Manufacturing is gaining traction in Africa due to COVID19

From complex equipment such as ventilators to basic accessories such as face masks. Automatic hand washer with infrared sensor to dispense soap and 30 seconds flow of water to foot operated washer fountains. Africa is finally rising.

We don’t have to keep importing toothpicks and toothbrushes from India and China we have everything that is required right here.
If we were to cut out Chinese goods which in the first place are of inferior quality then we’d develop local industries.

[SIZE=7]Steve Kekana - All I need (Is Right Here in Africa)[/SIZE]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PITDaB84BhE

True but loan terms and conditions with china man are that you export raw materials and import finished goods

basically , it’s the leaders who are to blame for africa’s failure , and it’s the people are to be blamed for chosing the bad leaders . case closed !

Nothing is stopping you from starting a manufacturing operation in Kenya. Stop blaming non-existent loan terms.
Those only exist for government projects they were borrowed for, eg. steel for a railway.

Your market is the people of Kenya, not GOK or China.

Hapo sawa.We need to be inventive

Nakwambia hii Corona itachange manufacturing industry na health sector

Hizi ndio zitakuwa biz to be in

That is not true

Except for punitive power costs, a rabid taxman, massive labour costs and bribe demands from politicos at all levels.

The only problem is they are nit long term orientated manufacturers,just based on the threat/opportunity created from the virus. What about after a cure is found maybe next yr? What we need is maybe lower taxes and give the textile industry incentives mpaka kenyan made clothes can compete with mitumba in terms of prices. It’s clear mitumba r with us to stay. Read somewhere online that kenyans now prefer local fish over chinese fish since they think it is infected. Chinese fish constituted 68% of total fish sales b4 the virus.

Same problem we used to face with sugar. Lack of competitive advantage, sugar all the way from Brazil is still cheaper than Mumias sugar. Fish all the way from China is cheaper than L. Naivasha or fish from Nyanza. Alafu u n i bn consumers always go for the cheapest price in order to save a buck

isn’t it just because there in no competition from chinese imports at the moment? When corona is over, we go back to settings. Very sad

You can argue about power costs, but I don’t think China’s labour cost is less than ours.
There are people making things profitably in Kenya. Wahindi have been for decades.

It’s just not in our culture to make things. We are consumers, and our idea of investment is real estate or a shop/kibanda.

And a manufacturing operation doesn’t even need to be a massive one. With something like 2 million, you can start canning tomatoes or other fruits and grow the operation over time.
Here we are taught to buy 50x100 pieces of land, let them idle around hoping they’ll appreciate.

Power costs in china are way cheaper my friend. Alafu pia they keep devaluing their currency to make their products cheaper. If u go to malls u find huge long stalls selling phones, laptops, electronics etc.

Is Sugar in Brazil subsidised?