One cannot afford to be naive in dealing with dreams, they originate in a spirit that is not quite human, but is rather a breath of nature- a spirit of the beautiful and generous as well as of the cruel goddess.
If we want to characterize this spirit, we shall certainly get closer to it in the sphere of ancient mythologies, or the fables of the primeval forest, than in the consciousness of modern man.
I am not denying that great gains have resulted from the evolution of civilized society.
But these gains have resulted from the evolution of civilized society, but these gains have been made at the price of enormous losses, whose extent we have scarcely begun to estimate.
Part of the purpose of my comparisons between the primitive and the civilized states of man has been to show the balance of these losses and gains.
Chapter 1
Approaching the Unconscious , Carl G Jung.
Man used the spoken or written word to express the meaning of what he wants to convey, his language is full of symbols, but he also often employs signs or images that are not strictly descriptive, some are mere abbreviations or strings on initials such as UN, UNICEF or UNESCO.
What we call a symbol is a term, a name or even a picture that may be familiar in daily life yet that possesses a specific connotations in addition to its conventional and obvious meaning.
It implies something vague, unknown or hidden from us, many cretan monuments for instance, are marked with the design for the double adze!
Further in the book there’s a description about types of Christians, one of the type have come to terms with the similarities between their creed and the seemingly paganistic ones.
Last time I loved someone that much was when I read Thus Spoke Zarathustra!
Have you not heard of that madman who lit a lantern in the bright morning hours, ran to the market-place, and cried incessantly: “I am looking for God! I am looking for God!”
[I][B]As many of those who did not believe in God were standing together there, he excited considerable laughter. Have you lost him, then? said one. Did he lose his way like a child? said another. Or is he hiding? Is he afraid of us? Has he gone on a voyage? or emigrated? Thus they shouted and laughed. The madman sprang into their midst and pierced them with his glances.
“Where has God gone?” he cried. “I shall tell you. We have killed him - you and I. We are his murderers. But how have we done this? How were we able to drink up the sea? Who gave us the sponge to wipe away the entire horizon? What did we do when we unchained the earth from its sun? Whither is it moving now? Whither are we moving now? Away from all suns? [COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]Are we not perpetually falling? Backward, sideward, forward, in all directions? Is there any up or down left? Are we not straying as through an infinite nothing? Do we not feel the breath of empty space? Has it not become colder? Is it not more and more night coming on all the time? Must not lanterns be lit in the morning? Do we not hear anything yet of the noise of the gravediggers who are burying God? Do we not smell anything yet of God’s decomposition? Gods too decompose. God is dead. God remains dead. And we have killed him. How shall we, murderers of all murderers, console ourselves? That which was the holiest and mightiest of all that the world has yet possessed has bled to death under our knives. Who will wipe this blood off us? With what water could we purify ourselves? What festivals of atonement, what sacred games shall we need to invent? Is not the greatness of this deed too great for us? Must we not ourselves become gods simply to be worthy of it? There has never been a greater deed; and whosoever shall be born after us - for the sake of this deed he shall be part of a higher history than all history hitherto.”
[/B][/I] Here the madman fell silent and again regarded his listeners; and they too were silent and stared at him in astonishment. At last he threw his lantern to the ground, and it broke and went out. “[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]I have come too early,” he said then; "my time has not come yet…
This was the parable that got me. In his own Genius way, Friedrich Nietzsche illustrated the danger of the abandonment of God (whether you believe it an idea or real).
And the greatest thing is that when the madman tries to show people the folly of killing God, he realizes he has come too early, they aren’t ready to perceive the danger ahead…
And right on Cue, when the Atheistic regimes rose barely a few decades after (think Stalin and Mao), they proved it true. Without a transcendent compass for good and evil, without a God to hold into account those who are too big to be held into account, then they have to be gods (transcendent compasses of good and evil), or they are hopeless and will forever be lost!!!
Without a God, there is no good, no evil. Without that, man can hardly be trusted to act good…
Kings were always checked by the priesthood. The principle of deity added a check to political power, when it was lost, the political went excessive
That’s an incredible read elder, God has been monopolized by Christianity to the point he has become a personification of Santa, yet paganists had a path to that mystic river.
It’s funny you mentioned dreams cause I just got back from single handedly destroying ancient demons in a glycine induced dream-state astral body in an attempt to help win the spiritual war.
Hii kitu sio mchezo my fren. Tomorrow evening I’ll literally enter hell in a glycine induced dream-state astral body to find out for myself how these demons are entering our plane and report back here with my findings.
We have reduced God to our errand boy . We give him a few coins (read offering etc)then we send him to bring the blessings (read toys , cars etc. ).And heretics have the audacity to tell us to comand and give him conditions.
I never felt connected to God whilst in the church in comparison to taking a walk in a quiet place preferably with a water body, the breeze and birds about felt deeply in tune.
Most of the characters who happen to be our leaders in church are very limited people, interms of exposure, even education so we feel very restricted in the freedoms they tell us because we know they are selling us the short end of the stick. God can never be restricted in the four corners of a building called church. Enjoy your adventure and have no apology for it.
Of all high IQ post have read in ktalk this one is tops . Congratulations guys in spirituality and astral projections . The moment I started fighting my demons successfully in my dreams and climbing steep hills to the top is when I started having breakthroughs. Dreams are interesting since if you are defeated in a dream chances of loosing on your endeavours are high