Manufacturing of vehicles

Okay as far as I am concerned, Kenya only assembles vehicles. Kenya is not yet able to make it’s own cars. Can someone explain to me why in the 21st century with almost everything available we are not able to make our own cars to compete with the big boys who are out there

As soon as it becomes profitable kuna cartel wataingilia, if not already. It’s inevitable

Why should we be making our own cars? Anyone can make cars. Kenyans should not concern themselves with useless things which add no value to us.

Why think when we have money to buy?

We can’t afford new cars. Halafu kra watapata aje import duty?

First tell us why canada, australia, new zealand, singapore, israel, greece, spain, argentina, Portugal etc dont make their own cars in the 21st century when everything is available?

Aaaaaand what are the useful things kenya does that adds value…you can use picture to elaborate…

It doesnt make sense to build a car it has already been done by almost everyone. The time and resources you will use to create and perfect the car wount be worth it nor profitable. There are hundreds of car manufacturers world wide that is why most companies just do badge engineering which is cheaper and hence more profitable. Toyota belta ya 2021 ni maruti suzuki ciaz wamechange to logo wakweka ya toyota. There is even a list of badge engineered vehicles on wikipedia

Wacha za ovyo,hizo nchi zinatengeneza gari atleast buana!!

This,plus 13 more…one is almost a super car
[ATTACH=full]393026[/ATTACH]

Forgot about the holden?
[ATTACH=full]393025[/ATTACH]

This fuggly thing…waacha niiache hapa
[ATTACH=full]393028[/ATTACH]

All these brands,im suprised to know SEAT ni yao
[ATTACH=full]393029[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]393031[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]393032[/ATTACH]

they have this Vinci GT but its not appealing to the outside world
[ATTACH=full]393030[/ATTACH]

New zealand had this but ilikua BJ 50yao wakaamua watie zii hio riba[ATTACH=full]393027[/ATTACH]

Singapore ,Argentina have the largest car assemblies for toyotas,benz,renaults Agrale and VWs…you name it. Greece used to have a car back in the thirties

Hata Kenya had the Nyayo car. So kenya walijenga cars many years ago.

These two are probably the most bonobo commets I have read on the interwebs .

Weh siku hizi kinyozi umekuwa focused. Yaani tuseme umeacha kukunia thread za watu kabisa?

Kama ni wewe umebadilika jinsi hii basi hata @kanguthu anaeza okoka na awache kuomba watu mboro zao anyonye.

angalia nyandarua county na hio bj 50 yao. Is that what you want for our country. we as a country are already famous world wide for many things and manufacturing our own cars isnt something we should be venturing into. we will have to import everything from the metals for casting the engines and even the bodies, the plastics, fittings vitu mob sana. It is better we do what mobius is doing

Patents, Research and Development

Talking about cars that got sold and run on the asphalt sio zile ziko kwa storage NYS

na stima pia ya ku smelt iron

Making a vehicle is the true test of an industrialized country. The vehicle has to be viable pricewise and market wise. You need to be able to produce high grade steel at affordable price, aluminium, and plastic. You also need a solid electronics industry. Then you got to have standards, of which we got none.
if you have a japanese car, you will find denso, mitsubishi, etc computers. in kenya, which company will you contract to make computers? It can be done over 20 or 30 years, but with our current culture of short term goals we cant.

Kenya should focus on manufacturing our own public service vehicles first which are used by the majority of Kenyans. Even government vehicles can be produced locally. If we start with Assembly and rebadging and over time control more of the production process ,in 20 or so years we could be manufacturing cars for the whole of east and central africa or even the whole continent. This would need a lot of government support like they did in Japan (Toyota was heavily subsidized before it’s global success) but since you people only want to elect your tribal kingpins who’ll use your taxes to buy homes in europe ,you can forget about us ever manufacturing cars successfully.

I see more hope for other forms of manufacturing though as well as our I.T sector.

All the Isuzu, UD, Hino, matatus and buses are assembled and fabricated in Kenya.

It is true of the government and political will. US motor companies like ford would be history without government support. At one time the congress had to bail them out to protect the country’s industrial integrity.