A while ago I met an old friend. Guy tells me life in the past few months has been tough and he couldn’t meet his rent so he had to downgrade to a cheaper house in another neighborhood.
So I pose the suggestion, ‘why don’t you move to the diaspora out of the city’?
The guy says he couldn’t as that would force him to deal with traffic and having to wake up early.
Mind you the guy has a good piece of land available for development, and close to the road like real close, not even 100m away.
Then I asked myself had it been me would I have taken the advise?
When does one make the decision to make life changes, is it worth living close to the city and struggling with rent?
When does one become financially flexible if you don’t stop renting? I know you can rent and still be financially free, that’s another topic on its own.
This year I had to make a decision to risk it all and cross the other side of the river.
I had to quit job and start from scratch just to see what fate holds for my future
You are trying very hard but I honestly don’t get what you saying!
buy the piece of land from him
That makes the two of us. I also quit my 8-5 to concentrate on my hustle. Things are tough and moving slowly but no regrets so far. Had to make some painful adjustments in my life and loose some friends but soldiering on.
For every success, there is sacrifice
when people retire they start focusing on their passions and discover they wasted more than 40 years, unfortunately iakuaga too late. they enjoy for 10 years then they die. risk wen young. follow your passions when young. otherwise wacha rafiki yako apambane na hali yake. uncle uwes anaishi kayole na hajakufa
I like this discussion. However, I am struggling with the comfort zone thingy too. I got advised by a mentor, a fellow I respect very much to raise my standards and change how I identify myself. Even someone stuck at $10,000 per month salary can break upwards if they raised their standards. A great man or woman is a work in progress.
That friend of yours still has options. when his options are no longer available he will know what to do. the out of town diaspora thing has its advantage. cheap rent, cheaper food and cheaper schools as compared to the near town tiny house with little storage space. the body will get used to waking up early and getting to town. Social status inamsumbua.
Believe me when I tell you it’s just fear of leaving comfort zone. Hakuna options.
Nah I don’t do biz with people close to me, complications za later I don’t want.
I hustle real hard.Kwenye nimefika I’m now absolutely certain that I have zero friends, only acquaintances,associates and employees. Ni sawa tu. Soilder on. Hustle yako it itapay…
Today wasn’t that baaad though. Today waz a good day [ATTACH=full]200401[/ATTACH]
On the topic of following your passion…I think people who don’t earn much at their jobs have the rare opportunity to find and embrace their authentic self.
The worst prison is when you finally reach the pinnacle of professional success. You wake up one day and suddenly it clicks that you can never walk away from that job, leaving a 6-7 figure salary on the table for anything in the world.
what makes you absolutely certain you have zero friends?
I’ve been there, niliwacha a very “somewhat” very cushie lifestyle huko majuu.( there was a time I had 2 cars + a nduthi ( a pimped out 1989 Nissan skyline,a daily 2002 vw golf mk4, +a 600cc gixxer ya kutesa weekends) saa hiyo maboyz wanakucall asking you if you wanna go jetski.
Maisha ya majuu is very monotonous but very rewarding in terms of $$°
Anyway, there was a time kiliumana serious. I had to leave it all and start all over. Kesho niko koroga… I love this life. Nobody can stop reggae.
Money.
When I have it. And when I don’t have it. From experience, there’s a very biig((fishy)) contrast.
Damn nigga, good for you! That’s wassup!
Ps: naona leo umeingiza karibu $9000! Mwasani hiyo ni pesa miigi sana. :eek:Maybe you can start a thread uchangamshe kijiji. We could all use some motivation.
You’re lucky you had the chance to say “enough.” I’m trying to detach myself from that cushy lifestyle and pursue what I really want. I’d like to establish a restaurant business, dabble with manufacturing maybe consultancy. However, leaving a 99th percentile income ni uchungu, it almost feels irresponsible. Kenya is nice as long as I’m within the walls of my leafy residence, huko nje ndio kuna stress kibao.
Yeah I know Hiyo ni gross turnover. Looks like much,but yangu ni $1600 pekee…
But manufacturing iko saaaawa. If you have the right capital, tools, product and market. Mashida unaondokea. Shida itakuwa pesa
That’s still amazing. Assuming biz is consistent it means you’re taking home an average of $41,000 per month excluding Sundays. Mzuri sana!
Weh I wish… Customer huchelewa kulipa, I must restock, pay wages, bribes and whatnot. Pia ulevi yangu na kude-stress hutoka hapo. Make it half / a third of the that figure.