Matatus switch over to the Expressway - they are now making many trips and huge profits

Passengers now getting to their destinations in record time.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FUBTntxWUAEw_IK?format=jpg&name=large

Using the expressway will be a new normal for Nairobians. The awe will fade away.

Ukweli mtupu. And the jams kwa hiyo barabara ya chini imekwisha.

Jam iko hapo kwa kulipia. Why not make the system have a transponder in the car so you dont have to stop to pay. If you run a toll bila kulipa unatumiwa barua plus heavy fines. Gov itasondeka chapaa sana sana kwa violaters

Seamless motion of traffic! I would have thought ntsa would have studied modern highway payment options.

Motorists were told to fit onboard transpoders which are available but wakenya wanataka wapeane 1000 bob watafutiwe change.

They are still vey expensive for ma3s…but seems like the charges will go down according to govt sources.

The wise matatus are making a killing.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FUOjLVyWIAEpXuN?format=jpg&name=medium

Wakenya wako na shida ya akili.

Quote:

In recent weeks, motorists using President Uhuru Kenyatta’s legacy project have experienced traffic snarl-ups at the endpoints with government officials solely blaming the motorist for the delays.

While appearing before the National Assembly Transport, Housing, and Public Works committee on May 31, Transport Principal Secretary, Paul Maringa, stated that some motorists refused to pay while exiting claiming they did not have any money to do so, as a result, traffic would build up.

“We discourage using cash payment because some people carry less money and start arguing at the payment point while others waste time as they wait for change. This is why we are encouraging everyone to use cards.

“It takes three seconds to use the card while it takes 45 seconds to use other modes of payment like a credit card. It even takes longer while paying cash,” he stated.

So instead of a BRT with an HOV lane that cuts travel time at no additional cost to customers, the inept, kleptocratic jubilee regime is now ramming down the grossly inflated “express way” down the throats of the already burdened taxpayer by forcing them to pay extra for a service that they shouldn’t be paying for in the first place. Genius.

Tax payers have spent ZERO for construction of the expressway. It is a PPP project. Also no one is forcing you to use the expressway, you can use the free road downstairs.

[SIZE=5]What are PPPs?[/SIZE]

Public-private partnerships (PPPs) are a mechanism for government to procure and implement public infrastructure and/or services using the resources and expertise of the private sector. Where governments are facing ageing or lack of infrastructure and require more efficient services, a partnership with the private sector can help foster new solutions and bring finance.

The fact remains that an additional cost will be passed down to whoever uses the road, public or private means, regardless of whatever fancy names you want to use. If they didn’t pay now, they are going to pay for its construction for an astronomical 27+ years, and that’s barring any modifications, alterations etc., which are bound to be many given the character and reputation of some of the stakeholders.

Hata bank ikinunulia wewe nyumba na mortgage, you will pay the mortgage for 25yrs while living in your house. That is how banks/financers work. There is nothing for free.

Also let those who are using the road pay for it. Why should someone in tharaka or mandera or migori or lamu pay for the expressway construction while they will never use it?

Wow, two whole matatus! Uhuru amefanya kazi.