Man Without a Browser

It’s 2018 and all browsers suck. What is happening?

I stayed on IE7 way too long than I’d like to admit, but, once Firefox, then the world’s favourite browser, came along I had to jump onto the groovy train. That was after a week of testing the slow as molasses Opera running on Presto engine.

Now, 2018, Firefox with it’s Quantum mechanics is buggy, unstable, and currently has an inbuilt game called “How Long Before Page Load Stops Working”. Using Firefox is like chasing a wild rabbit -it runs in random, chaotic, and unpredictable moves.

Opera now uses Blink which essentially makes it Google Chrome on casual Friday. Google Chrome is now the world’s creepy uncle who insists on poking into our business. In what universe do browsers come bundled with an antivirus engine that scans user files? Fuck you Google. You won’t catch me with that nonsense. Not forgetting the tab management --ohmagerd. And Chromium? Ha. I can crash Chromium pretty much on demand.

Line up the options. IE? Edge? Safari? What in God’s name! Lately, I am a man without a browser.

google chrome is the browser that wants to run business for you.
firefox is the browser even though it crashes.

hapo kwa groovy train ungejifunza kizungu kwanza kabla IE

I use Quantum nightly. Buggy as fuck when it decides to be, but bugs get fixed the next day, so that’s something. Don’t be like me though… I’m into such extreme sports , I run production source code for my projects on Insider versions of Windows, not healthy for your heart.

Try cheetah browser u get what u want…hata mharo news zimepigwa equator

I should have mentioned Microsoft Windows somewhere in my post.

I’m actually really glad I’m not the only one who woke up one day and realized this chrome thing wasn’t working for me anymore. And that’s after ignoring the RAM usage for years. Kitu unaweka plugins tatu inakula RAM kuliko GTA 5

duckduckgo browser!

I’d abandoned it years back in favor of Firefox lakini lately nimerudi bila kuambiwa. Whatever Firefox did just isn’t working anymore.

Try Using UC Browser.

The past 2 weeks this Firefox quantum chieth has been using more Ram than chrome. Open a million tabs, leave one for a second, comeback and it’s reloading. Meffi hao

Google chrome nao niliona wameongeza AV, situmii

Opera works perfectly for me, no complains so far

Edge, worked fine but I only used it to download other browsers during setup

Vivaldi looked promising, made by former Opera employees, might give it another try

Any other browser ni meffi unless ni chromium compiled from the source code

Hehehe uko sure? I have more than 10 extensions n my ram usage there has never gone beyond 2Gb even when using a million tabs

Use that tab suspender extension on Chrome to help with the ram, lakini you will have to reload the suspended tab

So true.

I’m one of those who open a lot of tabs and keep browsing for extended periods --5 hours plus. I have seen FF Quantum eat 4GB of RAM while using about 30 per cent CPU. And this is with less than 30 tabs. The more you use it the slower it gets; up to a point where even switching tabs becomes an adventure.

It gets to a point where even loading of web pages stops working. At that point if you close it still lingers in the background and you have to kill it in Task Manager. Such a shame.

And then, after doing so or when you shut it down normally, it sends you that pop-up that ‘FireFox was closed unexpectedly’ blah blah blah.

Hehehe siku hizi naona it starts with those closed tabs open

Exactly!

Opera is just perfect for me.

Me too … sijui mbona watu hu-complain about Opera yet i try other browsers and they are always slower in loading pages to full use and holding as many as 20 tabs and in built VPN and ad blocker free .

Chrome all thru. Tor for curiosity though it has been a while nitafute guns huko. Firefox only when Chrome fails.