Mazda6 Manual

This car has a very nice interior lighting hue. Too bad it’s borrowed.

The most important thing is how it drives jamaa. Tell us.

This is an older 2006 model and frankly speaking, there’s nothing that drives better in this range. I daresay it’s better than even BMW’s but I haven’t been in a 2000’s bimmer for like a decade.

Is it fast compared to kitu kama crown ama mark x?

In the right spec, it comes with more than 250hp which is more than both those cars, so yes. It’s quite a fast car.

Wouldn’t recommend a manual with more than 200hp though, you’ll find yourself wrapped around a tree within 14 days of ownership.

Whats the obsession with speed? The cars are both rated at 149mph…but were the makers interested in speed when they produced these cars? Luxury must have been a priority

I know right. You might have the fastest sedan but how many times will you drive past 160 on your day to day errands.

Mazda is a smaller company than Toyota, it costs more for them to produce a similar spec car. That said, only Crown Athlete can do 149mph with the stock ECU and it costs more than Mazda6. Mark X GR can also do the same, but it has a worse interior.

The only time my fast acceleration helps is when am overtaking on the busy nairobi nakuru highway…but thats a very brief burst of speed after which i go back to 80- 100km/h.
If i wanted the thrill of speed i would go for cars solely built for speed, say an RS7 or BMW M5..where i would then take them on regular weekends to isolated roads in far flung remote areas where i can safely floor the pedal.

And you can afford these cars?

Coz they do cost $100,000 plus.. which is out of reach for even most middle class Europeans and Americans.

And most banks in Kenya will simply refuse to finance them because of the insurance.

Not really speed. I am actually a very slow driver, always at 90kph max. But I love cars that feel effortless, big engines. Gari ikipata climbing lane inapanda at very low rpm.

Thankfully i can. But am not a speed freak.
I have this friend who loves speed and you wont believe the type of bikes and cars he has in his garage…but every time i visit him am usually drawn to his LC 100, a car he only drives to his farms in nakuru and kajiado…his daily driver is a crv and the bikes…i really love that car but my current work and family commitments wont allow proper utilisation of such a beast…but its the first ride i would get if i retire or change occupations …and i wont be doing the usual middle class off-road shenanigans…a drive between my farms in kitale and kakamega is enough to provide that thrill. Njia ni mbovu.
You see, i once lived in 2 countries where offroad cars were only used by farmers and it has had a permanent impact on how i view cars. Fast cars and vintage cars only came to the roads on weekends kwanza sundays. You go to a rural town on a sunday and you find it full of vintage cars and bikes every 2nd weekend.
A friend ( luo :joy:)bought an old Range rover vogue, very understandable since it was a dirty cheap second hand…but being a kenyan he used it as his daily driver na akaambiwa na kila mtu hio ni ushamba despite fuel and maintenance being affordable…who commutes to college everyday in a Vogue?
If i was into speed i would get an appropriate machine…i currently own a 2.5l Japanese second hand as my daily driver and a 3.0l German car as my weekend SUV with all wheel capabilities though i rarely use it…

Then go for any car above 2.5l…i would recommend common japanese crossovers.
Fielder haitakusaidia hapa.

Drive BJ50 sio Kila saa KULETEWA

I’m not really a speed freak either, but I do enjoy high speed racing done by professionals. And based on those cars you’ve mentioned, the two of us have very differing definitions of speed.

An LC100 is a farm implement, and 2.5l cars (e.g. outbacks) are fast.. but not that fast.

This is a fast car. I used to really want one, until I sat in one and experienced first hand what real speed feels like. Now I’m sure I’ll crash one if I drive one.

Sasa hizo ndio gari that should be manual only. Manual gives you more leverage to play and control the power

Nah bro, I’ve seen some shit.

You need to know your car and how it unleashes the power in order to control it. Not for everyone

Nissan GT-R goddamn it. Iove that car. Get this car in a manual version to enjoy its raw power and output. I was sad to learn that Nissan is actually discontinuing the GT-R due to stringent emmission rules.

Manual is only possible in the previous versions, R-32, R-33 and R-34. Very few people can handle the awesome power in these cars.. and even then, most will wrap them around a tree.