Making Money In The Streets of Nairobi... Real Hustlers

With time I have come to realise that you can make good bank in Nairobi with a little scheme and some smarts. I want to highlight some few examples I have observed. The key things are
— being novel to cash in quickly before people play catch up
— taking advantage of the gynormous population
— affordable pricing in order to run the numbers

The best place that suits this scenario is the downtown area. It doesn’t matter what you do, as long as you can incorporate those key things at once, you will be on the way to quick, clean success, while useless, brainless, lazy men keep saying “hakuna pesa.” What fuckery for a man to utter such bitch-shit. Move with the economy and adjust. No time to complain.

Everyone has seen the ujipower biz hapo Ronald Ngala street. Nobody has ever cared to stop and glee at the ingenuity. At peak hours they wring out masses of sales. The most a single client can do is take up 20 minutes. The food business has low margins, which is offset by volume to make a good profit.

Now couple that with daily consistency, low rent (a roadside stall that is paid to kanjo, not a landlord). Bam! Of course it’s a kikuyu owned entity as per the pochi payment, so you know who is running that silent money printer, while others complain like FAT STUPID BITCHES. Although anapigwa “compe” na immediate neighbour, it is not real competition since the market is too big na hajabranch out.

On this branching out situation, let me pose the different scenario. Hawa fruit vendors who are also priced similarly to the uji power —50 bob— are a recent phenomenon. The first one alikua pale Sheikh Karume road peke yake. What if he had branched out and multiplied in the city instead of waiting for the competition to copy him?

If he was making maybe profits of 4k in a day, why wouldn’t a man be ambitious and multiply that? Heri ukue na shida ya employee theft, than competition reducing your sales and profit. Sasa they will all have to contend with an average of 2k profits per day, since some are as close to each other in a difference of 100 meters.

I don’t think unaweza kosa wasee wa mboka unawapin every cbd kona wachonge, wakate na wauze fruits (you are just the boss unazunguka all points to keep an eye on the biz). Hapo so long as umecheza na kanjo as necessary, the 2k x 20 holes ni zako daily. Becoming your own competition, instead of letting others in.

Huyo jamaa wa uji power is slacking too.

On the brighter hand, there’s lots of invisible opportunities if you look hard enough. Key word, solve the problems of the poor/broke massess, yenye haimpigi dent mfuko, utakua fity. Just like the lipa pole pole people. They are swimming in money.

That’s the real hustling in Nairobi. That’s why nikiskia mtu anatusi hawker naonanga kumbafu ingine kubwa sana imeingiza kichwa kwa haga that the analsphere has seeped into the brain.

Economy sio mbaya, akili zako ndizo mbaya!

You can add some thoughts on that . . . .

It doesnt often work so smoothly.

Each town has mafias you must oil

No. Najipanga kuanza something and story za mafia hakuna kwa hizi small biasharas. Mafia ni established businesses. Or ukianza kitu unakua the mafia yourself

For example as a former led signage maker, our suppliers ended up setting shops cbd, wanatoa votu china direct. Mtu anaomoka mkiona and nobody ever stopped them, because nobody knows what they’re doing in order to disrupt.

Mafia ni watu established who see you as a direct competitor wanakuzima. Try a blue ocean concept uone kama hutakafunga with just the regular challenges, nothing out of the ordinary

I dont know how Nairobi is, but huku kitale kuna gangs that control different sections of the town.

I had to part with some money before being allowed to simamisha my smokey trolley hapo karibu main stage.

Hio iko kila mahali. Hio ata sio issue juu utarudisha. Unafaa ueke trolley sita if it’s a busy stage, weka watu. Also leta watu washamba kabisa, biashara haitaki mchezo. Akichanuka futa, leta mshamba mwingine.

I can tell from this language you are very inexperienced indeed. In kanairo, you need to pay bribes if you want a successful venture i.e. cops, wamamas (including prostitutes for night time businesses), and kanjo, to avoid random problems e.g. turning right pale Kencom with your bullshit matatu/jalopy.

Hii upuzi umeandika hapa only works on paper.. not in the real world.

Hehehe. Depends with one’s appetite for making guap. I have done all the field work. The only person you need to pay ni kanjo, which you actually get the head of the area you wish to onslaught. And maybe one headman. Just those two people, hao wengine unataja wanakamua the naive ones

Lol, before you get yourself killed with jaba nonsense, go watch Nairobi Half Life so you understand how the city really works.

Boss, hio ni filamu. I was only sharing my two cents based on observations all along, and the last 3 or 4 months of active street perusing and talking to people. I also wanted people to chip in. It’s not a showdown post really.

Kanjo pia nimeongea nawao. It’s not rocket science if you know who to grease, kila mtu anataka tu pesa. That’s all that one needs to know and the rest falls in place.

Ask the people who really know.. or go the @cheekbusta way.

Those who really know are in the said streets.

Alright then. Huku ni wapi?

How does this tie to the post?

Kumbe it’s this easy to become a birionnaire

Lil Yachty Drake GIF

For real. Mimi ata nilikua nishawai piga esabu vile hizo led sign ziko kwa wingi kenya, the first niggas kufanya hio biz huko 2012 walikafunga.nilienda 2022 kuijaribu tz, motherfuckers are poor as shit @255 hamna pesa. Shenzi sana

Kuangalia kidogo haziko mzansi and they richer than us. Fuckin money. But the bottom line that ties all this shit is novelty, and scale. Consumers wako.

I actually lived in Nairobi for a very long time, not in some satellite village like Mwiki or sijui Banana. Surviving the city needs streets smarts, not this jaba drivel.

Fun fact: British council is at the end of this road past the city clock, next to the Japanese embassy. I wonder if they’ve marked the road properly now.

Long ago and you still think this is jaba. You sound like some try hard trying to shit on the parade. What are the said street smarts you are talking about?

Lay them down and atop with your poser nonesense. Enough of your bullshit nigga. Mbona ulihama Nairobi if you have the smarts. Acha kutupima banaa. Watu sio wajinga.

Alright. My core rules about Nairobi survival.

1. A friendly judge is better than 10 friendly cops
  2. The guy who sells newspapers outside a hotel knows more about what’s happening in the city than any journalist.
  3. A Kshs 1,000 note will get you out of any problem so long as you don’t make it past any police station’s gate.
  4. Don’t pick up any calls whose display number is not saved in your phonebook.
  5. The women you haven’t slept with are more useful than the ones whom you have. Especially when children are involved
  6. If you’re starting any sort of business in Nairobi, only your Landlord has your best interests at heart, unless you are directly competing with him/her.
  7. Keep your mouth shut in bars.
  8. Be at home by 8pm (before the news) if you want a stable marriage
  9. A lawyer, a doctor and a soldier (active) should be on your speed dial at all times.
  10. Invest outside Nairobi, this is a mob town.

Why did I leave Nairobi?
Because I have land to look after, not just my own.. for my other male relatives who are getting old.

Got that.. or do you need pictures drawn for you like a toddler?

So the topic is about making money but you are bringing in other issues to try and validate your original broad strokes? Mzee sisi vijana ndio soon tutarun kanairo, your time was wasted

I don’t need an old fart drawing me pictures that even a noob could learn in a day after living here for a week.

Leta insight za maana or shut thafuckup

Ati phonebook. Hizo ni tips za watu hawajulikani ama wezi.

Wewe na watu huzima simu ju ya madeni same wozzap. You have zero fuckin networks so unastuliwa na tusimu tuwili tutatu kaa mwizi ama mtu ana madeni. Land andika maasai wacha upuzi

Don’t @ me again nigga @Jack_Black