mass protests looming

NASA threatens to boycott polls if IEBC appeal on vote tallying goes through
May. 14, 2017, 6:00 pm
By RITA DAMARY

NASA principals in Nakuru ahead of their rally at Afraha stadium on Sunday, May 14, 2017. /RITA DAMARY
FACEBOOK
NASA principals have threatened to boycott the August 8 elections if an appeal logged by IEBC goes through.

The electoral body wants the appellate court to overturn a high court ruling that election results announced at the constituency level are final and should be used to determine winners in the general elections.

The commission has anchored its argument on the constitutional provision that gives it the mandate to declare winners during elections.

“We will not allow IEBC to tamper with the court ruling on the tallying issues. If they will, let them know that no elections will be held,” NASA coalition flag bearer Raila Odinga said.

Odinga spoke on Sunday at Afraha stadium during a NASA rally.

Read: Heavy downpour disrupt NASA rally in Nakuru

Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka echoed his sentiments saying IEBC should withdraw the appeal and accept the earlier ruling.

He urged Nakuru residents to be ready, if called upon, to take to the streets to protest should the ruling be overturned.

“If the appeal goes through, will you be ready to protest?” Kalonzo said.

He reiterated that they will conduct parallel tallying of votes for transparency purposes but not declare winners.

“We know it’s their duty to declare winners. We have no problem with that. But why is he (IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati) saying results must be announced at Bomas of Kenya?” Kalonzo said.

Machakos senator Johnstone Muthama said they will not accept a rigged election.

He dared the government to arrest him for making the declaration.

“I want to tell (Interior CS) Joseph Nkaissery that he should not oversee a stolen election. As Kenyans, we will not accept.”

Other leaders who spoke at the rally faulted the Jubilee administration for a surge in basic commodity prices including maize flour, milk and sugar.

ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi accused Uhuru’s administration of insensitivity adding that they only acted after matters got out of hand.

He said the consignment of maize that docked in Mombasa on Friday will not help the situation of scarce food as the country was already facing starvation.

“We want to stabilize the economy; we want to give our youth jobs,” Mudavadi said.

Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula said the shortages in food items being experienced in the county were by design to benefit certain individuals in government.

“A government that commits economic crimes on its people does not deserve to be called a government,” Wetangula said.

Raila asked women and youth in Nakuru county to turn out in large numbers and vote for him.
“I urge all women to boycott sex on the eve of the voting day so that the electorate can be alert and go vote. We will even go for patients in health facilities to come and vote,” Raila said.

“Youths will be going house to house to urge everybody to come out and vote,” he added.

The rally was the coalition’s first public outing since it unveiled Raila its flag bearer and Kalonzo as his running mate.

The two will take on President Uhuru Kenyatta of Jubilee and his running mate William Ruto at the August polls.

[VIDEO] Raila named NASA flag bearer, Kalonzo deputy in August poll line up

intimidating the judiciary?

This right here…iko shida hapa

No Raila no NGONY

Raila will only accept an election in which he is the IEBC

Nothing new here.
ODM/Cord /Naswa wants to be the judiciary, the electoral commission and the contestant.
They might as well hold their own election and declare themselves the winner.

Raila Doctrine: An election in a given country is free and fair only when that losing candidate is declared the winner.

On course for chaos to prevent elections and the FINAL loss.

just trying to steal the headlines/deflect attention from more weighty/controversial/embarrassing/consequential issues that may have been spoken at the meeting or that may be current in the news. when ordinary joes talk about the proposed sex embargo then they are not likely to be talking about the nepotistic nomination of a brother and a son to the east african legislative assembly and which is likely to be noisily debated in parliament tomorrow or wednesday…a red herring/creating an outrage. sex is always a hot trigger for outrage management/agenda manipulation…

No Raila no THER

An opportunity for @Female Perspective…
An opportunity to serve all without fear or favour (regardless of party affiliation). Just imagine all those people waiting

The Kenyatalk Sycophants Old Farts Association

We might as well scrap off the Independent part of IEBC and let all and sundry issue directives for the Electoral body to follow to the letter. Huyu mzee has all the hallmarks of a dictator, eti withdraw the appeal because Baba doesnt like it!

No Raila no KEINO

when is the ruling for me to prepare

tundu ni lile ile

Kwani watu wengine wanaonanga wakiwa Mungu ati my way or nothing? Nkt I wish watu wanaeza kataa kubebwa ujinga, sadly 200 Bob is enough to make a bugger walk to town set tires on fire and throw stones

Kwani nyaffing makes one legea legea??

Kwani maombi yake pale wailing wall yaligonga ukuta? Asituletee…4th loss in a row coming up

I look forward to Raila exiting the political scene, ONE WAY OR THE OTHER.

He is a terribly divisive person who keeps Kenya on a perennial war footing.

Only after he exits will Kenya have its first Luo president, a moderate non-combative individual like Obama who will be respected by most.