinga or even ruai residents.

If the money is little, you can be assured that nothing will reach the local community. That is why the amount is important. You dont expect revenue below 1 billion to reach the community with money hungry politicians between that money and Turkana residents. The cake has to be large enough for them to feel any impact. It is sad to say, but it is the truth. The amount will determine whether it will be Nanok et al’s personal cash cow, or something the community can benefit from. I am just being real here. Otherwise, Nanok and his MCA’s will be billionaires very soon. If the amount is large, they can be rich but at least the community will get something eventually.

[B]Nonesense…

me naona HiiPesa yote ikitokomea… [/B]

@Yunomi ,local community is anyone who lives in the area. The amount will be used for public projects such as schools, and the rest.
Ata wewe ukienda ufungue kaduka were ni local community.

Unfortunately, that’s the truth

Sii Tanzanian beggars will move from Nairobi to Turkana County.

It’s good. I suppose they’ll still gain.